The blog for books and movies

Comments on: "The Martian (movie)" (15)

  1. the martian is a very interesting movie that requires you to follow the storyline to understand. it has a lot of scientific references to engage the audience and create a ‘sciency’ feel for the movie. throughout the movie it sort of makes yo want find out if the man will ever get back from mars and the question wether he will live or not. this movie I think is appropriate for the ages of 13+ because it is quite maturely themed. I give this movie a 3 and a half star rating.

    Like

  2. Laura said:

    I’m not the type of person to like these types of movies but this one was really good as it explored the life on Mars and the survival in outer space. I would highly recommend this movie because it’s really interesting to see how you would survive on Mars and what it’s like up there because we would never get to experience this ourselves. The main character Mark get’s stuck in a predicament on Mars and it’s funny and scary to see how he get’s out of there. I would recommend this movie from teenagers upwards to all genders. I would rate this movie a 7/10!

    Like

  3. Amelia said:

    I really enjoyed watching The Martian. It was a movie that kept me on the edge of your seat the whole time. There are some gruesome bits, but they are all part of the adventure. It did go for a while so it is definitely for older kids and adults that have a longer attention span. I think it is a 7/10.

    Like

  4. This is one of my favourite movies of all times. I first watched it a couple of mouths ago and after that I have re-watched it so many times. It is interesting the whole way though and I learnt a lot from this movie. The movie The Martian is full of action which I love. I also love the characters. My favourite character is Mark because he plays the roll so well, as do all of the other actors. I would recommend this movie to anyone. I love it!

    Like

  5. Claudia said:

    The Martian – Movie.

    The Martian is was a great movie.

    The plot for the movie is very well thought out and flows naturally. I really loved how real it all looked and made me imagine what life would be like alone and on Mars.

    The main actor casted by Matt Damon is awesome, he is such an amazing actor and makes everything real and believable. The way he thinks to make food for himself to survive is amazing and smart.

    If I could change anything in this movie, it would be to make it shorter. The martian felt like it went forever and I did lose my concentration at some points of the movie.

    I would recommend this movie to others but only if they are sure they can be engaged the whole time.

    I give this a 7 out of 10.

    Like

  6. The Martian was a great movie. I strongly recommend this movie. In this movie the main character portrayed by Matt Damon faces many life challenging obstacles. He takes on each challenge and finds innovative ways to overcome them. Each time he is met with a new challenge he is able to find a way around it this encourages us to never give up when faced with obstacles. I also enjoyed the humour in this movie because it lightened the mood of what could have been a very sad movie. There was some swearing in this movie which I think was used in a humorous way. I really enjoyed this movie and found that it was better than I thought it was going to be.

    Like

  7. After reading the book which I absolutely loved, I was very excited to see the movie, especially since Matt Damon would be playing the lead, who I generally really enjoy his movies. The cast for this movie is perfect, my personal favourite Donald Glover, as I thought he was the perfect person for his character, as he was smart quirky sand funny. The movie follows the journey of Mark Watney, after he is left by his crew believed to be dead, in Mars, where he must survive all by himself. This movie is exciting and action packed, and will often keep you on the edge of the seat. The only complain I have about this movie, is that after reading the book, the character of Mark Watney, is extremely funny, and was part of he reason why I loved the book so much. However in the movie, he wasn’t as funny/quirky as described the book. Overall though, I thought this book was an excellent action blockbuster movie and I do definitely recommend to watch (after reading the book of course!) I give this movie a 9/10.

    Like

  8. I really enjoyed watching this movie, however it does drag on a little bit. At the start it seemed like a fantastic storyline, however some parts really lost my attention as nothing exiting was really going on… This is a great family movie, despite the dragging on, because it shows some excellent views on trying to survive. Some great actors and some good laughs are also featured in The Martian, making it a great movie in the long run. I would probably watch this movie again, just because by the end, all you want to know is how things turn out!

    Like

  9. This movie is so much better than I ever expected it to be. I really enjoyed it. It was almost as the whole movie had been created to be played by the main actor, Matt Damon. He played the character so well and I couldn’t see anyone doing a better job than he did. This is defiantly one of my all time favourite movies and I would rate it a 10/10. I would recommend it for people over the age of 13+ and for recommend that everyone should watch it as it was so interesting full of jam packed action through out the whole entire film.

    Like

  10. Grace said:

    I only just watched this movie but i defiantly would have thought it would have been better because i found that it was a bite confusing at some points in the movie i think to most people it wouldn’t have been because i think it is for older watches. But other wise i quit liked it because i found it interesting and full of action I also love the characters my favourite character is mark because he plays the roll so well.
    i would give this a 5% out of 10% and would recommend it to around 15 year olds

    Like

  11. I recommend the movie, The Martian. It is a very interesting movie and it almost feels like a documentary. It is about a team of astronauts that travel to Mars. On Mars, they encounter a terrible storm and are forced to flee. One of the astronauts is hit by debris and they assume he has died and reluctantly have to leave him behind. The rocket leaves and starts its way back to earth. The next day, the astronaut the left wakes up in immense pain and with little oxygen left. The Martian is the story of his survival on a barren planet with little food and water. I would rate it 9/10 and for people 12+.

    Like

  12. I wanted to see this movie for a while, i didn’t really know why as it didn’t look like something i would like!! i saw this movie and it was soooo good. It shows people that you just have to keep a clear head at the midst of danger and be creative with your solution. It was really nerve racking and i was anxious as to whether mark watney would get home. the 2 down sides are that it is full of science (great if you are a science lover) and the part where mark had to get a pole out of his tummy, it was really gross. Over all the movie was amazing and it was really all about hope!! I rate this movie 9/10 and a must see.

    Like

  13. The Martian is a great movie, I strongly recommend this movie.
    This movie showed you important things such as to never give up, no matter how impossible something may seem.
    I liked this movie because it was very humorous and was great to watch.
    The movie did include a bit of swearing although that just seemed to make it even more funny. It is a great movie to watch to encourage you to keep trying your hardest, it shows that you will get there.
    The main character Mark was a very humours and chill character, he never gave up and he was very creative and smart. He was so smart because he never gave up and tried his hardest to survive.
    Even though some of the scenarios in this movie were probably unrealistic it had a very strong moral and storyline to it which is what made this movie great.
    I recommend this movie to teenagers and adults just because kids may not quite understand it and I rate it a 10/10.

    Like

  14. Rosalie said:

    ‘The Martian’ looks like such a good movie, yet it’s based on a book, so I also want to read the book. I can’t wait to watch it once reading the book!

    Like

  15. I recently saw this about two weeks ago. I wasn’t expecting it to be a good movie by looking at the previews but as they say, “Don’t judge a book by it’s cover.” does relate to the preview. I liked this movie because it gave me some life tips on surviving by yourself. My favourite part of The Martian was when Mark Watney (Matt Damon) was able to complete many difficult things all alone. My favourite character is Mark as he is the main character and imported a lot of humour! The other characters in the movie were eager to help him escape Mars. My most favourite part would just spoil the ending. If you want to know my favourite part you’re just going to have to watch The Martian and then my favourite part will soon become yours. Follow these words, “Read my comment and watch the movie and then you’ll be as emotional as me.” – Bianca. I would recommend this movie to people over the age of 9. I believe teenagers and adults would like this movie. Don’t forget to watch The Martian, there are helpful tips and science if thats your favourite subject!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

