The blog for books and movies

Comments on: "Hamilton (Musical)" (8)

  1. Wow, Hamilton is the BEST. This is a musical is written by Lin-Manual Miranda. The whole musical was two hours and 40 minutes long! (it’s definitely not a waste of time). The musical Hamilton is based on real history in the past 1700s. I didn’t really get the story at first but I watched it one more time and I totally got it, it’s best! The musicle displays fun singing, dances and also you learn a lot about the history and the 1700s so it educational! My two favourite songs from Hamilton is definitely “Burn” and “Take a Break”, I love how both of the songs have so much energy and the lyrics are just perfectly matched up from the story. I one hundred percent recommend this book to people who like to sing, dance and someone who loves history. My favourite character is Eliza she is such a kind person who would sacrifice anything for others. As Angelica (her sister) (Renée Elise Goldsberry) sung “I know my sister like i know my own mind she will choose her happiness over mine anytime”. One of my least favourite parts of the movie is when Alexander Hamilton’s and Eliza Hamilton’s son died (Philip Hamilton). Philip was such an innocent kid who was so nice and stuck up for his dad (Alexander Hamilton). I wouldn’t change one bit of this movie I feel like Lin-Manual Miranda got this movie spot on to the history of it, the songs were great, the dancing was great and lastly the story was perfectly told. I feel like if I didn’t watch this movie I wouldn’t know anything about this Alexander Hamilton and any of the history in the 1700s.

    So please if you like the sound of this movie definitely watch it!!

    Like

  2. “I am not throwing away my shot.” A phenomenal musical which I recommend to all. I must say that I am not a huge fan of history but this is an incredible take on the American story of Alexander Hamilton. There is no dialogue throughout this musical and everything is portrayed through song. There is a large variety of upbeat intense music, and depressive heartbreak between the characters. Lin-Manuel Miranda has done a fantastic job at bringing historical figures to life with a diverse cast. Some personal favourite songs of mine include “Guns and Ships” “Satisfied” and The Cabinet Battles. However, ultimately my favourite song is “Wait for it” as we get a humanised understanding of Aaron Burr the villain of Hamilton’s story and that he only believed he was doing what was best for him. A beautiful line includes “Life doesn’t discriminate between the sinners and the saints” highlighting his belief that there was nothing wrong in his actions to wait for his time. Overall, the cast is perfect and if history was presented like this musical all the time, History would be my favourite subject. 10/10.

    Like

  3. Oh my goshe, I saw this movie all over youtube and though ‘you know what, I’ll give this a try’…. I actually think it was the best decision I have ever made. Its about American history, and I have never thought I would sit down, watch two and a half hours of history that doesn’t even belong to Australia and love it. I had all of the songs stuck in my head, and even now I’ll randomly scream them from the kitchen while making a snack. The amount of tears I shed was unbelievable. Philip and Eliza, Why you gotta leave me like that!?!? Come on Alex! Basiclly I love the movie so much. But its one of those movies that stays with you. One you will never forget.
    I recommend it to older peoples just because some of the scenes and language used. (I wouldn’t show my little sisters this)
    But amazing movie 10/10. Wonderful.

    Like

  4. Amelia said:

    Hamilton is the story of America in the 1700’s told by America now. Written by Lin Manuel Miranda, it follows the life of Alexander Hamilton, one of the founding Fathers of America, and incorporates hip hop and rapping into a historical story. The cast is extremely diverse, and the voices that accompany the music are phenomenal. The musical reflects on the passing of time, and what we can do while we are still on this earth, asking who lives who dies, who tells our story. Be prepared to cry, laugh, and cheer for the people who seem to have been shrouded in history, now remembered in an unforgettable way. While it is not always historically correct, (as it is set hundreds of years ago, and not everything is for certain,) Hamilton is a musical that caters for everybody, no matter your age, gender, or preferences when it comes to musicals. I highly recommend listening to the Hamilton soundtrack, or watching it on Disney+.

    Like

  5. Hamilton is so amazing!!! It tells the story of Alexander Hamilton one of the founding fathers of America with 2 hr 30 min of hip hop music. I love Hamilton because there is only songs and they portray the characters and story so well through those songs. It takes you through an emotional journey, anger, sadness and happiness all at one time. My favourite song is Washington On Your Side. It sounds really good but I really love it because it is telling Thomas Jefferson, James Maddison and Arron Burr’s feelings about how Alexander Hamilton always is supported by Washington. I would recommend this, informative but so exciting!

    Like

  6. Hamilton is honestly one of my favourite movies. It is literally the only movie that tells you about history for two and a half hours that I enjoy. I love it so much! Its about the history of America and Alexander Hamilton. There is so many things that happen in this movie, and it is all relevant to the movie as well. The cast is amazing, and I love the songs. This is also my favourite musical now. Its amazing how talented these actors are! They show emotion and I cried towards the end. I love how the director of the musical/movie showed how each scenario was played, then they added some music and… boom! My friends have seen it as well, and we could talk all about it. I have already recommended this to nearly everyone, but I would recommend this to a more mature audience who likes history, and musicals. This is a 10/10 movie. I would watch it over and over!

    Like

  7. Clare said:

    Even though I cannot afford to buy a ticket to see this on Broadway, let alone the plane ticket to get to New York in the first place, I honestly don’t think I have ever loved a piece of art as much as I do with Hamilton. It’s the story of one of the US’s founding fathers, Alexander Hamilton, but instead of being a bunch of boring old white guys in powdered wigs, it is told in rap music infused with some classic showtune vibes, with one of the strongest casts, who are almost all People Of Colour. I have listened to the album literally hundreds of times, know the lyrics back to front, learnt everything I could about the cast and the absolutely incredible composer, Lin Manuel Miranda, and even cheekily watched a few bootlegs online. It is a musical that literally ANYONE can enjoy. It’s modern, funny, poignant, sad, comments on our society, and tells the story of one who has gone unnoticed by history, presented by the people who are silenced in our society today because of racial prejudices. There is nothing not to love about the musical, and I hope that one day I can see it live, but until then, there is the internet!

    Like

  8. I recommend the musical, Hamilton. Although, it’s not a movie, or a tv show, the musical is still amazing. You probably won’t be able to buy tickets to the musical either, they are all sold out or they cost more than my wages in a month. However, I recommend reading the biography, listening to the soundtrack, following the cast, discovering the history.

    The musical is set in the end of the 1700s, in America, at the time of the American Revolution, and it follows Alexander Hamilton, a man with an inspiring work ethic, that got him put on the American 10 dollar bill. The musical is amazing, and I suggest to anyone who has the opportunity, go watch it.

    Like

Leave a comment