The blog for books and movies

9780143306429What do you do when your mum, your dad and sixteen camels are in trouble and only you can save them?

The sometimes sad but mostly funny story of a boy, a girl, a dog and four trillion dollars.

Penguin

 

Comments on: "Too small to fail – Morris Gleitzman" (5)

  1. Jesse said:

    I found this book a bit strange but very good at the same time! I think Morris Gleitzman is a very clever writer and this is one of his best books. Its a type of book where one situation occurs, and that leads to another problem which has a concertina effect on the whole storyline. Too Small to Fail is a book with real depth and many people would find the blurb so weird (I did), but the book explains it all. I recommend this book to anyone who loves a quirky twist and definitely adventures!

    Like

  2. This interesting story is told from the delightfully innocent eyes of a young boy. Centered around Oscar, my personal favourite character because he is so clueless, this story is enlightening and very cute! It has an intriguing background story, with the global financial crisis and other un-explained-till-the-end happenings. I absolutely adore the part when Oscar’s family are at the press conference and he speaks up because it so gorgeously innocent! I believe that this book is aimed at 8-12 years but anyone could get a good laugh out of it. This is a story of determination, love, loyalty, and childish innocence!

    Like

  3. I loved this book so much!
    Usually, this isn’t my type of book, but this time, I really enjoyed it. The situation was interesting, the global financial crisis, which is tricky because his parents are bankers. All the problems revolve around the fact that the bank is starting to fail. Oscar was such a nice kid, he seems so oblivious to everything that is going on, and not thinking too much about what people are saying. But he’s so loyal, and even I was wincing when he starts to trade money with his class mates, in promise for more, to save this dog Barkley. My favourite character was definitely Rose, she comes across mean and prickly to Oscar, but I still like her determination to save the camels with her Aunt. I would recommend this book for 8 to 10, but anyone who reads it will definitely enjoy it! A 7/10!

    Like

  4. eve. L said:

    I really love this book and like a lot of Morris Gleitzman books it has real heart to it and as usual in his books the main character is a little oblivious to everything going on around and to him. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone. To lots of people the blurb would make no sense what so ever but as you read the book you understand it and you wouldn’t think it was really silly at all. To small to fail is a book about banking, camels and a dog called Barclay. I give it 4.5 stars.

    Like

  5. There is this great book by Morris Gleitzman and I love it!!! It is a type of book that leads one situation to another and this makes the book enjoyable in all different ways. The book is called “Took small to fail”. I think this book is really good to read and snuggle up to read (when you have enough time time to read a book!) in your bed or on a cold day when you are wrapped in your warm blanket. It is a small book but filled with a very moving story that means it will be your favourite book for a long time.
    I love the whole story, from beginning to end and I stayed up nearly all night reading it because it is very unpredictable and filled with adventures. And that’s what makes a good story. Right?
    This is a book that gets straight into the story and doesn’t skip anything and all will be explained at the end. This book is one of a kind because of the series of adventures and the heart warming ending.
    I would recommend this book to people that can understand banking enough to understand loans and that people put their money away in a bank. But this doesn’t mean that you have to do research about banking before you read it. I would recommend “Too small to fail” to year 5, 6, 7 and 8 but anyone can read it and still love it and recommend it as well. The reason why I love this book is because you are completely sucked in and can’t take your eyes of the book because it is cleverly written.

    I personally love this book and if I could, I would get everyone to read it!!!!!!

    Like

Leave a comment