The blog for books and movies

I wasn’t free of my past, not yet.

Sydney’s blood is special. That’s because she’s an alchemist – one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets – and human lives. But the last encounter Sydney had with vampires got her in deep trouble with the other alchemists. And now with her allegiences in question, her future is on the line.

When Sydney is torn from her bed in the middle of the night, at first she thinks she’s still being punished for her complicated alliance with dhampir Rose Hathaway. But what unfolds is far worse. Jill Dragomir – the sister of Moroi Queen Lissa Dragomir – is in mortal danger, and the Moroi must send her into hiding. To avoid a civil war, Sydney is called upon to act as Jill’s guardian and protector, posing as her roommate in the unlikeliest of places: a human boarding school in Palm Springs, California. The last thing Sydney wants is to be accused of sympathizing with vampires. And now she has to live with one.

The Moroi court believe Jill and Sydney will be safe at Amberwood Prep, but threats, distractions, and forbidden romance lurk both outside – and within – the school grounds. Now that they’re in hiding, the drama is only just beginning.

Good Reads

Vignette2

Comments on: "Bloodlines series – Richelle Mead" (1)

  1. BLOODLINES, THE GOLDEN LILY AND THE INDIGO SPELL BY RICHELLE MEAD is the spin off series to the New York Times best seller, Vampire Academy. It follows the human protagonist Sydney Sage as she protects the vampire princess, Jill Dragomir. I have decided to put these 3 books into one review since they were all sort of a blur after I read the series. Might I say though, I liked Sydney in these 3 books the a lot. She is smart and awkward and so human that I can relate to her. Of course, I don’t know 5 languages, but her awkwardness to new people was so relatable. I liked that she wasn’t comfortable with the vampires at first and it really made the scenario realistic. Sydney is such a great character in almost every aspect. She is of course not perfect (having body image issues) but she is willing to help others and prioritise them as her number one goal. I think that her and Adrian’s development is going at a brilliant pace. They don’t have a solid romantic relationship from the first book and that’s what I love because it gives us the nice slow burn effect. In The Last Sacrifice I think I recall Adrian stating that Sydney was uptight, but we all know now that after these books his opinions have really changed. Adrian himself is a MESS. I’m not even gonna sugar coat it, because he’s literally just a hot mess (he would emphasise on HOT, I however, emphasise on MESS). He gets drunk, smokes and doesn’t even acknowledge the fact that Jill can witness everything he’s doing because of the Spirit Bond. And his excuse is “she’s 15. she’s mature enough” uHM NO. THATS NOT GOOD ENOUGH EXCUSE. SHES A MINOR, NOT AN ADULT AND SHE DESERVES A FULL LIFE. As much as I love Adrian, and want him to be happy, he was so frustrating at times when he blamed others for what he could fix himself. “But Rose ripped my heart out” Yes, she did and it was really wrong and gross of her but guess what? Nothing’s going to bring her back. He needed time to heal, and he wasted it with drinking his way out. I’m glad that when he truly became friends with Sydney, he reeled himself in. I feel like the fact that most of these characters are 18+, they should have NO romantic relation with Jill. She is 15 YEARS OLD. A MINOR. A M I N O R. Which means she should be left alone from any character thats Sydney’s age, and sorry but that includes Eddie. I don’t see the point of starting so many relationship if they don’t get enough time in the books and then eventually aren’t well enough developed. I think that the whole storyline is really interesting, especially the magic use. Sydney has the potential to become this cool wizard!!!!!! Thats rad dude!!!!!!!! And the whole Marcus storyline was interesting about how he had to run from the alchemists because they were controlling him (BECAUSE THEY ARE EVIL. OKAY SYDNEY?). My favourite character by far is Sydney and then Adrian. I think these books are so fun to read and give you a warm feeling in your stomach. I recommend this series for readers who enjoy romance. Because trust me, the romance is on full blast even when the book is trying to be discreet. Haha, no one can deceive me – especially not books (just kidding; plot twists shock me more than boys reactions when I tell them their masculinity is fragile).

    Like

Leave a comment