The blog for books and movies

About to be executed for murder, Yelena is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She’ll eat the best meals, have rooms in the palace- and risk assassination by anyone trying to kill the Commander of Ixia.
And so Yelena chooses to become a food taster. But the chief of security, leaving nothing to chance, deliberately feeds her Butterfly’s Dust and only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonizing death from the poison.
As Yelena tries to escape her new dilemma, disasters keep mounting. Rebels plot to seize Ixia and Yelena develops magical powers she can’t control. Her life is threatened again and choices must be made. But this time the outcomes aren’t so clear…

Amazon

regularrumination

Comments on: "Poison study – Maria V. Snyder" (4)

  1. Tiahnee said:

    I love this series so much, from the moment I read the blurb I knew that this book was one that I was going to love I have recommended it to so many friends and they have loved it just as much as me!! this book follows the journey of Yelena a young girl who is going to be executed for murdering one of the high lord’s sons because he was sexually abusing her and she killed him. she is given one chance die a slow painful death and be the commanders taste tester or be executed. if she accepts she will get the best rooms in the palace the nicest meals but run the risk of there being poison in one of the commander’s meals and be killed so she decides to escape immediate death and take her chance. well, let’s see how that goes for her…

    Like

  2. I love this series!!! The first book is AMAZING!!! It is so different from everything I’ve read before, and Yelena is an amazing person. My favourite part was probably when she goes on the run as the ‘escaped prisoner’! It is sooo cool! I wish I could have taken her place!!! After reading it all I wanted to do was swing around in the trees!!!!So Yelena is my favourite character, as she is so resilient and strong. She has had a horrible history, but she doesn’t look for pity, only friends! And her friends are amazing. The Power Twins are the kind of friends everyone wants. I feel like if I was in the book in Yelena’s place, I probably would have made many of the same decisions, which you can rarely find in a book… My least favourite part in With Rand and Star, but saying why would spoil the book so… I would recommend this book to anyone I could! I loved it! I think it would be an adventure story, which I wouldn’t normally love as much as I did this one, so that’s saying something! Please read it! It deserves to be read!!!!

    Like

  3. I Recommend you read Poison Study by M.V.Snyder.

    I really enjoyed this book, it was a great page turner! I really loved it because it had a lot of action as well as a bit of romance. Poison study is the 1st book out of a series of three. The main character is Yelena Zaltana and then Valek follows.
    The story starts in a dungeon where Yelena Zaltana will have the choice to decide weather she wants to be executed or become the commanders food taster. Yelena chooses to be the commanders food taster, with Valek as her teacher for poisons. She first has to have a test which she passes and from there her adventure begins.
    My favourite part of the book would have to be the end because all of the little pieces that you have been trying to put together along the way finally fit in. It is as if you have just completed a 100 piece puzzle (yay!). I won’t tell you what happens at the end because I will spoil it. I’m just going to tell you that you will probably like it.
    My favourite character would have to be Yelena because she is stubborn, persistent and always put others first. This is book gives you all emotions. It is a great book full of adventure. I can assure you that you will LOVE it!!!!

    Like

    • I too really loved this book and I am glad someone else likes it as well! I have read this book twice now and I could read it 100 times and never get bored of it! Yelena is also my favourite character for the same reasons! She is never thinking about herself and the best part is, it seems to be an instinct to protect others, even if it means she has to put her life on the line. I recommend you read the rest of the series, plus the Glass series as well. It is a continue of this one. Happy reading!

      Like

Leave a comment