The blog for books and movies

Having just escaped from the greedy and evil Count Olaf in the first book, the Baudelaire children are now taken to live with another relative, Dr. Montgomery. While the children find Dr. Montgomery to be a kind herpetologist, Count Olaf’s final threat in the previous book continues to throw a shadow over their future.

Children’s classics

Google Books

Comments on: "The reptile room (A series of unfortunate events) – Lemony Snicket" (7)

  1. I would recommend this book to anyone because it is such a fantastic book filled with suspense, mystery and thrill. This book in the Series of Unfortunate Events is bout after they are taken out of treacherous care of the former guardian Count Olaf and are sent to live with there uncle Montgomery Montgomery. Monty was definitely my favourite characters throughout this whole book because he was hilarious and so caring for the Baudelaire’s when that was something they event felt for a long time since their parents died in the suspicious fire. My favourite part of the book was when ‘Stefano’ (AKA Count Olaf) was caught for killing Monty by Violet, Klaus and Sunny solving the mystery because I love all that investigation stuff. This was a magnificent book and I can’t wait to continue the series.

    Like

  2. The Reptile Room is the second novel of Lemony Snicket’s ‘A Series of Unfortunate Events’. I would have to say that The Reptile Room, despite the length of the book, is filled with action, a little humour and of course the miserable lives that the Baudelaire children must live after the horrible death of their parents. Uncle Monty is featured in the novel as the ‘orphan’s’ new guardian, and is portrayed as a perfect fit for the children. Lemony Snicket however, also portrays him (like virtually every other adult character in the series) as oblivious to the tricks and disguises of Count Olaf – and I like how he does this. When i read ‘The Reptile Room’ as a child it seemed as though I could sympathise for the Baudelaires because sometimes I felt as though I wasn’t listened to. It made any situation that I was in where an adult wouldn’t listen to me or take me seriously as a molehill as opposed to a mountain and for that I am very grateful. The second book in Snicket’s series is one of my personal favourites of the thirteen books. 10/10

    Like

  3. A Series of Unfortunate Events, The Reptile Room: Lemony Snicket
    The Reptile Room was the second book of the series and my least favourite but only because of the snakes, otherwise very well written. The Baudelaire children are at their uncles house to stay after coming from Count Olaf’s unstable parenting. After being in Count Olaf’s care where he treated the children like slaves moving into Dr. Montgomery’s care was a big upgrade where they hardly had to do any chores at all and mainly focused on having fun and just being kids. However after a shocking death due to a snake bite they are shipped off to another unknown family member. Really good read and the series is suitable for anyone beginning to read more advanced books. 8/10

    Like

  4. I absolutely loved this book. It was my favourite book in the whole series. I really enjoyed the how the book was so engaging and you never knew what was going to happen next. My favourite character in this book is Violet, because I enjoyed reading about her plans and ideas to save her and her siblings. I liked the mystery throughout this book, as this made it more of an interesting read. However the book is also very sad, in hearing about the terrible things that the Baudelaire children are put through. But I think that it is these emotions that make the reader feel as if they are apart of the book. I never wanted to put it down. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone over the age of 10.

    Like

  5. Elise said:

    The Reptile Room is a great book that is an easy read. My favourite character in the story is Uncle Monty who adopts the Baudelaire children. He is so friendly and funny! I love how Lemony Snicker writes the story, it is so clever! The book is very mysterious and you never knows what is going to happen next. I would definitely recommend it to a friend! This is a book about how some people in the world are selfish and evil. I would rate this book 7/10

    Like

  6. Sarah said:

    I would recommend the Reptile Room to any one who likes mystery and adventure. My favorite character is Sunny I love the way she bites anything in her path because teething. Although she is a baby, I love the was Lemony Snicket allows her communicate in the book. I love the way the series always has the same character (Count Olaf) as the bad guy, it makes you get both angles of the story and really get to know them. I would rate it 9/10

    Like

  7. I would recommend The Reptile Room to the 10+ age group as it is a very sad book that doesn’t get at all happier (that’s why it’s a series of unfortunate events). It is a book that shows just how evil and horrid some people are in this world.
    My favourite character was Sunny. Despite being only an infant I loved how aware Sunny was of the people around her and her judgement of who can be trusted and who can’t.
    I would give this book a 9/10 and think that it’s a book that everyone would enjoy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

