The blog for books and movies

Returning to the Enchanted Wood and the Faraway Tree, where acorns and chestnuts and cherries and apples grow side by side and you never know where you might end up if you climb to the top, it doesn’t take long for siblings Joe, Beth and Frannie to find themselves knee-deep in wonder. Helping them to do so in this tale is Cousin Rick who comes to stay when his mother falls ill. Before long, they have hooked their cousin with stories of Birthday Land, Toy Land, and the weird and wonderful characters who live in and around the Faraway Tree.

There’s Moon-Face, who always seems to know what awaits, Silky the Fairy and Saucepan Man, who’s both deaf as a post and accident-prone. Magic lingers on every page, from the endless feasts and picnics to the huge market place known as the Land of Spells. There’s even a giant slide that snakes its way around and down the inside of the tree, to save the bother of climbing down when exhausted by adventuring.

Things can – and do – go wrong for the young heroes of the story. There’s always the possibility of ending up somewhere dangerous from where they cannot escape. One scrape has them deciding they’ve had enough adventures and they make a conscious decision to stay away. Of course, its not for long and they soon find themselves in the Land of Dreams, where muffins turn into kittens and surreal events conspire to frighten them away until they’re tempted back by the obvious attractions of the Land of Do-As-You-Please.

Comments on: "The magic faraway tree – Enid Blyton" (49)

  1. The author of this book is one of my favourites, Enid Blyton. All of her books are always so engaging and magical, but this is definitely one of my favourites. It is a beautiful that I have loved for many years. It has so much magic which makes everything seem so special. I rate this book a 10/10. There is absolutely nothing I can fault about this book.

    Like

  2. The Faraway Tree is a wonderful, magical book to read, it is very creative with all the different particular characters the author has made up. This children’s novel is about how a bunch of children go on all sorts of adventures to different lands, they do have some difficulties on the way, but that is all part of the adventure. An interesting part of the storey is actually how they get to all the lands, and that is with the help of there friends that live in the faraway tree. Some of there friends are Moonface, Silky, the Saucepan man and many more. And so for the children to get to all the lands they climb to the top of the tree and go through a shoot in moonface’s houses. An important thing to remember when the children are up in the land is to keep track of time because the land does move on and if you stay there to long you could move on with it, and get stuck there for a very, very long time. I found this book a fun and entertaining to read because when ever i finished a chapter or a page, it always made me eager to read more. I recommend this book to younger children, in primary school because of how fun and different it is to other children’s novels out there.

    Like

  3. Sienna said:

    The magic faraway tree is a classic story cleverly written by Enid Blyton.
    This adventurous tale takes you on a magical journey to a mythical land.
    This story is fun and exciting to read as you climb to the top of the magical far away tree, but you better not get stuck or you may be trapped forever!
    once you begin reading this book you can’t stop!!
    this book is great to listen to and read. It is great for all ages beginning at the age of 6+
    I rate this book a 9/10 for its creativity and the fun, magical journey you go on with it.

    Like

  4. This book it soooo magical!! It will make you smile with every page. As you follow the characters through there magical adventure. They got to many places and meet many friends. Enid blyton is a great author and every page has been created with the most pleasure and excitement!!! The characters Jo, Beth and Fanny are the most adorable characters you would ever meet!!! I read this book when I was younger and I loved it. I would say it would be for someone 10+, it isn’t to hard but is complicated. It is a book that every child should read. It brings a smile to my face every time I think about this book. I rate it a 11/10 for its creativity and imagination!!!! Read this book!!! Or if you think you are too old recommend it to a younger person!!!!!

    Like

  5. I recommend this book for so many reasons. It has so much imagination and humor. There is not one book, there is a series of three books. They are short but detailed books. The first book especially is amazing demonstrating the life of three children discovering a magic tree and going on all of these adventures at the very top of the tree and getting into all sorts of mischief. I like this book because it is so creative and you are always hooked. However this book is for boys and girls who are younger possibly in the age group of 7-12. This book can be read by anyone if they would like. Overall it is a fun book, that everyone will enjoy! So give it a read.

    Like

  6. I loved this book because the adventures that were described with so much detail made me feel like it was in the book living the story. i rate this book a 10/10!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  7. Amy Lizmore said:

    I really like this book it is a book with adventure and craziness.

    I would recommend this book to people who like books with adventures and magic.With potions and lotions. Weird things that happen and really tall trees.

    I really like how the book is so imaginative with all the different lands and places.

    It is a really good for all ages young and old but mostly younger.

    My favourite charter is Saucepan man because he is so funny and how he can’t hear properly. He hears thing really differently to what the person talking to him says.

    Like

  8. Lucy c said:

    This book out of this world literally!. The enchanting story line is about three children that move into the country and find a mysterious dense forest with whispering trees to explore. There in the forest they find a ginormous tree called the faraway tree. In the tree there lives many strange creatures. There is an angry pixie, an old nome, A fairy called silky, a man with a moon for a face and old dame washalot. Up the top of the tree there is a ladder that leads to a cloud and when you climb up it you go into a random world that only comes once a year. Everyday there is a different world and if you want to get out of it once you go in you have to leave before the hole in the cloud leaves. This was an amazing book and the language in it was very well used. I loved it and would rate it a ten out of ten. This book is good for all ages and has no violence whatsoever.

    Like

  9. Alyssa said:

    I really found reading this book enjoyable because it has so many different lands that Jo, Fanny and Beth visited. I wish I could climb the Magic Faraway Tree and have so many amazing adventures as well. I believe any ages can read this book even my mum enjoys Enid Blyton’s books to this day.

    Like

  10. This has seriously been my favourite novel since i was little! i used to love reading it because it is so enchanting and takes you to a whole different world! It takes you through so many different adventures that the three siblings, Joe, Beth and Frannie, go on when climbing the magic faraway tree. I think it is very well written and keeps you interested no matter what your age! I love all of Enid Blyton’s books because they are all so adventurous. My favourite character is Saucepan Man because he is funny and seems to always get the group into some sort of trouble. I recommend this novel to anyone! 10/10 🙂

    Like

  11. As a child, I read this book almost everyday! I adored it and it captivated me so much. I love how the book captures you and takes you on the journeys the children have and it is so easy to fall in love with the characters, especially moonface! My memory of the adventure book has faded from my memory a bit so i’ll have to read it again to refresh it and enjoy the book once again. I recommend this book to anybody who is willing to go on a fantastic adventure and I rate it a 10/10!

    Like

  12. Georgie said:

    I remember this book being read to me as a small child and I have lost count as to how many times I have read this book! Joe, Fannie and Beth’s adventures always gives me goose bumps! I have fallen in love with this book multiple times because of it’s magical effect on you. It makes you feel special and like you are watching them and not reading. 10/10 from me!

    Like

  13. Miffy said:

    I’ve read many times. The Magic Faraway Tree never gets old or boring. The adventures of Joe, Beth and Fannie were magical and amazing. It was like I was there with them. (And i always wished I was!). I fist had the book read to me when I was in year one. My year one teacher made me instantly fall in love with the simple and exiting book of the the three children and the folk of the Faraway Tree. You can read this book and at any stage of your life and always get a thrill and different view of the story. My favourite parts are when a funny land comes to the top of the tree and and the children have such adventures escaping. It’s funny, creative, exiting and obviously magical, the Magic Faraway Tree is a 10/10!

    Like

  14. I loved the Magic Faraway Tree. When i was in grade 1 the teacher read it to the class and thats when i fell in love. This book took me to a place where i would never ever go it would give me such great stories to make up or imagine. I all ways wanted to go up the faraway tree. I would recommend this book to any one who has a great imagination. I would rate it a 10 out of 10.

    Like

  15. Georgia said:

    I loved the Magic Faraway Tree. The thing I liked the most was all of the characters because they were so creative. I thought that this book was so good that whenever I finished reading it, I would go back and read it again. I thought the concept of having different clouds was really cool and having lots of problems about if it was safe or not was so intriguing. I think this book is suitable for people aged 7-14 because it is a fairly easy read. I would rate this book a 8/10.

    Like

  16. The Magic Faraway Tree is so good, I love how the story makes you feel like you are one of the characters that is there, just standing and watching what’s happening. Enid Blyton is such a good writer,and all of her books are amazing I love them all!!! This book is very imaginative and is such a great book to just sit down and read. All of the characters are so sweet and all have something special about them! i loved this book and it is great for younger kids to read. I would rate this book a 8/10

    Like

  17. Saskia said:

    i love this book it is really cute and amazing and has a really good theme to it that engages you because it is so creative and imaginative!!! The characters are all really sweet and it is a really good children’s book because my primary school teacher in grade pre would read it to us every day and i loved it so much and would entertain us for a longtime because it was so fun. Its so good and really enchanting and magical so i do recommend this book!

    Like

  18. Mattea said:

    I recommend this book because I really loved this book .This wonderful story is about magical lands up a tree with many strange and mystical characters. I forgot her name but my favourite character was the rich cousin that did not believe ad was really rude. I love Enid Blyton books i dont think that she ever got one wrong. My favourite bit is all the different lands at the top of the tree and not mentioning the wonderful characters. I would reccomend this book to all ages who can tackle quite a big novel.
    Rate: 9/10

    Like

  19. I’d like to recommend this wonderful book called the “Magic Faraway tree”. This is a second book in a series about 3 siblings discovering enchanted words. I believe this book really captures great descriptive language and strong emotions. This what I love in a book, one that you just have to keep reading. It really takes you through their adventures and journeys that occur. I give this book a 9/10. I recommend it for all ages.

    Like

  20. Catrina said:

    The book the magic faraway tree is so enchanting! It has a great imagination put into and I will never get sick of that book! The characters in the book are s creative and how the whole book is put together is amazing! Sometimes I actually wish I was one of the kids in the book because it sounds like a great adventure to have!!! I absolutely love this book and I rate it a 10/10 because I love it so much!

    Like

  21. I loved this book personally I think it is the greatest book that has ever been written. The reasons why I love this book is because from the very beginning you love the characters and you can picture everything that is going on. I would recommend this book for people over the age of 9 because there are some tricky words but there is a great imagination behind the story. I Would rate this book a 9 and 1/2 out of ten because it is so good.

    Like

  22. the first time i read this book i was in grade prep and our teacher read a chapter of the book each day.i loved it. the magic faraway tree is a adventure book and they have lots of funny and and great adventures. these four kids find a massive magical tree in the forest.
    my favourite part in the book is when dick is climbing up the tree and the a lady was doing her washing and she pored all the leftover water down the tree, and it drenched him.

    Like

  23. The book ‘Magic Faraway Tree’ was a excellent book series that I have ever read. I have read it many times and would still love to read it again! I highly recommend it to anyone who loves adventurous books and would like a book to enjoy. Its full of excitement and some funny adventures. If you ever get a chance to read it you should! Don’t ever think your to old to read it.. Enjoy!!

    Like

  24. The magic far away is a book full of excitement, magic, surprises and overloaded with adventures ! this would have to be my FAVOURITE BOOK ever since i was about 6. I don’t really have a favourite part of this book, i love everything about it ! , start till finish. My favourite character is saucepan man. This is because he is a bit dumb but in a funny way because he has very bad hearing so when you say something to him, he then says what he thinks you have said, but it is some hilarious thing. I would DEFINITELY ! recommend this book to everyone ! !, it really does suit any age I feel it is a book that must be read and known by everyone as their childhood favourite enjoy !

    Like

  25. I read this book a while ago but I think its a great book
    i love the magic places where they always go and the treats they eat I love the setting and enid blyton is a really good author and writes with lots of detail
    I would recommend this book to everyone who loves a book with magic and goblins.

    Like

  26. I really enjoyed this book! I highly recommend it to people who enjoy fantasy and adventure. It is about 4 children who went into the forest one day and found a magical tree. they made friends with the strange people they met in the tree and they went into all kinds of amazing worlds!! Give this book a go and it is for peole of any age!!!

    Like

  27. The Magic faraway tree is a really exciting and adventurous book and I loved every minute of it! It is about 4 kids who go into a forest and find a magical tree. In the tree they find some magical folk who become friends with the children. They also help each other get out of trouble when they go into a land at the top of the Faraway tree. There usually different lands at the top of the Faraway tree that they can go and visit but they are not always friendly. If the kids don’t get off the land in time, they would be trapped in it and would move with it until they can find a way off.

    I recommend this book to anyone who can read novels and if you like books that are easy to follow, you would love this book.

    Like

  28. oh my gosh,
    i looooved this book, i think it is the quickest i have ever read not only because me and my friend were seeing who could finish it first but because i loooved it.

    dick, beth, fanny and jo, they are the main characters they are soo cute and soo funny, the adventures that they go on are oo interesting. I absolutely love enid blyton for writing this book because it is just so fun to read which is amazing for me to say.

    i reckon everyone should read this book,
    and if you are into good books that make you laugh and make you not want to put the book down read this!

    Like

  29. The Magic Faraway Tree is so good, I love how the story makes you feel like you are one of the characters that is there, just standing and watching what’s happening. Enid Blyton is such a good writer, It is an oldie but a goodie.

    My favourite character in this book is old saucepan man. He can’t hear very well, because of all of the banging that his pots and pans do, so if you talk to him he thinks that you say something ridiculous, which makes me laugh.

    My favourite part is when the children are showing Dick the Magic Faraway tree for the first time. As they are climbing up it Dick gets water thrown at him by the Angry Pixie because Dick was peeping through his window. Then he gets splashed again because he didn’t look up in time to see that Dame Washalot’s cleaning water was coming down and so he got drenched by her water as well. When they get to the very top of the tree to Moonface’s house Dick introduces himself to old Saucepan Man but he doesn’t hear so then he says, “chick?” and everyone laughs at him.

    There isn’t really anything I don’t like about this book, it is great for children at 5 – 17 but I know many adults will love The Magic Faraway tree as well. This book is mainly for anyone that has a good sense-of-humour and loves reading adventures.

    Like

  30. This is one of my all time favourite books! I have read it about 5 times, I loved it so much. The reason for my passion for this book is because I love all of the characters and fantasy books. Dick, Beth, Fanny and Jo and the 4 main characters, 4 children who live just outside the forest, in which the faraway tree is. I love reading about the adventures they have when they discover all that the faraway tree has to offer. I love Enid Blyton, he is such a creative and fantastic writer. I would recommend this book to people who love fantasies and adventure.

    Like

  31. This book is so good, Enid Blyton is such a good writer. This is an oldie but a goodie. I love the characters in this story;
    Moon Face has a very round face and he lives in the magic faraway tree.
    Silky is to me like a little fairy that everyone adores and loves, she, too lives in the faraway tree.
    The three children: Dick, Beth, Fanny and Jo live just outside the forest, to where the magic faraway tree is located. They live with their mother and have to do chores around the house to help her.

    They go on trips up the faraway tree and have yummy snacks (you would never have heard of them because they are magical) sometimes they have lollies that explode in your mouth to then fill your mouth with a delicious caramel flavour. Or they get a piece of bubblegum that starts off little but then becomes bigger as you chew on it!

    Read this book and discover more of the magnificent things that the children discover, wait until you find out what is at the top of the tree… It changes everyday!

    Like

  32. The magic faraway tree a great book and so interesting. i remember first reading this book and day dreaming for days after wards about going on a magical adventure with Jo, Frannie, Beth and even Rick and one of my favourites moon-face i think that books tale stayed with me and it sometimes may even affect how i write as well. because me and my friend beth were thinking about it at school haha. i would love moon face to be my real friend. i lov e all the different lands they are soo cool and amazing! i recommend this book to middle aged readers x enjoy!

    Like

  33. this is one of the books i used to read when i was a child. very good book. i deftly recommend it for little children who like fantasy

    Like

  34. this book is so good! i loved all the adventures with moonface, silky and sausepan. all the different lands at the top of the Magic Faraway Tree just amaze me. when i was little i used to pretend i was in those magical lands, i loved this book when i was little and i still do! i recommend reading it

    Like

  35. The magic faraway tree is a very exciting adventurous book and it was one of the first books i ever read. This book should be one of the first books because when i read it i can guarentee that it will send sparks of imagination flying everywhere in your brain! i can remember first reading this book and day dreaming for days after wards about going on a magical adventure with Jo, Frannie, Beth and even Rick and one of my favourites moon-face i think that books tale stayed with me and it sometimes may even affect how i write as well. I still think about moon face and imagine him as one of my friends.This book was always a favorite of mine. i recommend this book for young people from ages 7 to any age because it send your imagination on rollercoasters. definetally consider reading this book what ever age you are because i think its so interesting and great!

    Like

  36. The book is great, the names are cousin Dick and the sisters name is Fanny not Rick and Frannie ! This book is timeless and a classie, buy it for every child !

    Like

  37. this is a really good descripption of the faraway tree, i read loads of books!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  38. i love this book so much!!!
    4 little kids,jo,besse,franny and rick (their cousen) all explore the magic faraway tree and vist all the different lands on their visits they meet some friends,sacusepan,moonface and silky. they help them explore the lands eswell:) everyday all those little children visit the lands such as,the land of goodies,medicines,spells and the land of old women. this is a great book!!!!!!! you have to read it!! thankyou

    Like

  39. awesome
    it really beautiful and interesting!
    (L) ITS REALLY GOOD PEOPLE

    Like

  40. The Magic Far Away Tree is a magical book about 3 children, Jo, Bessie and Fannie. They find a magical tree as tall as can be and climb up through the trunk. They meet many different characters, Moonface, Saucepan Man, and Silky the fairy and have many adventures in different lands. This is an amazing book and I highly recommend it to anyone who loves magical stories and classic books. I loved this book when I was a child and couldn’t put it and the rest of the series down.

    Like

  41. The Magic Faraway Tree is a book that I have adored since I was around 7 years old. It follows the adventures of 3 children, Bessie, Fanny and Jo and their friends (Moonface, Silky and Saucepan Man to name a few) as they explore the mysteries and enchantment of the Magic Faraway Tree. With every chapter a new land at the top of the tree awaits, from the Land of Do-As-You-Please to the Land of Know-It-Alls. Even though this book is incredibly old, it hasn’t lost its charm and has entertained children, myself included, for generations and generations and as it has been such a massive part of my childhood, I give it a 10/10.

    Like

  42. The stories take place in an enchanted forest in which a gigantic magical tree. The tree is so tall that its highest branches reach into the clouds and it is wide enough to hold small houses carved into its trunk. The forest and the tree are discovered by three children named Jo, Bessie, and Fannie, who move into a house nearby. You never know what adventure the children will meet at the top of the tree next.

    I read this book when I was little and I loved it, defiantly a 5 out of 5.

    This book is for anyone and is an easy read so for those not so confident readers it is great book.

    Like

  43. i have this book at home, and i have read it (only half). it is sooooooooo long!
    i love the way it is written and the pictures are cute. i love the moon!

    Like

  44. The magic faraway tree is a very creative book and it should be one of the first novels a child reads because i can guarentee that it will send sparks of imagination fly everywhere! i can remember first reading this book and dreaming i went on a magical adventure with jo, Beth, Frannie and even Rick and one of my favourites moon-face i think that books tale stayed with me and it sometimes may even affect how i write as well. It was always one of my favourite books and i really think that i should grab that book out of the book shelf and read it again for old times sake. i really recommend this book for young people from 7+. If you havnt read it, it is your loss go and find this book now and start reading!

    Like

  45. i really enjoyed reading this book because it’s very creative, has a lot of imagination, and it’s VERY adventuress, that’s the kind of books i like!

    Like

  46. i loved this book. My dad read it to me for the 1st time in kindergarten but i have read it myself later on and even then i enjoyed it. it is a feelgood, fun story where good always defeats evil (not that there is much evil). Each of the different lands at the top of the tree keep the story exciting and easy to read. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys fantasy stories.

    Like

  47. Well can I just say this book has been in my bookcase for ever and I hadn’t read it until recently, and then I realized what I was missing. A few small children, as best as I can remember, find a magical tree than holds within many lands, all of which ‘move on’ before a certain time. This book, even being a children’s story, is really enjoyable, and when you read it, along with the pictures, you can imagine these three little kids, going through all these cool lands- I think I wouldn’t mind a trip through it either!!

    Like

  48. This review is on the book The Magic Faraway Tree!! This book is amazing for all ages ranging from 7-14. If you read this book you will enter an amazing world of magical and mystical creatures. There is three young children in this book. Jo, Beth and Frannie. The childrens cousin rick comes to stay with them for the summer and the children go out to the woods and end up finding an enormous, enchanting tree. When the children climb this tree they are suddenly intrigued and are part of a wonderful, majestic world that no one knew about. Jo, Beth, Frannie and Rick meet some lovely people in the tree: Moon Face, The Saucepanman, Silky(fairy) and the Angry Pixie. As the children and their new friends climb a ladder at the top of the amazing tree they explore a different way of life in many various lands that come and go in weeks. Some of the lands they visit are… Topsy Turvey Land, Land Of Spells and The Land Of Dreams. This book is so different to other fantasy books that you can really get into it easy. Enid Blyton is an amazing writer , to have written something as special as this book.

    Like

  49. this review is on the book the far away tree, Jo, Bessie and Fanny move to a small house near a large wood. One day, they go for a walk in the wood and discover an enormous tree whose branches seem to reach into the clouds. This is the Faraway Tree.
    When the children climb the Faraway Tree they discover it is inhabited by different magical creatures, including Moon-face, Silky the fairy, The Saucepan Man, Dame Washalot, Mr. Watzisname and the Angry Pixie. They become friends to some of these creatures, in particular Moon-face and Silky. At the very top of the tree they discover a ladder which leads them to a magical land. This land is different on each visit, because each place “moves on” from the top of the tree to make way for a new land. The children are free to come and go, but they must leave before the land “moves on” or they will be stuck there until the land returns to the Faraway Tree.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

