The blog for books and movies

By sixth grade, Miranda and her best friend, Sal, know how to navigate their New York City neighborhood. They know where it’s safe to go, like the local grocery store, and they know whom to avoid, like the crazy guy on the corner.

But things start to unravel. Sal gets punched by a new kid for what seems like no reason, and he shuts Miranda out of his life. The apartment key that Miranda’s mom keeps hidden for emergencies is stolen. And then Miranda finds a mysterious note scrawled on a tiny slip of paper:

I am coming to save your friend’s life, and my own.
I must ask two favors. First, you must write me a letter.

The notes keep coming, and Miranda slowly realizes that whoever is leaving them knows all about her, including things that haven’t even happened yet. Each message brings her closer to believing that only she can prevent a tragic death. Until the final note makes her think she’s too late.

Rebecca Stead

2b.p

Comments on: "When you reach me – Rebecca Stead" (3)

  1. misebast said:

    When you Reach Me –

    This book is a story about a girl named Miranda and her mum is going to compete on a TV show game called – The Pyramid.

    This book wasn’t what I thought it would be, I actually had no idea what this book was going to be about. I couldn’t be bothered asking my mum so I just started the book. It turns out the book as a mystery novel, I love mysteries I especially love trying to work them out because I am terrible at doing that! 😀 Every night when I read it I would never be able to put it down. I would say just one more chapter but that never happened I read about 3 more chapters and then fall asleep. I didn’t really understand some of it but I sort of got the idea of what the book if about.

    I recommened this book to ages 8 – 13. It just depends where you are at reading and understanding books. I rate this book a 9/10 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

    Like

  2. Harriet said:

    This book definitely wasn’t what I had anticipated it to be, it was actually better. The plot is ingenious and I really envy the author, Rebecca Stead. I found that the crazy man by the post was my favourite character, especially towards the end because he has an interesting history. This is definitely one of my favourite books and the author is excellent. I was amazed at the ending because I really wasn’t expecting that conclusion. At the beginning I had a bit of trouble getting into the book, but it was excellent overall.

    Like

  3. I would recommend the book ‘When You Reach Me’ by Rebecca Stead. I really enjoyed this book because it was actually one of the few books that made me keep wanting to turn the page. It nearly got me frustrated with myself because I couldn’t figure out who the mystery character was, because the author wrote it so well, which is why I loved the book. it showed me how to get readers hooked. My favourite part of the book is when the main character, Miranda, stares out the window and sees her ‘no longer best friend’ Sal playing basketball in the street. I like how it depicts that Miranda has absolutely no idea what’s happening and why Sal ditched her at that time in their life, and how the author represents what she is thinking and comprehending. The thing I didn’t really like about the book, however, was that the author gave no real clue as to who the mystery man was. My favourite character was Miranda’s newfound best friend AnneMarie, because she wasn’t afraid to be herself and give
    things a go. I liked her easy-going attitude to life. If I could change something about the book it would be the very basic description of one of the main character’s in the book, the crazy man by the post. I think more information was necessary. I would recommend this book to all girls at SHC from years 7- 9 who like a good mystery novel and enjoy a tale of friendship at the same time. I would recommend ‘When You Reach Me’ 9/10! Give it a go!

    Like

Leave a comment