The blog for books and movies

Before. Miles “Pudge” Halter’s whole existence has been one big nonevent, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave the “Great Perhaps” (François Rabelais, poet) even more. Then he heads off to the sometimes crazy, possibly unstable, and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed-up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young, who is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart.

After. Nothing is ever the same.

Good Reads

Wikimedia

Comments on: "Looking for Alaska – John Green" (53)

  1. Greta said:

    looking for Alaska is such a good book. it is so entertaining and i love the story line. my favorite character is alaska but i really did not like when she died so early in the book and it was less interesting after she died. it would have been better if she went missing or got injured or something. i recommend this book to people 13+ and i rate it a 9/10

    Like

  2. I found this book such a relaxing and calming book to read. It was different to most other books that i have read as there wasnt a whole lot going on. It was just very simple and an original story line which I really enjoyed. It displays the story of a boy named Miles navigating his way through school, overcoming challanges. John green shows so much charcter development which i really like about his books.
    I loved reading this book and would highly recomend to anyone

    Like

  3. Looking for Alaska is the best book I’ve ever read. I feel as though it’s so amazing because there’s not anything too grand about it if that makes sense. What I mean is that most books that are considered good or the best usually have a big plot and a lot going on. Looking for Alaska has great, normal characters and a good plot with nothing too complicated. Which is one of the reasons it’s so great. And everything they talk about with the labyrinth and how to get out of it is just so exceptional in many indescribable ways. If you ever read a book it should most definitely be Looking for Alaska. I’m not going to really describe the book because you should read it yourself and really see what it’s about. I’m not going to say my opinion on what happens so that way you can make up your own mind on what you read. What you think it means and what you think really occurs in the book. The show on Hulu also is so sensational and just absolutely the best thing ever. You really get to see the book come to life. I loved seeing Alaska being portrayed and I was finally able to see how she really was and not just how she was in my head. Probably one of the best quotes from the book is, “How will I ever get out of this labyrinth of suffering?”

    Like

  4. Isabella said:

    Looking for Alaska is an interesting and unique story by John Green. It touches on delicate subjects and displays amazing characters and challenges in the story. Miles (Pudge) moves to a new college and gets involved with a group of kids pranking and making the strict well structured school into a better and funnier place to be. Although taking a turn for the worst the characters in this book talks about life in very unique and inspiring ways. I would recommend this book to all teenagers, it’s a great read and definitely my favourite book by John Green. I rate it 10/10

    Like

  5. This is one of my favourite John Green books! The characters in this book are so lifelike and also very interesting and unique. John Green does a fantastic job of balancing excitement and adventure with insightful observations. Also, John Green raises issues from different perspectives and this gives the reader a different insight to some of the things that surround us today. The topic of self-discovery and identity is discussed, as well as the topic of friendship, youth, and many more insightful subjects. I really love the characters in this book. The characters act rebellious by breaking rules, however, they are complex and vividly-real. My favourite character would be Alaska, as she is very unique and different and is not afraid to speak her mind. I really enjoyed this book, I would rate it an 8.5/10! I would also recommend this to anyone over the ages of 14.

    Like

  6. Millie said:

    Looking for Alaska was so sad in the middle that I had to read it with a box of tissues beside me. This book is about a boy nicknamed Pudge who is at a new boarding school and he meets a girl named Alaska. Obviously he instantly developed a crush on her. The problem is she already has a boyfriend! The middle part is soo sad and such a big plot twist. My favourite character is Alaska because the story is so much more interesting with her around. I recommend this book to anyone who loves a good old romantic tearjerker. It’s to be read with a packet of tissues at your side!

    Like

  7. I loved this book as it has so much mystery but with a sad part. My favourite part was the end as you understand everything as it all ties together. My favourite character is Alaska as she is so interesting and she leaves questions about her and her choices. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys mystery and sad stories.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Looking for Alaska, is an interesting book filled with humour, relatability and leaves you on a cliff-hanger wanting to know more. The characters have been written in a humorous and complex way, giving the story substance. John Green’s characters have more than one side to them that makes them relatable and helps us maintain interest. The plot line is interesting due to how John Green writes the plot as though the story is real life and how life can end up heading any which way. In the end, the most complex character (Alaska), who is known as mysterious and upset throughout the whole story’s life comes to an end. The circumstances surrounding her death leave us filled with intrigue, confusion and stay in our minds for a long time. This is why I think that Looking for Alaska is a good book.

    Like

  9. At the start, I didn’t really like the book, but as time went on the book got more interesting…..
    I found that as I read more of the book the storyline got way more interesting. This book is by John Green, he has many novels that are interesting the way he writes just captivates you. This book is about a boy called Miles or “Pudge”, he meets a young and wild Alaska Young who he takes an interest in, but when she dies everything takes a turn and Miles tries to find out why she was killed. I would rate this book an 8/10 because it wasn’t very interesting that it wanted me to keep reading it, but overall I loved it !!!!!

    Like

  10. laceyob21 said:

    This book is one of my favourite John Green book. Following the John Green tradition, there is death and romance mixed in with humour and feel good moments. the storyline is very original and not like any book I have read before. the ideas were creative but also maybe a bit mature. the words flow in this book and the storyline makes sense but also has a bit of mystery about it. I think this is a very underrated book and should get just as much attention as the fault in our stars- it is just are thrilling, just as heartbreaking.

    Like

  11. From the same author of The Fault In Our Stars, John Green has create yet another flawless teenage love story. It’s about a boy called Miles Halter who goes to boarding school and meets a bunch of rebellious kids, including the one and only Alaska Young. My favourite part of the book was when they were all in the barn together sharing each other company and really defining what true friendship is. My favourite character was Alaska because I just loved her confident, bubbly personality that never left me bored because she was always unexpected. It was quite a different world that they story and the characters were living in which I couldn’t really relate too but it was a different setting that I wasn’t familiar with so it was intriguing to read. My least favourite part of the book was when Miles was with Lara because it was sad that he wasn’t with the girl who he loved and never got to be with her. I would recommend this book to people who are interested in a love story because it’s something that is relatable and explores the true meaning of friendship.

    Like

  12. Looking For Alaska is such a heart touching novel to read. The story of Miles Halter, Chip and Alaska Young is filled with excitement and emotions. The novel is an exhilarating journey that will make the book feel real and it will have you thinking you are there experiencing it with the whole gang. Looking For Alaska is a good reminder of how valuable life is and that the friendships we make are definitely an important part of life. John Green is an amazing author who writes truly beautiful books. Looking for Alaska will definitely have you reaching for the tissue box.The best part about this book is that it tells everything and what life is really about. I would definitely recommend reading this book! I would rate it a 9/10!

    Like

  13. Looking for Alaska is a great book, is about a boy named Miles Halter and his new life at boarding school, including a new friend Alaska Young.
    I give this book a 9/10.
    100% RECOMMEND

    Like

  14. Paris said:

    Ah, this is such a beautiful book! The characters are so lifelike and multi-faceted, it’s just wonderful. John Green does a fantastic job of balancing excitement and adventure with insightful and philosophical observations. There is definitely underage drinking, drug use, but the characters are not ‘rewarded’ for any of this, if anything, it all causes their downfalls. So this really is a great read. The characters act like the teenagers they are, they break rules, pull pranks on fellow students and act rebellious for the sake of being rebellious, but they are complex and vividly-real. The first half of the novel is an adventure of self discovery, lust, friendship and seeking the “Great Perhaps” readers will laugh their way thorough it. In the end is an adventure of another matter, seeking the truth and understanding of loss and strengthening the bonds of friendship. I highly recommend this book

    Like

  15. I really enjoyed this book! My favourite character is Alaska because she is very adventurous and mysterious. She is also a risk taker. This is evident where she went somewhere in the college were it was out of bounds. I also enjoyed this book because John Green wrote it. I rate it 9/10 and recommend it to all!!!!

    Like

  16. Hannah said:

    I absolutely loved this book, as soon as you started it grasped you in its clutches not wanting to every stop reading. It is one of my favorite John Green book’s and follows the story of Miles “Pudge” Halter meeting the gorgeous and outgoing Alaska Young. Miles life has always been one big non-event and a big his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave the “Great Perhaps” (François Rabelais, poet) even more.When he meets Alaska Young, he is intrigued by this loud, carefree, screwed up, gorgeous girl. Alaska pulls miles in her world of craziness and maybe the “Great Perhaps” on top of stealing his heart.

    I recommend this book to a mature audience that can handle the subjects frequent in this book (drugs, sex, alcohol, etc.) I think this is a must read book and I rate it an 8/10, for it is an engaging read with a few unwanted twists that make this book very unique.

    Like

  17. I loved this book a lot. It gripped me from the start and lures you in. It is a great story that I think everyone can relate to in some ways.My favourite character was Alaska, she was daring, confident, sassy and also fun. She also had her own problems throughout the novel, and she struggles to deal with a few of them, making her even more mysterious and interesting. My favourite part was when Pudge and his friends pull a prank on the whole school, this was because in this point of the book a lot of serious things are going on and this was for a bit of laughs. My least favourite part in this book is when Before meets After, this is what makes this a mystery. I still have mixed feelings about this part because John Green , has left it open ended and wants the readers to make their own story. I would recommend this book to people who like thrillers and mysteries, because this will leave you hanging till the last page. I rate this a 5/5.

    Like

  18. I didn’t really know what to think about this book because it was all over the place.. I liked Alaska because she was daring, confident and sassy but also fun. Nevertheless she has some problems of her own and that made her even more interesting. The thing that brought it down was what happened to Alaska, i feel like it kind of ruined the whole book. It was fun when Alaska and all her friends were playing pranks and having fun but when she is gone it dampens the book and gives it a darker outlook. I did want to put the book the book down heaps of times but i kept until the end. And even though some parts of the book was really bad, the style of writing by John Green was creative, giving the start a cheery air and the end a darker air. I thought it was creative the way John Green portrayed Miles dealing with death. I would give it a 5 out of 10, because it definitely wasn’t the best but was so-so.

    Like

  19. Keeley said:

    This book hooked me in and broke my heart, it surely brought a tear to my eye! This book was original and the storyline was interesting. I felt that throughout I could imagine exactly what was happening and that the characters were very creative. The story follows Miles ‘Pudge’ Halter and his non-event of a life until he meets a girl named Alaska. This book includes love, tragedy and mystery and I felt that it had an easy to follow storyline. I would rate this book a 10/10 as I didn’t see what was coming, was sucked in and I wouldn’t change anything!

    Like

  20. This book is funny and heartbreaking, it may bring a tear to your eye. It is about a guy called Miles and his life is pretty boring, until he goes to college and meets this wild girl called Alaska. She’s pretty, smart and a little screwed up. They have adventures together and are in the same class for most subjects. One day, she gets angry, jumps in her car and speeds off, ending up in a Fatal car incident leaving Miles and his roommate heart broken. My favourite part is their adventures and all of the funny stuff they do together. My favourite character is Alaska because she is brave and funny and by the sounds always has a smile on her face. My least favourite part is when she dies, that nearly made me cry. I recommend this book to people who are into sad and adventurous books and also to those who are 13+.

    Like

  21. Scarlett said:

    I love this book. Together with it’s witty and relatable characters, to its meaningful and thoughtful storyline, it’s a great all rounder and one that’s hard to put down. My favourite character is the Colonel because he has such a great personality and was always ready for a laugh. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone as it has something for all different tastes. It has a bit of adventure, mystery, romance and comedy. Not to mention some good emotional twists. All in all, a great read. 7/10!!

    Like

  22. Georgia said:

    In looking for Alaska it’s all about her life and how she meets Miles. Alaska is not your typical girl she likes to push the boundaries further than anyone else. But most of all she likes getting attention. Alaska is funny, clever and gorgeous can she steal Miles’ heart away? During this book it’s amazing how the author can make is so realistic to believe that it’s actually happening. I would score this book a 10/10 because of it’s excellent character and how it’s crazily exciting. It’s so additive I wish there was a second!

    Like

  23. Absolutely amazing book as are all of john greens books! John green is very good at writing novels that aren’t your typical romance or action novel. There are always plot twists but they are always realistic. This book had me hooked and is one that you could easily read in a day or two because you wouldn’t be able to put it down. The novel is one that you can read over and over and not get sick of. The story line is so good and there are many things in it that readers would be able to relate to. My favourite character would have to be Alaska. She is always full of mystery and has a very different way to approach life then most other people would. I would recommend this novel to anyone over 14 as there are references that a younger audience may not understand and would rate it an easy 9.5

    Like

  24. Marisa said:

    I really loved this book, mainly because of the characters involved. All the characters were different. I loved the storyline because it is quite original and because of this it is my favourite book. I did cry quite a few times during it and it was a very good book. I would recommend it to people 13+.

    Like

  25. Isabelle F said:

    I read looking for Alaska a while ago when 1 of my friends passed it on to me after reading it ever since I have told a lot of people about it because I love it so much. This book is for teenagers and someone looking for a mysterious and intriguing story. There were a lot of questions that I was asking when I was reading this book like will Miles and Alaska ever get together? Will Miles open up? or when I first starting reading why do they call him Pudge? But most of these questions were answered and I absolutely loved this book and have recommended it for a lot of people.

    Like

  26. Looking for Alaska is a really intriguing book, you never really knew what was going to happen next! It was a mystery and adventure book that like to take the reader by surprise. Miles “Pudge” Halter’s whole existence has been one big nonevent, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave the “Great Perhaps” even more. He heads off to the sometimes crazy, possibly unstable, and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart. After Nothing is ever the same.I recommend this book to people who enjoy romance, mystery and adventure. Rate 7/10

    Like

  27. Abbey said:

    The story line in this book is very original and unlike anything I have read before but I really love it and the characters. John Green being as awesome as he is has connected this book to real life dilemmas and problems that some people face. This story is so realistic as if it is based on true events but slightly altered. Personally I think this is one of the best book that John Green has written. My favourite character is Alaska she is very confident, bubbly and there isn’t any messing around without her. It is a really inspiring book to read and it contains lots of emotions. I rate this book an 8/10. I would recommend this book to anyone over the age of 13 as it has some adult themes but it has changed the way i view life and how much i value it.

    Like

  28. This book is different to most books, I found it interesting because it’s about finding yourself and it’s very mysterious which I love!!! John Green does a great job on describing the characters emotions and feelings it’s like the characters are speaking to you thought the book! John Green being the amazing writer that he is, yet again writes another flawless love story about two people from different worlds. I recommend this book to 13-14 year olds.

    Like

  29. Grace M said:

    This is a really great story for those seeking a meaningful adventure story. I really enjoyed it, because it tells a story that is quite realistic, and allows you to think about what really matters in life. There’s mystery, wit and action until the very end, and although it may make you cry (it is a John Green book, after all), it’s a book that will remain a personal favourite for a very long time. My favourite character is Alaska, because she has a strong personality, is young, free, and a little misunderstood. I wouldn’t change anything about this book, as it nails the importance of friendship, courage, and magic of life and death. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a slightly romantic, witty, adventurous read. ✭✭✭✩✩

    Like

  30. Looking for Alaska was a amazing book. John Green’s books such as paper towns and fault in our stars were great but I found that Looking for Alaska was my favourite. At the start of the book it is counting down the days, giving suspicious vibe and making you wanting to find out what was going to happen next. It is a very cleverly written mystery which is sad and yet beautiful at the same time. I will definitely read this book again, I rate a 10/10

    Like

  31. Gemma said:

    This book is so beautifully written! I have always loved John Green, and Looking For Alaska was the most recent one I’ve ready. I love how the book is split, to give suspicion and interest in the beginning, unlike other books where the start is usually boring. This book has so many interesting themes that I really enjoy, and I think that everyone can benefit from reading this book as it has a lot of life lessons in it. I love Pudge for his personality, and at times he is very relatable. Even though this book is sad, it is definitely worth reading and I would recommend to people maybe 14+ because of some of the things it covers that are quite mature. 9/10.

    Like

  32. Looking for Alaska is one of my all-time favourite books. I love the way that it is split in two parts, where Alaska is alive and when she isn’t. I think Alaska and Margo from Paper Towns are alike – they both seem to love mystery and are outgoing energetic girls. As I was reading this novel, I was wondering if there was an aspect of mystery towards Alaska’s death. What gave me this suspicion was the fact that the police officer had said to the boys that Alaska had her headlights on, yet they had told her to turn them off. There is so much mystery surrounding the novel. Why was Alaska so upset, where was she going, what had happened? So many questions, yet to be answered, but as you read on in the novel all will be discovered. I would definitely recommend this to 12+ ad rate it a 9.5/10 because I think this is one of Green’s best yet.

    Like

  33. Looking for Alaska is one of my favourite John Green books. John Green continually amazes me with his intelligent yet lyrical writing and how enhancing it is to read. He takes you on a incredible journey into the exciting life of Alaska. This book is for someone who enjoys adventure and plot twists. Looking for Alaska will make you emotional in both a good and bad way but its worth it. John Green deserves to be commended for this incredible piece of writing.

    This book is for a mature audience aged 14+ and I rate it 10/10

    Like

  34. Looking for Alaska is a very interesting book. My favourite part of the book was when Miles and Alaska played pranks throughout the school. I thought it was creative to split the book into two parts before and after Alaska Young. My favourite character is Miles as he was very innocent before meeting Alaska and change his values and views on life throughout the book. I also thought that making a main character die was very unique and doesn’t happen that often. I will rate this book a 8/10 and recommend it people ages 13 and up.

    Like

  35. I absolutely loved this book. Every minute of time reading this book was well spent because it is such a beautiful book.Miles also known as Pudge, comes to a new school and find the most perfect girl of his dreams. He instantly falls in love with him and spends all his time with her. As well as other friends, Miles is having the time of his life until Alaska goes downhill and it effects Miles in every way.
    I love the way this book is set out and how it has 2 parts, before and after.
    John Green is my favourite author ever and this book has just made me want to keep reading his other books.
    I would recommend this book to all teenagers and anyone who loves the book TFIOS.
    I rate this a 9/10 and hope that maybe one day it becomes a movie.

    Like

  36. I would like to recommend the Book “Looking For Alaska”. It’s about a boy named Miles and his life has been one non-event, until he meets a girl called Alaska. She’s perfect, and he instantly falls in love, until she breaks down and for Miles, nothing will be the same.

    Like

  37. I really enjoyed this book, i thought John Green did a great job in the way it was written. I loved the way the book was mysterious and i didn’t see it coming. I love the fact that Alaska and her friends were just typical teenagers and made mistakes that normal kids do. I think each character had there own unique personality especially Miles and his skill in people last words which i loved. I would recommend this book to anyone over 13 and i would rate it a 9/10

    Like

  38. Siobhan said:

    This would have to be one of my favourite John Green books of all time. It has one of the best storyline and the absolute best characters of all of his books. I love how there is a sense of mystery to the book which is hard to find in YA fiction. The only thing is that I am shocked that they haven’t made this into a movie yet as it could very easily be adapted to screen. I loved this book so much that I read it in a day which is very shocking for me. I really enjoyed this book and I think others lovers of John Green would love it too. I would have to rate it 9/10

    Like

  39. An awesome story! Miles is an awesome character with an interest with last words of famous people. I loved Miles. Alaska was an interesting character that i also loved. i have read all of John Greens books and have loved them all, Looking for Alaska is my second favourite out of his books. I recommend this book to anyone!
    ps. i have used loved a lot in this comment!

    Like

  40. Looking for Alaska is one of my favourite books. John Green is a brilliant author, from the first few chapters I was in love with the characters. This book tells a heart touching story of a boy named Miles who “seeks a great perhaps”. Miles, a character who’s interests lie in famous last words moves to a boarding school and meets a wild girl named Alaska. Miles life changes dramatically, he meets new people and begins an adventure that he will never forget. I was so attached to this book, I felt so many emotions. I highly recommend this book to everyone because the story is so wonderful.

    Like

  41. Sarah said:

    Looking For Alaska is mind-blowing and heart touching. The story of Miles Halter, Chip and Alaska Young is exciting, frightening and emotional. The lead up to ‘after’ is an exhilarating journey that will have you thinking you are there experiencing it with the whole gang. Looking For Alaska is a reflection that some of the decisions we make as teenagers are sometimes impulsive, reckless and maybe sometimes go against our values, but it is also a reminder of how valuable life and the friendships we make are, and how it can all be over in just an instant. John Green is really nothing short of a genius- a magician in disguise as an author. Looking for Alaska will have you second guessing certain things that don’t actually matter and reaching for the tissue box.

    Like

  42. I love this book so much as it really teaches you to treasure life as miles says “POOF” you’re gone. The variation of characters is really interesting and really intrigues you and forces you to read more. Then you have Miles “Pudge” Halter, his life is a nonevent, until The Colonal introduces him to Alaska Young. Alaska is everything all in one body, she is reckless, caring, devoted, smart and a self-destructive, ticking time bomb. Along with The Colonal they are the masters of pranks at Culver Creek. All of the characters are the complete opposite of each other which really makes every plot twist more interesting and unexpected than the one before. This story keeps you on the edge or your seat, there is always a twist in the plot when you least expect it. John Green constantly keeps you guessing, and I love how there is a before and an after as it really shows that the event that happened impacted the characters a lot. I would recommend this book to people over the age of 12, as you really have to understand what they are talking about to enjoy it. Also I recommend this book to people who enjoy Mystery, adventure and sometimes a little bit of romance. I would rate this book 9/10 as I really enjoyed it.

    Like

  43. Grace M said:

    Looking For Alaska is a beautiful story about finding yourself a way out of lifes challenges. It illuminates a view on life that I had never considered before reading this book. As well as being deep and inspirational, it is also hilariously funny in some parts. John Green really is an amazing author. My favourite character in this book is Alaska. she speaks her mind and opens those of others around her. She is such an interesting character. I rate this book a 9/10.

    Like

  44. This book is about a boy who leaves his home town Florida to attend a school in Alabama. He is soon introduced to a confused girl called Alaska. There is also parts of a teenage life in there parties, bets and pranks. The best part about this book is that it tells everything and what life is really about I would differently recommend reading this book.

    Like

  45. Personally I loved this book. I found the way that it was written was easy to understand and the story line is amazing. My favourite character was Alaska because she was unusual and you never knew what she was going to do next and she was just confident. This is one of those books that you have to keep reading and can’t put down until your on the last page. I didn’t want this book to end because it was addicting. It’s about Miles’ journey through College and all the people that he meets along the way. I would give this book a 9.5 out of 10 and would recommend this book for all teenagers.

    Like

  46. Looking For Alaska
    From the same author of The Fault In Our Stars, John Green has create yet another flawless teenage love story. It’s about a boy called Miles Halter who goes to boarding school and meets a bunch of rebellious kids, including the one and only Alaska Young. My favourite part of the book was when they were all in the barn together sharing each other company and really defining what true friendship is. My favourite character was Alaska because I just loved her confident, bubbly personality that never left me bored because she was always unexpected. It was quite a different world that they story and the characters were living in which I couldn’t really relate too but it was a different setting that I wasn’t familiar with so it was intriguing to read. My least favourite part of the book was when Miles was with Lara because it was sad that he wasn’t with the girl who he loved and never got to be with her. I would recommend this book to people who are interested in a love story because it’s something that is relatable and explores the true meaning of friendship.

    Like

  47. I picked up this book at first because it was by John Green, and I have loved all of his previous books. This book definitely has a lot of mystery and adventure in it, different from ‘The Fault in our Stars’. John Green has a way of always making sure that you HAVE to turn the next page to see what is going to happen. I’m not really sure who my favourite character was because I always like Alaska, because she was very troubled and interesting character, but Miles was so sweet and innocent that it was hard to pick. I can’t really picture myself in this story, and that was one of the reasons why I felt so intrigued by it, it was different to anything that I had ever read before. I would definitely recommend this book for people you love mysteries, romance and a bit of a cry at the end.

    Like

  48. I was really intrigued by this book, you never really knew what was going to happen! It was a bit of a mystery and adventure book. I haven’t really read anything quite like it, John Green really captures the characters emotions. To me the best bit is when they play the prank on their teacher all of the junior students got in on it and it was so funny. My favourite character was Alaska, she was out going, funny and always looking for trouble. I was drawn to her because I’m the complete opposite. I can’t relate to any of the character’s but I don’t think that matters very much if the author writes it so well that you almost feel like them. I don’t have a least favourite because things were happening every chapter and it would draw you in. I would definitely recommend this book if you want a book that you can’t put down. A person that likes mystery and adventure would love this book so much. Also it you like a bit of twist at the end.

    Like

  49. I honestly don’t think this book gets enough credit. I read this book in 4 days and I can honestly say it was time well spent. This is my favourite book by John Green. I think Looking Alaska gets lost because everyone knows John Green for the fault in our stars. I have also read that book and it was the first of John Green’s book I read but I think the Looking for Alaska is better. It had such an intriguing start and from the first couple of chapters I was hooked. The characters are built up so much and the story line keeps twisting and getting better and better. The middle of the book hits hard. I’m not going to spoil it because I want everyone the reads it to be able to read it spoiler free. The Story is about Miles “Pudge” Halter a boy who moves schools and has always been a quite nobody but when he moves school and meets Alaska everything changes. This is probably one of my favourite books and I think it is a must read. The book does explore some topics that would really be appropriate for people younger than 14 so I would pretty much recommend it to anyone older than 14. It is such an amazing book and defiantly a must read.

    Like

  50. Carla said:

    This book definitely deserves the praise it’s been given. It is about a boy, Miles “Pudge” Halter, and his journey through college. John Green, perfectly captures the complexity of friendship, love, and death in this young adult novel.

    The plot lags a little bit at points, but other than that, it’s amazing! The shining aspect of this book for me was the character development. John Green is the master at that. His characters are so real and so interesting, that you will get lost in their issues no matter what (warning this can cause a lot of emotions!). They are not always loveable, nor relatable, but they work in their own little dysfunctional way. This, at times, is extremely unrealistic. However it builds the novel and makes it the thought provoking story that it is.

    Due to the nature of this book and some of the topics included (drugs, sex, alcohol, etc.) I would not recommend this book to anyone under 15 years of age, but in my opinion it is a must read book! It really changes they way you view the world.

    Like

  51. Its not my favourite John Green book, but its still a good read. Looking for Alaska is about a boy, Miles or “Pudge” as they call him. Who is puzzled and looks into Alaska’s death in the middle of the book. I really wasnt expecting her to die, let alone in the middle of the book. I hate it when Authors kill off the best characters. I still rate it an 8/10. I recommend it to people who read a lot because non readers might get bored quickly.

    Like

  52. csaltala said:

    I really liked this book because first of all, John Green wrote it. I also think it was very different to many other books i’ve read. I don’t know why but I really did not expect Alaska to die that early in the book, or at all because she was my favourite character and I hate it when authors kill off my favourite characters! I would rate this book a 10/10 but I would only recommend it to people who love to read because it is easy to get bored.

    Like

  53. I didn’t mind this book because it was different and the story line was very original.
    I liked the part where they did all the pranks because it was fun to read and I could picture it in my head.
    My favourite character was Alaska because she was really confident, and daring, but also had problems of her own.
    If I could change something about this book, I would change the fact that Alaska died, and I would change it so that she went missing because I find the book less interesting when the main character dies.
    I would recommend this book to 14+.

    Like

Leave a comment