The blog for books and movies

It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still.

Liesel Meminger and her younger brother are being taken by their mother to live with a foster family outside Munich. Liesel’s father was taken away on the breath of a single, unfamiliar word ? Kommunist ? and Liesel sees the fear of a similar fate in her mother’s eyes. On the journey, Death visits the young boy, and notices Liesel. It will be the first of many near encounters. By her brother’s graveside, Liesel’s life is changed when she picks up a single object, partially hidden in the snow. It is The Gravedigger’s Handbook, left there by accident, and it is her first act of book thievery.

So begins a love affair with books and words, as Liesel, with the help of her accordion-playing foster father, learns to read. Soon she is stealing books from Nazi book-burnings, the mayor’s wife’s library, wherever there are books to be found.

But these are dangerous times. When Liesel’s foster family hides a Jewish fist-fighter in their basement, Liesel’s world is both opened up, and closed down.

Macmillan
readnowsleeplater

Comments on: "The book thief – Marcus Zusack" (44)

  1. The Book Thief written by Markus Zusak is a sad and heartbreaking book based during the period of the Holocaust. The book details the suffering of the Jews and how mistreated they were. The book really opens your eyes and helps gain an insight understanding of a young girl during this awful time. I would recommend it to anyone aged over 15 and would rate it 7/10.

    Like

  2. When having to get this book out for english, I dreaded the thought and thickness of this book, but I knew I had to read it, this book is one deep encaptivating book that honestly left me in tears. Fantastic book written by Markus Zusak, Book Thief is about a German girl, Leisel who is living during the holocaust, gets sent away from her mother to a foster family, the family seems rude and hard to live with at the start. Leisel struggles to fit in and find friends, but throughout the story learns a lot of new lessons, and her love grows for her foster dad Hans. I personally loved this book and can’t wait to work on it for english. I would recommend this book for anyone over the age of 14, as it is quite long and dragged out, which would be the only down side about reading the book!

    Like

  3. The book thief is an awesome book it makes you feeling like you were right there with all the characters. it is also really sad at the same time especially how some of the main characters die. My favourite character is ruedy because his so friendly and really makes the book one to remember but at the same time a page turner. My favourite bit in the book is when Lietzel mets ruedy. I give this book a…
    9 out of 10

    Like

  4. The book thief is a amazing book it takes you way back to the past where you imagine what it was like to be right near a war. It is also very sad because at the very most of the main characters died! My favourite character is ruedy because his so friendly and will help any one who needs it. My favourite bit in the book is when Lietzel mets ruedy. I regret when ruedy dies at the very end

    Like

  5. When getting this book as a book to read for english this year, I was in the same mindset of it being a chore for me to read. Without judging the book to quickly, I read it and it is without a doubt the most beautiful and heartbreaking book I have ever read. Who knew a story such as Liesel’s could impact on you so much. This book had me reading for hours and at every page I just wanted to read more! Ultimately this book is just like the movie just 100 times better, it was so much more captivating to read and the unwillingness to put it down made it so much better! This is a book for everyone, I wouldn’t wait until it is on your booklist, I would read it as soon as I can!! I’d rate this book a 10/10

    Like

  6. This book is so beautiful. The movie is really nice also. The book is so descriptive and it really gives you and inside to what life was like in the war. My favourite character is Rudy because I love how he is madly in love with Liesel but she has no idea till the very end. They are perfect friends. I love Mama and Papa. They are beautiful together. Max is a great edition to the story because people actually would have hidden family friends to protect them. It is very sad that they burn all those book because I love reading!! Enjoy you will be grinning your ears off at one point then crying like theres no tomorrow xx

    Like

  7. It does sound a little bit strange at first to think about reading a book about someone who steals them but it is not really focusing on that at all sort of. The book is about a little German girl called leisel and she is living in the time of the holocaust, she got sent away from her mother because she was a communist and was sent to a foster family. Leisel really wanted to learn how to read so the man that was looking after leisel taught her. her time was a mixture of sadness, scare and happiness. I record this book to people aged 11+ as it is quite sad to hear about the times when the nazis took over.

    Like

  8. When Death tells a story, you pay attention. Liesel Meminger is a young girl growing up outside of Munich in Nazi Germany, and Death tells her story as “an attempt-a flying jump of an attempt-to prove to me that you, and your human existence, are worth it.” Its an inspiration story that is mature and clever and it underlines important events and issues from the past but also how some of those issues are now

    Like

  9. Phoebe M said:

    The Book Thief is one of the most technical books I have ever read, in fact it took me 4 weeks to finish it but it was worth it. I loved how the perspective switched between a young girl named Leisel Meminger and death himself. The book started off slow but got slowly more and more gripping as it went on, it all started when Leisel was on her way to Mulching in which her 6 yr old brother died along the way. Lesiel was then sent to a foster home and all was good and well until the war. Lesiel’s foster parents Rosa and Hans start to hide a Jewish fist-fighter in their basement to protect him from the Nazi’s. Lesiel meets so many new people and learns so many new things and I learnt a new thing about the 2nd world war on almost every page. I loved this book and would definitely recommend reading it. 9/10 from me.

    Like

  10. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak has a very interesting story line that follows a young girl named Leisel Meminger who grows a relationship with Rudy Steiner. The story is set in Germany where at 9 Leisel loses her brother whilst moving to Munich to live with her adoptive parents Hans and Rosa Huberman. Leisel comes to admire her adoptive father Hans and him playing his accordion which is a main topic within the book. The Book Thief was a very intreging story which dragged me in wanting to know more. I personally loved the story line that followed the theiving adventures Leisel went on and how she gained relation ships with many characters. I would recommend this book for anyone who is from age 13 and up as it would be a bit harder to read for younger ages, and anyone who is looking for a longer book to read. I would also rate this book 7 out of 10.

    Like

  11. The Book Thief is probably one of the most difficult books I have ever read. Between the different point of views between ‘death’ and Liesel, and the constant change between German and English it was overall a challenge to read. However, it was a very well written book and after finishing it and also watching the movie after I understood it a lot better. The book is about Nazi Germany and the war between Hitler and the Jews. I really love how compassionate Liesel and the foster parents are towards the Jews, even though if they are caught doing what they doing then they could possibly face the wrath of death itself. This is a beautifully written book by Markus Zusak and I would recommend it to older readers ☺

    Like

  12. Georgia said:

    When seeing the thickness of The Book Thief by Markus Zusack, and knowing that I’d have to read it for English did daunt me a little. However once I begun I loved every minute of reading it. It shows the German perspective of the war and how Germany was under Hitlers reign, it demonstrates a young girl’s adolescence. Upon arriving at Himmel Street this novel presents Liesel’s relationship with those around her and the consequences of the war. My absolute favourite character was Rudy, because he was an absolute sweetheart and willing to do anything for his best friend whom he’s in love with. A bit different from the movie (so I’ve heard I haven’t seen it) but I really enjoyed the narration through the eyes of Death. My least favourite part would be the brutality threat WW2 brought onto their society however is an important part oft he history. I recommend this book to anyone who loves history and also those who enjoy an easy novel to read and immerse themselves in even though it is quite a long book.

    Like

  13. I’m not normally a book person and despite this book being very long, I thoroughly enjoyed the Book Thief. While subjected to the horrors of World War II Germany, young Liesel finds solace by stealing books and sharing them with others. In the basement of her home, a Jewish refugee is being protected by her adoptive parents. I love how this book is narrated by Death as it truly gives an insight of the atrocities faced by those during WW2. It is a story about love, strength and horror as we are told the details of young Liesel’s life. This is an incredibly powerful book which has also been made into a movie. Overall, I would rate this book an 8/10.

    Like

  14. The Book Thief is a story about a girl called Liesel who lives in Nazi Germany, and the troubles that she and people around her faced in the horrible time. The book is told from the eyes of death, fitting as it is written during the second world war. I was interested in the aspect of this book as it was told from a different perspective to what we usually learn. It was hard for me to relate to this text as they live in a war torn time and place and If anything at all, it made me feel more grateful for what I have. All the characters are interesting and draw you in. I would give this a 8/10, despite it being slow to start.

    Like

  15. Eibhlis said:

    I had to read this for Year 11 English. It’s about Liesel Meminger, a young German girl living in Germany during World War 2. Liesel’s experiences are narrated by Death, who describes both the beauty and destruction of life in this era. I found this book so insightful and interesting because I had never read something set during World War 2 from a German perspective. It’s about the everyday German people during that time and the oppression in their lives. Yet in doing so, we see how important relationships with and the individual growth of Liesal as the book is set over a few years. This book is truly incredible and unlike any other. It’s so endearing for the reader to read Liesal transformation as she embarks on a journey of self-discovery, the formation of a new family, and mostly, her life as a book thief. I rate 9/10.

    Like

  16. Despite the length of the book, it has to be one of my favourite books. It’s setting and plot was incredibly interesting and the way in which the author wrote the book made on really connect to it, and connected to the emotions of the reader. My favourite part of the book is her ongoing friendship with Max. These events showed how not all Germans hated Jews and some of the really cared for them. Another thing I found really interesting about this book was how it was narrated via the perspective of death. I think that despite the initial confusion of this, it made the book incredibly interesting and it also showed how death isn’t necessarily an evil thing. My favourite character was Leisel. She was an incredibly brave and determined individual, and she didn’t conform to the values of society, she fought for what she believed in. My least favourite part of the book was when Rudy died. You learn to fall in love with the characters over the course of the book and this was a part of the book that made you just stop for a minute, re-read and realise what had just happened. I loved this book and definitely think it’s a brilliant book to study in school as it is interesting and has meaning.

    Like

  17. This book was absolutely wonderful to read. I was great to read because bit were funny and sad bit that made me cry. The book gives a better insight in to what the people where really going through it had more details. They book is a lot more violent, because every thing is explained a lot more and its explained how the people felt going through that time period. I enjoy reading books set back in time, which this book is. I give this book a 8 out of 10, Its absolute wonderful to read but it is not my favourite book I have read

    Like

  18. I really enjoyed the book, The Book Thief. I found the first few chapters weren’t really the thing that I like to read about, but I kept on reading and I found that I liked the book. My favourite character is Leisal, because she loves books, she makes special bonds with people and I really like how she sees the world. Like wen she realises that words can be ugly at times or they could fill her up. This book was a little bit of a hard read so I recommend it to 13+. I rate this book a 9/10.

    Like

  19. The Book Thief is my number one book to go. I fell in loved with it and even more with the movie. It’s one of my favourite book. I have to thank my best friend for introducing it to me. I always end up reading it over and over and over. The story follows a girl name Liesel Meminger and her journey in 1939. My favourite character has to be Rudy Steiner. I really enjoyed reading the book thief, whenever Rudy was mention in the chapters. My heart broke dearly for him (as i don’t want to be spoiling anything for others) and till this day, I’m not sure if i could forgive the author Marcus Cusack for hurting a beautiful character. But overall this book had its sad moments and its lively moments too. I loved it even more how it was based in Germany and that the book had some german in it as well. I was able to understand what Liesel was saying, as I knew some german from previous years. But i really recommend this book to everyone! Its an fantastic book to read, its one of my personal favourites and I hope it becomes one of yours as well. The Book Thief is definitely an 10/10 for sure.

    Like

  20. The book thief is absolutely amazing! I loved it so much! If you are interested Nazi Germany and the hollocaust this is the book for you. It is extreamly sad, my favourite character would be Rudy because he is just such a funny and sweet character. I have read this book twice I love it so much, the movie is great too but the book was better. I would reccomend for ages mature 12+ and would rate it a 10/10

    Like

  21. I really enjoyed the book, The Book Thief. I found it hard to get through the first few chapters, but once I passed them, I found that it was a great book. My favourite character is Rudy, because he is always getting into trouble and he always nags Leisal for a kiss, by doing good things for her. I also like Leisal because she loves books, and she forms special relationships/ bonds with people she really loves (Hans Huberman, Mayor’s wife, Max the Jew and Rudy). This book is a little hard to understand, so I recommend it to ages 13+. I rate this book a 10/10.

    Like

  22. This book is beautifully written, compelling and from the heart. I would recommend that everyone read this book unless they didn’t enjoy books that are emotional. The book is told from the eyes of death, fitting as it is written during the Second world war. I follows Leisel a young girl through her struggles. It is a tale of her maturation and growth during this time of hardship. It will leave you crying and turning the next page. It was interesting too see the story from perspective of not only death but of a young German girl. All the characters are interesting and draw you in. I would give this a 8/10 stars!! Although it had a slow start soon you’ll become hooked and be finished before you know it

    Like

  23. The Book Thief is a really good book. I read this for Year 11 English and found that I actually really enjoyed it. Set in Nazi Germany before and during world war two. It is written from the perspective of death recounting stories about a girl who steals books and her life. Death also talks about different things he has seen over war. The book is written really well and a lot of the metaphors and attention to detail is really interesting in this book. It has some more adult themes but I would recommend it to anyone over 13. It’s a really good read and one of those books you just have to read!

    Like

  24. The Book Thief, was amazing. Beautifully written, it captures the maturation of Liesel and Rudy spectacularly in the setting of Nazi Germany. This novel challenges all perspectives of the Second World War, and encourages the audience to see the WW1 tragedy in a different light. With gorgeous descriptions, The Book Thief enables any reader to understand the point of view of Death, and how this may impact the plot of the story. My favourite character in the book was Max, by far. He brought the best out of Liesel, and provided a real twist in the story, which kept a captivating edge to such a long novel. I thought the illustrations like the ‘Standover Man’ brought a real emotional touch to the story. Markus Zusak includes a mysterious component of the novel by making the narrator of the film Death, it simultaneously keeps you enticed in the story and makes you really try to think about who or what it might be. This book was excellent and well worth the read. 10/10.

    Like

  25. Gabby said:

    The book thief surprised me because usually I’m not a huge fan of war based novels. But because of the unique theme of death which is the main aspect as well as the interesting character of Liesel, I quite enjoyed it. My favourite part of the book is whenever Liesal and her Papa are in the basement reading during the middle of the night or when her and Rudy are stealing something whether it be a book or food. These scenes are my favourite because they are described remarkably well and it’s very easy to picture it happening in your head.
    Although Liesal is the main character and has a very interesting personality and story, I would have to say Rosa (the stand in mother) was my favourite. I’m not entirely sure why but her personality is entertaining and the author never really gives us an insight about her past only touching it at one point saying she was different to what she is now. This makes her interesting to me.
    Honestly I can’t relate to anyone in the story because their lives are so dramatically different to mine. They live in a war torn time and place without no where near as much food or necessities as us. If anything at all, it made me feel more grateful for what I have.
    My least favourite aspect of the book was not getting more information from ‘death’. I really liked the idea of how the book was based on it’s view of humans, but I would of loved some more creativity around the concept. Don’t get me wrong it was really good still. If I could change one thing, I would force the author to write another book from Liesal’s older years! This would be really intriguing.
    I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in the Nazi Germany time, anyone wanting a good story to interest them or people my age. Anyone older would like this book because the themes and concepts are very interesting and at times difficult to follow. 10/10!

    Like

  26. Marcus Zusack has created a masterpiece narrated by Death itself. Set in the beginning of World War II, the protagonist Liesel Meminger discovers a world of violence and fear. To distract her from the cruelties of war, Liesel learns to read with the help of her father. Through words on a page, the young girl can escape the harsh reality of war and enter a world of imagination and dreams. Just as Liesel’s first novel, the Gravedigger’s Handbook, instills a love of books within her, The Book Thief might just instill a love of books within you.

    Like

  27. Claire said:

    I thoroughly enjoyed The Book Thief, it was a fantastic read.
    Marcus Zusack is an incredible writer and shows the different relationships Leisel has; with her father, her best friend, Max. It is a inspiring story that stimulates strength, love and hope. I would give this book a 9½ out of 10

    Like

  28. Markus Zusak has showed his genius ideas in this novel and showed his unique writing style. This story set in Germany in the years 1939 – 1943 and is about a young girl called Liesel who is brave and unique. The story administers a great insight into the ways genuine germans lived during the holocaust. Markus Zusak writes in a haunting, profound and poetic way. This book uses very exotic vocabulary, which is great for those who love extending their vocabulary, but if you’d rather just understand what is been said then this book may not be as enjoyable. The start of the book is a little confusing and odd, but when the story really starts it becomes easier to understand and follow. Overall this book is engaging and informative, something perfect for young adults, something that you shouldn’t miss out on.

    Like

  29. I loved this book so much! As well as being so intriguing and easy to read, it was also very educational and taught me a lot about the war and what it was like in this time. My favourite character was death, because although he wasn’t in the whole book, I was always waiting for when he would make an appearance again. I also really liked Rudy, who was the main characters best friends and was always getting into trouble with her. I also loved how the main character loved books. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves reading, but also likes to learn

    Like

  30. Alexandra C said:

    This book is awesome! It teaches you, death, love, war and german. This book was a challenge to me but i made my way through it and it was all worth it. I recommend it to students that want to learn about the German war and the German culture.

    Like

  31. the book thief is a great book that will take your breath away, the story is set in the middle of world war two and lets me go into the story and be in the happy, sad and heartbreak with every word on the page. My favourite charter is roodie who is a young german boy who loves to run and loves to play with lieziel one of the other main charters. I learnt a lot about this book and how the jew felt in the war. I really enjoyed reading this book and recommend it to any one who loves reading about young friendship, war and sadness. 🙂

    Like

  32. Sophie said:

    I love The Book Thief it is so sad but a really excellent I just couldn’t put down! The ending is so sad when Leisel’s foster parents die and Rudy dies as well its just the saddest book! I really recommend it to students 13+ I give it a 10 out of 10! I highly recommend it!

    Like

  33. Georgie said:

    The Book Thief, by Marcus Zusack, is a heart-warming, action-packed adventure filled with disappointment, new friends and a bit of thievery. The main character, Leisel Meminger, is taken into foster care during World War 2 and she’s having a bit of trouble fitting in with her new surroundings and dealing with her horrid, yet loving foster Mother. But Leisel soon finds what makes her happy in life… books. But when a horrifying tragedy occurs, Leisel must rely on her friends to lead her in the right direction to a happy future. I thought this book was amazing and filled you with a variety of emotions throughout the whole thing! I felt that some parts weren’t very related to the point of the story and flicking from one character’s point of view to another was a bit distracting for me. But overall, a great read for anyone interested in war and history.

    Like

  34. I found this book so sad but interesting. It’s about a girl who had a little brother but died on their way to Germany. The girl Leisel who is brave, smart than she think and independent. She ives with another family while her mum goes find some work and a safe home. It’s in the past when Hitler was in charge and while you read the book you can imagine the traumatizing times when their town gets bombed. Liesel meets a new friend Roody who likes her. At the end something very very sad happens and Liesel moves on with her life and becomes someone who is more than she thought. I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the past and history. I gave this book a 10/10 There is also a movie which you will enjoy too if you don’t like reading!

    Like

  35. The book thief is a amazing book it takes you way back to the past where you imagine what it was like to be right near a war. It is also very sad because at the very most of the main characters died! My favourite character is ruedy because his so friendly and will help any one who needs it. My favourite bit in the book is when Lietzel mets ruedy. I regret when ruedy dies at the very end. I recomend this book to 12 years and over because it can be a little scary to younger kids!

    Like

  36. Shannon H said:

    I thoroughly enjoyed The Book Thief, it was a fantastic read. Leisel Meminger is a young girl whose life changes when her brother dies and her mother sends her to another home, a small town in Germany. Leisel settles into this new home making friends with Rudy, a boy with lemon-coloured hair. But Leisel has a secret, she steals books.

    My favourite thing about this book is unlike many World War ll stories it’s not from the point of view of a Jew hiding in a basement but rather from the view of Death himself. It is Death narrating the incredible journey of Leisel and the dangers she faces growing up in a Nazi community. Around her the war is raging, the world seems to be falling apart and a Jew shows up at her new families doorstep. Max hides in the basement of Leisels home for quite some time and they form a strong bond. But unfortunately the horrors of war can not be kept in the dark for too long and not everyone will survive.

    Marcus Zusack is an incredible writer and shows the different relationships Leisel has; with her father, her best friend, Max. It is a inspiring story that stimulates strength, love and hope. I would give this book a 9½ out of 10

    Like

  37. Olivia S said:

    The book thief is a book about a young girl, (Leisel Meminger), whose life gets turned around in the blink of an eye. One minute her brother and her are travelling towards a small town in Germany with their mother, and the next she is facing life alone.
    Marcus Zusack has written this book in the perspective of death, which is certainly a change to how most authors would write their books. The way he’s incorporated both Leisel’s, Max’s, and even Death’s own opinion is really interesting, and the story is both inspiring, and heartbreaking.
    I am currently half way through the book, though I’m really enjoying it so far.
    In my opinion, The Book Thief is an incredible book, which really manages to touch your heart.
    I’d give this book a 9/10. 🙂

    Like

  38. Tahlia said:

    This is my favourite book at the moment because it has funny bits that then turn into sad bits. The person I was seating next to was crying. I think the book is more violent then the movie because in the book it is more gruesome than the movie. I love to read about stuff set back in time and this book is just like that. I have seen the movie and I am reading the book at the moment. I give this book a 10/10 because it is my favourite story!

    Like

  39. The Book Thief is a fantastic book that follows the life of a young girl called Liesel Meminger and the troubles that she and people around her faced in the horrible time of Nazi Germany. I wasn’t sure what to expect from the story however I was blown away by how the storyline incorporated all parts of the second world war, while still having its own individual story. I thought that it was excellent that the novel was told from the point of view of a ‘grim reaper’ character as it invited a opinion from this character and showed how the personalities of people shone through in their moment of death. I especially like the choice of narrator because they are not shown as something like a God or Satin so the story can be read by anyone of any culture as we all experience death in our lives.

    It is wonderful how in this story Liesel is able to find the strength and power of words and learn that words can heal wounds. The people around her help her discover her gift of being able to move people with words, making the loneliness that people felt slightly dull. The story is a perfect example of how hope, love and good karma can get you through even the hardest struggle.

    I could go on for days about this story and therefore I rate it a 9.5/10.

    Like

  40. This book is absolutely amazing. The way in which Zusack has written this novel is absolutely beautiful. It is extremely well written and the plot is fantastic. The use of a little girl as the protagonist means there is an innocence in her understanding of what is going on around her. Using Death as the narrator also means that you are able to see what is going on everywhere, not just Liesel’s situation. The character of Death is beautiful and tragic.
    The book is set in World War II where Liesel has been sent to live with a German family in Molching. The dynamics in the family give humour to the book, as well as Liesel’s relationship with her best friend Rudy. Death follows Liesel’s journey as she discovers literature and tries to understand what is going on.
    My only criticism of this book is that it is quite long, so initially I found it difficult to get through it. Having finished the book, I am so glad I did. This book will stay with you for a long time and you really miss the characters when you finish. I believe you are able to get more out of the book if you have a basic understanding of WWII and I would recommend it to anyone over 15. This is probably the best book I’ve ever read and would give it 9.5/10. It is definitely a book you should read at some point.

    Like

  41. Clare said:

    The Book Thief is a very moving, inspirational and confronting book. Even though it is a very dark story, it portrays a great sense of hope. It is narrated by death which makes it even more interesting and different. It is about a young girl named Liesel who lives in Germany during World War 2. She is going to meet her foster parents when her brother dies and she plunges into grief. At her brothers grave, she noticed a book called ‘The Gravediggers Handbook’ and she starts to become very interested in books. Once she gets to Munich, she meets her new best friend Rudy. She starts stealing books and she learns to read and becomes more interested with her life and whats happening in the world. While this is happening, her foster family is hiding a Jewish man from the Nazi’s. She befriends him. There is so much more that happens but you will just have to read it to find out!

    It is a very descriptive and detailed book, and you also learn some German words as well. It really changed how i view the world and i couldn’t put it down.

    I first read this book in grade 4 but i recommend that you should read it if you are 12 + because it is pretty graphic and confronting. I love this book and you can’t tire from reading it over and over.

    Like

  42. The book theift is set back in the early 1900s in germany. The book is about a girl named liesel, who is on her way to her new foster parents when her brother dies. here is where she gets her first book. The gravediggers handbook.
    The book is narrated by death.
    During the time liesel an her family hide a Jewish man in their basement who she has a special bond with. Liesel and her bet friend Rudy get up to lots of mischief.

    The ending of this book is quite sad so i suggest if you do not like sad books maybe not this book. The story has a bit of a strange beginning and is quite slow but keep reading it. YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!!!!!!! GUARANTEE!!

    Like

  43. The Book thief is a story about a small girl called Liesel who lives in Molching in Nazi Germany. The Narrator is death, the soul collector, and due to the war, he is very busy in war struck area’s. He first meets Liesel as she travels to her new foster parents’ home with her brother who died along the way. Death follows her journey in her new life, as she learns to love her gruff ‘mama’ rosa, and her kind, anti-nazi ‘papa’ hans. She becomes best friends with a boy called Rudy, who is constantly asking her for a kiss. But not everything stays bright and happy, as the war begins her foster parents take in a jewish Fist-fighter and they have to be very careful not to get caught. In the hard times of the war one of the few things that make Liesel happy is stealing books. This novel is great in showing you the 2nd world war from a Germans point of view, and will leave you crying, laughing and on the edge of your seat!

    Like

  44. the book i am reviewing is called “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak. THe story is told through the eyes of Death himself and his multiple encounters with a girl, Leisel Meminger. Her 6 year old brother dies on the trip to Mulching, Munich. Here she is placed into a foster home to live with the Hubermans because her mother and father can no longer look after her. As the story continues she collects an array of books and her foster father teachers her to read and write. As she steps through the shaky grounds of adolescence the world is crawling through the second world war. Street fights and games are along side Death camp marchers of holocaust victims on the way to Dachau concerntration camp. This compelling story is both historical and educating about life and death as it is a tale of a girls maturing and growing as a person both physically and mentally. I love this book and recommend it for all age groups as it is appealing to all through its almost detached narrater, death.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

