The blog for books and movies

One bright spring morning in the woods of France, a soldier, blinded by the war, is found by a little girl named Coco, and her older sister Marcelle. In return for their kindness, the soldier tells the sisters marvellous tales, each story connected to the keepsake he carries in his pocket: a perfect, tiny silver donkey.

As the days pass and they struggle in secret to help the soldier reach home, Coco and Marcelle learn the truth behind the silver donkey, and what the precious object means: honesty, loyalty, and courage.

Comments on: "The silver donkey – Sonia Hartnett" (4)

  1. In primary school, I remember my teacher recommending this book to me. At first, I didn’t have any interest in reading it, but after I started I couldn’t stop. I absolutely love the inspiring nature of the story, and I love the inspiration that the tales of the soldier gave me. The Silver donkey starts off with a girl named Coco, with her sister Marcelle, who find a blind soldier in the woods. At first, they are scared, and they have no idea who or why this soldier is there. But after getting to know the soldier, and hearing many inspiring, and interesting tales from him, Coco and Marcelle begin to visit the soldier frequently, often bringing him food and water and having picnics with him. During this time, the soldier also tells the girls about the meaning of his special Silver donkey, and the reason why he is stranded in the woods. After hearing his story, the girls eventually help the soldier reach his end goal. Overall I love the storyline of The Silver Donkey, and the courageous tales that it gives me. One thing I would say about the book though is it takes a little while to get into, as the start is quite slow. But other than that, I would give this book an 8/10.

    Like

  2. In grade four, our teacher read us this book. I really loved it! I has an unusual title and you don’t expect what’s inside but I really loved it! I really loved how the children bring him out food and drink and then listen to his story, it’s really interesting and just so emotional! I recommend this book for males and females ten years old and up because it’s really interesting but it may be a bit hard for anyone under ten to understand. This is a really heart felt and interesting book, I love it!

    Like

  3. Melina Vittorina Bunting said:

    My teacher in grade 5 read this to my class once. It was so beautiful, it was my favourite part of the day. I especially love the book’s overall theme; honesty, loyalty and courage. I think it’s those sorts of qualities that todays people need to apply to their own lives. Especially honesty.

    Like

  4. I recommend the book The Silver Donkey written by Sonya Hartnett. This book is about a soldier who is trying to make the journey from the war zone of WWI back to his home town. I am in the middle of reading this book and I am already hooked on it. My favourite character has to be Coco because she is so adventurous and brave even though she is only a little girl. I definitely recommend this book because anyone who reads it will never want to put the book down. Every turn of the page brings something exciting about the story. I recommend this book to years 9’s and up because there are bits in the book where the soldier remembers his time in the war.

    Like

Leave a comment