The blog for books and movies

“If you take a bad boy and make him dig a hole every day in the hot sun, it will turn him into a good boy.” Such is the reigning philosophy at Camp Green Lake, a juvenile detention facility where there is no lake, and there are no happy campers. In place of what used to be “the largest lake in Texas” is now a dry, flat, sunburned wasteland, pocked with countless identical holes dug by boys improving their character.
Stanley Yelnats has landed at Camp Green Lake because it seemed a better option than jail. No matter that his conviction was all a case of mistaken identity, the Yelnats family has become accustomed to a long history of bad luck, thanks to their “no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing-great-great-grandfather!” Despite his innocence, Stanley is quickly enmeshed in the Camp Green Lake routine: rising before dawn to dig a hole five feet deep and five feet in diameter; learning how to get along with the Lord of the Flies-styled pack of boys in Group D; and fearing the warden, who paints her fingernails with rattlesnake venom. But when Stanley realizes that the boys may not just be digging to build character-that in fact the warden is seeking something specific-the plot gets as thick as the irony.

Amazon

Comments on: "Holes – Louis Sachar" (31)

  1. I really enjoyed the story Holes! It is such a unique and different styled text, and it hooked me in from the first page!! This book is about a boy named Stanley Yelnates, who is wrongly accused of a crime and send to a juvenile detention centre, in the middle of the Texas desert. There, he and the other boys are made to dig holes all day in the Texas sun, as punishment. Along the way, Stanley meets a friend to help him get through his time at the detention centre, and he makes some smart decisions along the way. I really enjoyed this book, as I found it very interesting to read, I would also recommend watching the movie as I think it goes along well with the book.

    Like

  2. Holes is a spectacular and very unique book, with such an incredibly thought out plot. It is incredibly exciting to follow the 3 fascinating individual storylines and then discover the ways in which they are all linked!

    The story follows Stanley Yelnats, who has been wrongly accused of a crime and sent to a juvenile detention centre in the middle of the desert where the teenage boys who inhabit it are made to dig every day. We also get flashbacks to stories from decades ago, which make the book extremely mysterious.

    I read this book for the first time when I was in grade 6 and have read it another two times since so would definitely recommend this page-turner!

    Like

  3. Holes is a very good book that I really enjoyed reading, as it was very different to any book I have read before. The main character, Stanley, must choose whether to be sent to Camp Green Lake or to jail after he is accused of stealing a pair of sneakers. At Camp Green Lake, he is forced to dig holes in the desert, which he soon finds out is for a reason other than character building. My favourite part was when Zero and Stanley become friends, as it is really wholesome to see Zero come out of his shell and show his true personality. I also really like Zero as a character because he shows strength and courage despite being silent for so long. I would recommend this book to ages 12 and above, or to anyone who enjoys reading a book that is a bit different from other styles of young adult fiction.

    Like

  4. I really enjoyed reading the book/watching the movie ‘holes’. It was filled with a rollercoaster of emotions and pays a lot of attention to detail throughout the whole book.
    My favourite part about the book when Stanley Yelnats (main character) carried Hector Zeroni up the hill to break his descendants curse, which was started by his no-good-dirty-pig-stealing-great-great-grandfather! It proved to the audience that we can fix the past to make a better future for ourselves and I think thats what the author, Louis Sachar, wanted us to think.
    My favourite character is Hector, as he is quiet and everyone at Green Lake Camp think he is stupid, but he proves everyone wrong when he speaks up and Stanley finds out that he is actually very good at math, but needs help to read and write.
    I don’t have a character in the book I can relate to as all the boys were meant to be at Camp Green Lake or prison, but I do like Stanley and Hectors courage and strength towards the end of the book.
    I don’t have a least favourite part of the book, as I think that everything that was said in the book was very necessary for the plot to keep moving forward, as you never fully understand the truth until the book has ended.
    I would definitely recommend this book to everyone as it is very heartwarming and soul-stirring.
    I would say anyone above the age of 12 would enjoy and understand all the history and excitement in this book.

    Like

  5. Alana said:

    This book has such a great and unique plot that you’ll never find anywhere else except for in the movie. I enjoyed going through this story with Stanley and learning about Camp Green Lake and the history of Kate Barlow. I believe it to be such a heartwarming story with two boys connecting and getting rich by sheer fate and luck. This has to be one of the best books ever written, and I would give it an 11/10 if I could.

    Like

  6. Holes is a phenomenal book, and it would definitely be one of my favourites. It is filled with mystery, suspense, plot twists, and humour, which makes you never want to put it down.

    The book is about Stanley Yelnats, who’s family is cursed with bad luck. And when he is accused of doing something he didn’t do, Stanley must choose between going to jail or going to Camp Green Lake, which is a camp to discipline young boys. He chooses Camp Green Lake, because he thinks it won’t be as bad as jail, but it is. There is no lake for a million miles, and every day, the boys must dig a whole which is 5 feet deep and 5 feet wide. Stanley meets some very strange boys, as well as some of the workers. He finds out some of their history, and then the story starts to unravel…

    I really love this book. Louis Sachar is clearly a talented writer, because he made the storyline go back and forth between two times; the present, about the present Stanley Yelnats, and the past, about Stanley’s great great grandfather. The past and present are connected, because if one small event didn’t happen, then Stanley wouldn’t end up how he does at the end. I definitely recommend this book to everyone. I would rate it 10/10!

    Like

  7. Tahlia said:

    Holes is one of the best books I’ve read. It has so much Mystery in it which makes the book so hard to put down, I could barely go to sleep not knowing what happens next. I normally hate watching or reading the same movie/book twice but if I ever saw this book alone, it would be impossible to get my hands off of it. I feel I can really relate to Stanley because I have been it that position so many times where I’ve been accused of the incident even when you weren’t there at the time. My favorite Character has to be Katherine/Kate Barlow because she fights for what is right and when it doesn’t go as plan she makes everyone sorry which makes all the history and mystery a whole lot interesting. Overall, I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone because of how amazing it is. I rate this book 100% 10/10.

    Like

  8. Georgia said:

    I read his book in year 5 and I really enjoyed it. I think this book has some comedy in it as well as some mystery. I think this book is really good and I recommend it to others to read. There is also a movie as well which is just as good as the book.

    Like

  9. Anneliese Walsh said:

    This is an amazing book and I would recommend it to anyone! Definitely read the book before the movie. Even if you have seen the movie I suggest reading the book because it is amazing and very detailed. This is absolutely my ultimate favourite book.

    Like

  10. Holes by Louis Sachar is one of the best books I have ever read. My favourite part is at the end when the camp gets shut down and Stanley gets out with Zero because the camp leaders are all terrible people and it was good to see them in trouble. I also liked the parts where it went back into the past, which explained everything that was happening in the present.

    My favourite character was Sam the Onion Man because he was so sweet and kind to everyone. I can relate to Stanley because everyone has been in a position where they’ve been wrongly accused of something they didn’t do.

    I definitely recommend for everyone to read Holes. It’s extremely cleverly written and I couldn’t put it down. It’s for anyone aged 12+, kids and adults alike.

    Like

  11. Miffy said:

    Holes is very creative and clever.

    Stanley Yelnats was sent to Camp Green Lake. The biggest lake in Texas that is now dry. He ended up there for a crime he didn’t commit and no he is slaving away everyday in the hot sun.
    ‘If you take a bad boy and make him dig holes everyday in the hot sun, you will turn him into a good boy’. This is how things are run at Camp Green Lake.

    There is a lot of sneaky characters in this book.
    The Warden – who wants the treasure of the lake and controls everybody at her command.
    Zero – he saves Stanley from dying in the middle of no where.
    There are many others too.

    The great thing about this book is that lots of things keep getting introduced to you but you don’t understand why it is relevant untill the end and the history of the two boys clicks and everything arches up. It is genius that it can be done and it has.

    Holes is one of the best books I have read and one of my personal favourites. I read it so often but is just as good every time.

    Great Book – 10/10!!

    Like

  12. Isabelle said:

    This book is really clever in the way it has weaved zero and stanley’s history (and bad luck) together. It is also very descriptive and I couldn’t put the book down. I rate this book a 10/10!!!!!

    Like

  13. eadie said:

    i REALLY liked this book i thought it had a great story line and some really funny dry humour!
    i liked it how they weaved zero’s background into madam zeronie. and how stainley was looking forward to camp because he had never been before.
    i loved this book and would recommend this book to any one thats looking for a witty, story with a touch of mystery! (in other words A GREAT READ!!!!!!!!!!) 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Like

  14. This book is really good
    I really like how Zero stands up for Stanley and Stanley teaches him how to read and write
    My favourite character is Zero and i think that he is really cool with his fuzzy afro and how he likes to dig holes
    I reckon that Zero is very courages, smart and he should be proud of himself
    i give it 10/10

    Like

  15. Niamh said:

    This books puts you to the end of your set! Funny and well it is not a every day book about prince and princess falling in love if you know what I mean. It has a lot of everything in it.I kind of well did not like the ending part to it I think it could of ended differently. So I give it a 5/10. I say if you are willing to give any book a go read this one!

    Like

  16. Sarah Russell said:

    I really like this book because it refers to two different times that relate to each other.
    It is really good because it tells a story of all the Stanley Yelnats’s in the family
    Holes is very interesting and very funny, It is really good book to read and once you do start reading it you will not be able to put it down.
    My favourite character is Zero because he is very independent and doesn’t care when the other boys at the camp pay him out and he likes digging holes.
    My favourite part is when stanley steals the car and dives off and finds Zero.
    This is a really good book and i recommend it for 10+

    Like

  17. Holes was very interesting, it was a little bit humorous and confusing in some parts but it was a very good book. Sometimes i got confused with going back to Stanleys great great .. … .. grandfathers story and his but i didnt really mind. I loved it how it kind of flashed back to kissin kate barlow and i loved how the lady had the poisonous nail polish. Over all it was a very adventurous book.

    Like

  18. Chloe said:

    This book is really good I could not put it down!! I think its clever how it all works out to make sense! I have to read the second one. I would recommend this to people!!!

    Like

  19. i am reading a book at the moment called holes. im about half way through the book. so far i have loved the book and story-line. i like how its about naughty boys going to this summer camp (they think) but acherly its the worst place ever. i would hate to go there for more then a day. its that worse of a place. my favourite character would have to zero. everyone thinks he knows nothing and is dumb but actually he is really smart and does thinks of things just doesn’t say them to the boys. i would recommend this book for anyone older then 12 years old. i so far have loved this book and hope you’s will enjoy the story-line

    Like

  20. Holes is one of the best books i’ve read. Stanley gets sent to a camp called camp green lake this is no ordinary camp
    everyday they have to dig a hole 5 m deep and 5 m wide
    this book is a really good book for people who like to read you can’t put the book down. The theme of the book is adventure and that suits it well you go through an adventure.In parts of the book it relates but to the past history of the characters families. I would recommend this book for ages 11+ it is a really good book and i would defiantly recommend it to people who like to read

    Like

  21. I really enjoyed reading the book “Holes” by Louis Sachar. It was a book that had me sitting on the edge of my seat!

    Stanley was sentenced for a crime he did not commit, so instead of going to jail, he chose to go to Camp Green Lake. He had never been to a camp like some other kids so his parents made it sound like it was a good camp. It wasn’t long until he found out it was very different to that.

    I found that this book was very interesting but could have been a bit longer to fill in all the extra “Holes” that you have to work out for yourself. If I could change anything it would be to make the end go for a bit longer because it needs to have a better ending our a sequel.

    This book was very interesting and great for someone who loves to read and when they like a book they can’t put it down. I also think it is good if you like to compare books and movies with each other. If you like an adventure and an happy ending this is for you. I would recommend this book for 11+ and would rate it 9/10.

    Like

  22. I have just finished reading the book Holes by Louis Sachar.
    I loved the book it was great after I finished reading it I wanted it to just keep on going. My favourite part of the book was the start because really interesting and easy to understand. My favourite character is Hector(Zero), he has a great sense of humour and is quiet nice.If I could change a part of the book it would be the end, I would make it go longer.I would highly recommend this book to others and I would rate this book 4 1/2 stars out of five.

    Like

  23. Holes was absolutely brilliant! It reveals little sections of history at different times which to me, seemed like a bit of a jigsaw puzzle! If another book came out then I am sure that I would be one of the first people to read it!
    I wasn’t 100% happy with the ending of the book, I felt that it skipped a lot of the important parts! The end also seemed like it was rushed..!
    Although the end let the book down in my opinion, I would still read it again any time and I recommend it to anyone who loves a good read! Holes is interesting and a little bit quirky at times!

    Like

  24. Holes is a really good book! Stanley Yelnats who is convicted of crime even though he Wasn’t the one really involved, he is innocent. Sent to a juvenile boys detention centre in a Texas desert. Everyday the boys and Stanley have to dig five feet deep and diameter holes. Stanley Makes many new friends on his journey but what will he discover that might get him out of the place! Read to find out

    Like

  25. I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!
    Holes is about a boy called Stanley Yelnats. When he is convicted of a crime he didn’t commit, he is sent to Camp Green Lake, a boys juvenile detention centre in a Texas desert. The boys are forced to dig holes, one hole a day, five foot deep, five foot in diameter.
    “If you take a bad boy and make him dig holes all day in the hot sun, it turns him into a good boy.” Such is the philosophy at Camp Green Lake.
    Stanley is put into cabin ‘D’, along with half a dozen other boys. One of those boys is Zero. Zero and Stanley become good friends, and stick together. But one day, Zero runs away from camp. He is gone for two days, and all the other boys are sure he’s dead.
    “Man, Zero’s buzzard food.”
    But Stanley knows Zero’s alive, he can feel it. So Stanley decides to run away too. He does, and he finds Zero, and together they make their way to the big mountain, hoping to find refuge there. On the way, Stanley and Zero discover things about themselves they would have never anticipated.
    Join Stanley on his journey through friends, hardship, and victory.

    Like

  26. i read a book called holes its about a boy named stanley who is sent to a hellish boys juvenile detention center in the Texas desert. As punishment, the boys here must each dig a hole every day, five feet deep and five feet across. Ultimately, Stanley digs up the truth and through his experience, finds his first real friend, a treasure, and a new sense of himself.

    Like

  27. i loved holes by lois sachar. it’s really well written and it’s a book that makes you want to keep reading. its about stanley yelnats who gets sent to camp green lake, a centre for juvenile delinquents. some of the things that happen are really unexpected and its really smart how she’s made everything fit together. i highly recommend everyone should read this book!

    Like

  28. Holes is one of my many favourite books. throughout the whole book you never know what to expect! the way louis wrote this book was very clever. you have to think outside the box to understand some of the events that take place. there are a whole range of different characters at the camp he gets sent to from the fat one to the one who doesnt talk. the movie is also excellent! definately a great read for anyone and everyone. i highly recommend you read this book NOWW! ❤

    Like

  29. Holes is such an interesting book. I was never brave enough to try a book like this and when I finally did, I discovered that I really enjoyed it. It’s so interesting and totally different to anything I’ve ever read before. The movie’s good but the book is ten times better.

    It’s a really strange storyline if you think about it. A boy has to choose between going to jail or going to camp green lake for being falsely accused of stealing a pair of shoes.

    When Stanley was accused I felt really sorry for him. I would hate to have to go to jail (or Camp Green Lake) for something I didn’t even do.

    That’s what makes it a great book though. I promise you’ll love it.

    Like

  30. This is an excellent book and great movie which I would recommend to anyone. This book is about Stanley Yelnates who is sentenced to two years at camp green (a juvenile centre) lake instead of going to jail after he allegedly stole a pair of very expensive shoes. What he doesn’t realise is that jail was probably the best option. He is forced to dig holes in the hot desert sun by the fierce warden. They are told that they are digging holes to build character but they are actually digging for something much more valuable…

    Like

  31. My most favourite book would defiantly ‘Holes’ By ‘Louis Sachar. If you want a book with lots of mystery and excitement Holes is the best book for you.

    Some of you might have seen the movie but i say that the books are always better. So please, please look it up and if you find the movie or book, i’d read/watch it!

    Like

Leave a comment