The blog for books and movies

“If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.”

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers–boys whose memories are also gone.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out–and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Good Reads

Comments on: "The maze runner – James Dashner" (69)

  1. This book is filled with mystery, adventure and many twists and turns. You never really know what to expect. I loved this book. It will pull you in from the very start and you won’t be able to put it down. It is about a boy named Thomas who wakes up, all the sudden, with no idea where he is. It turns out that he is underground in this place surrounded by a maze. This story is about everyone trying to escape the Maze.

    Like

  2. The Maze Runner is a science fiction story, which takes place in modern times. This book is very intense throughout and keeps readers on the edge of their seats. The book is written in first-person narrative from the perspective of the main character, Thomas. He is portrayed as a reserved young man and has a good head on his shoulders. The book helps us have the knowledge of what it’s like to be isolated. I read the book on the first day I got it, it was that good. The movie was okay but a lot different to the original story plot, which I didn’t like that much, but it’s okay since it happens to every book that becomes a movie.

    I really like the story plot since it’s very unique, it uses the idea of teenagers being immune to the disease. It makes me feel happy that maybe I’ve got a chance to live since they are teenagers and I’m a teenager. YES! Unlucky for most adults. The book uses intense and gruesome scenes to help build the story plot, the book is ‘WICKED’. I love, how authors tend to use languages to help have the attention of readers.

    Like

  3. The Maze Runner is the first book of four in the Maze Runner Series by James Dashner. It is personally my favourite of the five books in the series. It had me hooked from the start of the book until the last page.

    It starts off with a boy named Thomas waking up in an elevator in pitch black, his memory erased. When the shaft arrives at the surface he finds himself inside a giant maze, where roughly 80 other boys work together to try and find a way out of the maze. From the moment he enters the maze he has a strange urge to become a runner, the people in charge of searching the maze by day. However the maze shuts at nightfall, and no one who has survived a night in the maze.
    As the book goes on, strange things start to occur.

    I loved all the action and surprises this book brings. I would defantly recommend it, and I would rate this book 9/10.

    Like

  4. Priscilla C said:

    Maze runner by James Dashner is a tense, nail biting thriller that you will not put down. With explosive content that will keep you on the edge of your seat, this novel is the perfect combination of action and adventure and a hint of science fiction and romance. Meet Thomas. The whole series is as captivating as this story with the first three books (The maze runner, the scorch trials and the death cure) following Thomas and the Glader’s story. The fourth book, the kill order, is one of my favourites and shows us first hand the horror and despair of the horror-filled sun flares and the feared plague that is spreading across the globe – The flare. It definitely gives us some new insight and depth to this book and truly makes me value the series even more. The fifth book, the fever code, is about Thomas and Teresa when they were young and tells us so much about their backstories and makes me love all the characters so much more!!! The plot is well though out and action-packed. The characters are well-developed and I can’t help loving them all so much – Thomas for being outgoing and brave, Teresa for literally her every feature, Newt for his good-natured personality, Minho for his hilarious boldness and quick wit, and Chuck for his, well, chuckness. I love this series to death and I would rate it an 8.5/10. I would recommend this to anyone who liked the hunger games or divergent. It would be perfect for any 11-15 year old that loves a good thriller.

    Like

  5. This is a really well thought out book and good fun to read. The book is very interesting and has great characters and a good description on the maze. If you like to read about adventure and science fiction then this is a great book for you. my favourite character is newt because he has a good personality and good nature about him. my least favourite character is Gally because he is stubborn and not a very nice person. I definitely recommend this book for ages 11- 15 as it is quite an easy read and lots of fun too.

    Like

  6. Phoebe M said:

    I love The Maze Runner!!!
    James Dashner has written a perfect combination of action, adventure and romance. It all started when a plague started killing the human population and the teenagers have to try survive the maze. Some had been there for 2 years, others 2 weeks. They survived on what the lift supplied them with and all was good and well until the lift started to bring nothing. My favourite character was probably Minho because he was always looking for a way out and came up with some pretty interesting plans. My favourite part of the book was when Thomas ran into the maze while the doors were closing. My least favourite part of the book was when they were sitting around and just talking because there was no action. I would recommend this to anyone 12 and over and I give it a 10/10.

    Like

  7. Stephanie said:

    I could not put this book down! Both times I read ‘The Maze Runner’ I was captivated and didn’t stop reading for hours on end. The story starts with Thomas waking up in a metal box and the only thing he can remember is his name. When he gets out of the box, his journey starts. He is surrounded by boys who are on the same page as he is. They are trapped in the middle of a dark and spooky maze and the only way out is to solve it. What follows is so action packed and mysterious that you can’t wait to find out everything that is going to happen. You can easily feel for all the characters, as they are so relatable. I would recommend it for anyone looking for a goo book to read over the age of 13. I give it 11/10!

    Like

  8. Sarah said:

    I enjoyed the books way more than the movies. I loved the concept of telepathy to make it more of a supernatural book. It is action packed and has little plot twists all throughout the book. It reminds me of the Divergent series and the Hunger games series which I loved also. I loved how they included a bit of romance too, because who doesn’t love a bit of spice in an action book. I’d recommend it to anyone who likes action packed books. 9/10 :)))

    Like

  9. The maze runner is a amazing book that I really enjoyed reading. This book has a lot of adventure, action and thrill and is a real roller coaster ride. The maze runner is narrated by Thomas who has suddenly woken up in an elevator which lands him in a space with all boys that is surrounded by a maze. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time and you will not want to put the book down once you start reading. I would recommend this book to anyone as it is a great book. I would rate this book a 10/10.

    Like

  10. Manna said:

    WICKED is good…. or is it?
    This book, like the monster-mad maze it pulls us into, is full of lots of twists, turns and surprises (some of them stomach-turning, others heart-enriching). With no memories to tell them what they were or should now be, the boys have created new lives in this strange world. Those lives are governed by just three rules set down by Alby: Do your part. Never hurt another Glader. And never go beyond the walls. There are exceptions. Appointed “runners” dash through a slit that during daylight hours appears in a giant gate, exploring what lies beyond—a maze, it turns out. They’re looking for a way out of its tangle, but it’s dangerous work: The maze is full of twists and drops and worse, and the gate closes up tight at night. They have to return to the Glade before that happens. Because no one who’s ever been trapped in the maze overnight has survived.

    Like

  11. This book was a lot of motion going on all at once and also so much depth and detail. It is about one day when a teenager named Thomas wakes up in a glade surrounded by walls and walls; a maze. There are heaps of other boys there too, also food, trees and supplies. He is so confused and worried about all of his surroundings. There are boys there younger and older than him. My favourite character is Chuck because he was so joyful and kind the whole book, like if anyone else was in that glade for ages they’d be angry and distressed. The book includes sci-fi, possibly futuristic actions, adventure and romance. I recommend 11+ as it does include coarse language.

    Like

  12. N.Reid said:

    I extremely enjoyed reading this book, and this series. It was much better than watching the movie, even though the move characters were very good looking!!!! It was full of drama, action, thrillness, romance and comedy. The ending was very unexpected and I was on the edge of my seat, during the whole book. I recommend it to all ages, and I would rate it 7/10!!!

    Like

  13. This is an amazing book! I would recommend it to anyone, whether you like to read or not and it is so hard to put down! It is not only thrilling and exciting but the characters are beautifully developed and its hard not to get attached to the characters. This book had me laughing, crying and holding my breath and they raced through dangerous mazes and fought creatures. I would 100% recommend this to anyone and everyone.

    Like

  14. Grace said:

    It was a great book, but not perfect. It was a book that follows a story line that you can predict, there are a few surprises that really make you question everything and keep reading. the adventure was great, so if you love adventure this is the absolute perfect book for you. There are plenty of action-packed moments. the mystery in the book was small and something that if you got all the clues together and thought about it you would realise them. if you are thinking about reading this book but have seen the movie so your not really sure if you should read the book, read it because the movie leaves out the little but important information. I’m not sold on the book but ‘m definitely not saying no to the book.

    Like

  15. Claire said:

    I really enjoyed the book and movie of the maze runner. Its was so exiting and captivating. When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers , boys whose memories are also gone. Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out and no one’s ever made it through alive. Everything is going to change.Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying. Remember. Survive. Run. The book is invigorating and i recommended it to people who enjoy action and adventure. I’m reading the most current book up to date now and I can’t wait until the net one comes out this September I think. I would rate this a 9 out of 10 and recommend it to people aged 13 and above because there can be some parts difficult to understand.

    Like

  16. Isabel said:

    I love this book. It is filled with adventure and is a real page turner. Everything about this book is great the author has really captured the story line of this book and has used just the right words. I would describe this book as terrifying,Heart pounding and a must read to all that love great adventure books.

    Like

  17. i really enjoyed the series the maze runner! it was very creative and a storyline you never would have thought of! Thomas is a very brave and cunning character and i loved reading from his point of view. this book was full of thrills and adventure and i loved it!!!

    Like

  18. Emily. said:

    The Maze Runner is an adventurous novel. In this novel some of the teenagers / young adults are stranded in a Maze. However they have no idea how they go there, as their memories had been wiped. This novel is set in the future after a plague is set and has killed most humans, but those in the maze. Due to this some of the teens in the maze go insane from the fear, the attacks, or in one case, the memory of the world he had left behind. Main characters are conscientious and risk their lives to save others. This novel is similar to the Hunger Games and recommended to ages 15+.

    Like

  19. I absolutely loved the Maze Runner. It was really hard for me to get into because I was thinking of other books and wanting to read those instead. Eventually I needed something to read and this book was just the thing. It was suspenseful, adventurous and its own version of humour. Can’t wait to finish the second book.

    Like

  20. Dominique said:

    I really loved this book, and I often do love books set in a futuristic era, like divergent and the hunger games. The book was not only very well written, it was also an amazing story line, I found myself on the edge of my seat for almost the whole book, it was a real page turner. I am now currently reading the 3rd book in the series, and it is just as good as the first one. I would definitely record anyone to read it, espicialy fans of The Hunger Games. i would probably rate it 8 or 9/10, because of all the great twists and turns, you never saw any of it coming, it was such a great book, I couldn’t put it down, it only took me about 5 days to read. It is probably in my top 5 books ever.

    Like

  21. Karla said:

    I LOVE this book! It is very similar to divergent and the hunger games, which are books that I thoroughly enjoyed too! The movie has many elements that come together nicely. The love story, adventure and uncertainty of it all make it intriguing. The book differs from the movie, but in my opinion the book is better! I recommend this book to everyone, especially those who enjoy reading books set in a dystopian society. I give this book an 8/10!

    Like

  22. I absolutely LOVE this book!!! It has parts that pump adrenaline through your whole entire body just by reading a line or two, and also contains a lot of suspense. My favourite part of the movie was the night when at the last second, just when the doors were closing, Thomas sprinted for his life to try help Minho get Alby to safety as he had been stung. I like this part because it is very thrilling and exciting, also you just can’t wait to read what will happen next. I also like that part because Thomas reminds me a bit of myself. I am very brave and I could never leave some one to die or leave them behind, not even my worst enemy! My favourite character would be Newt because of his sarcastic humour, his loyalty and just his overall personality. I am very curious like Thomas and Theresa and also try to be the best I can possibly be. I have a lot of will power therefore I can relate to both Thomas and Theresa. I don’t have a least favourite part of the book overall but I did find the start a bit boring a dull because it took a while to get interesting. I wouldn’t change anything because to me, the book is perfect! I would definitely recommend this book to people especially people that are into science fiction and dystopian novels. If you are into that sort of genre you should like this, but we all have our own preferences. I think that the suitable rating for this book would be about 11+ but it depends on the level your at in reading. Also I would rate this book about an 8 and a half out of 10, and I am a harsh judge ;D!

    Like

  23. Jesse said:

    I absolutely LOVE this book because there is so much adventure and its really intriguing and exciting! I couldn’t put the book down because as soon as you read the first page, you’re hooked. The detail and description is this book is incredible and I think James Dashner did a magnificent job. I loved this whole series! I am very grateful that they made a movie and have just realeased Scorch Trials!!! I recommend this book to anyone and everyone!

    Like

  24. The maze runner is about a boy call Thomas who wakes up in an elevator and can’t remember anything but his own name. It is about how he and 60 other boys try to get out of the maze without being brutally killed by the grievers. I recommend this to anyone who loves an action-packed book with lots of emotion.

    Like

  25. Coco B said:

    The Maze Runner was ah-maze-ing! (see what I did there…)
    If you love the Hunger Games, Divergent, Uglies or other dystopian series, you’ll love this too.
    The book tells the story of Thomas. Apart from his name, he knows nothing of his childhood, family or past life at all. He only has his basic instinct to survive.
    Thomas finds himself in the Glade, a safe haven in the midst of the huge Maze. The other people who live there – known as the Gladers – know nothing of their lives or the outside world, just like Thomas.
    Each Glader has a job; there’s Farmers, the Sloppers, and many more. But the one that stands out for Thomas is the Runners. Powerful and fast, each day they go out into the Maze and risk their very lives to find a way out. There is one rule in the Glade – you must never, EVER go out into the Maze, unless you are a Runner. But when two Gladers are out there and the doors are closing, he jumps in to help them. And from there his whole world is yet again tipped upside down.
    This book is jam packed with action and the storyline is ingenious! As with a lot of other books like the ones listed near the top of this review, it wasn’t written very well, but the impeccable plot absolutely makes up for that.
    I have been recommending this book to everyone. It is a must-read! Absolutely outstanding.
    9/10

    Like

  26. Ruby P said:

    The Maze Runner is an a(MAZE)ing book. This book is packed with romance, adventure and thriller. It is about a boy called Thomas who has been sent to live in a Maze by WICKED. WICKED send young boys into a place called the glade to study their brain patterns to save the world from a deadly virus that attacks the brain called The Flare. The boys + one girl must find a way out. My favourite character is Thomas because he is a strong and courageous character as he wanted to become a runner even though he knew the consequences. I would recommend this book to readers over the age of 13 because it is a mature novel but i would rate this book a 9/10.

    Like

  27. Scarlett said:

    The Maze Runner is a fantastic book and series for those who love an adventure. The post apocalyptic setting, may make it seem like any other young adult book, but with its different twists, secrets and surprises along the way, you’ll find you can’t put it down. In this book, my favourite character was Chuck. He has such a loving and kind personality and he reminds me of my younger brother. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves going on a journey with characters and doesn’t mind going on an emotional rollercoaster. 8/10!!

    Like

  28. Skyla Campbell-Gordon said:

    I really enjoyed this book. It was packed with action, adventure, mystery, suspence and drama, and never really calmed down. I liked the creativity of this book, the idea of being in a maze and having to find your way out, and all the adventures on the way. My favourite character was definitely Newt, as i was inspired by his leadership and bravery. If I was new to a maze I would find it very confusing and upsetting, and Newt made this much easier for Thomas, and the other Glader’s. He dealt with problems well and always thought for the whole community instead of just himself. He helped people to fit in, and I admire that, and wish i had that trait. My favourite part of the book was when teresa arrived and they found out they could speak to each other in there minds. I find the concept of this amazing, and wish it was really possible. This would be and awesome talent have and very useful if they need each other. Overall I thought it was an amazing book and definitely recommend it to those who enjoy a lot of action and adventure.

    Like

  29. THE MAZE RUNNER- A great book and film, I think most people have seen it, but if you haven’t then I really recommend you read it or watch it if you don’t like reading (by the way, its got Dylan O’Brien in it 😉 ). This book is action packed, always new things happening, so there’s never boring parts that make you think, “I’m not really enjoying this, why am I reading this….”. It is the first of a series so when you have finished this one you can just get started on the next. The Maze Runner in full of action, adventure and a little bit of romance. Guys if you haven’t read or seen The Maze Runner, then you’re missing out. Its so good and something everyone should read.

    Like

  30. I’ve read all the maze runner books, and can I say it is such a delight. Each book is equally as entertaining but the first book wow, now that was a REAL book! All I really want to say about reading this book is “I’ve been shucked and gone to heaven.” It was so great! Constant questions with great adventures and bromances. It all started in the glad where Thomas woke up with no memory, just like all the other boys had done. They have managed to build a home in the Glade but there is one problem, they are trapped there with one ginormous maze to answer to. They run and run but could not find anything, till now…… This book will keep you griped. I would recommend this to anyone who loves mysteries/adventures. I rate this book a 10/10. All I have left to say is: “Good that.”

    Like

  31. I really enjoyed Maze Runner. It contains plenty of adventure, thriller and lots of cliff hangers.
    When Thomas comes up the lift into the glade he enters an un expected world.
    My favourite part of maze runner is when Thomas gets appointed a runner. This section of the book is very exciting and I feel like Thomas would be very proud of hi achievement. In the beginning the people in the glade don’t really like Thomas. They have to get to know him. As they learn more about Thomas strange things start happening. So some gladers still aren’t sure about him. As they lose their memories when they enter the glade, Thomas has no memory of his past life so he can’t justify himself about who he really is.
    Maze runner tells the story of the gladers against all odds passing the first phase of the trials.
    Towards the end it gets hard for them but as a group they push through together and make it out. the maze runner has two sequels that go along with it so the adventure doesn’t just stop after the maze runner. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys books like the Hunger Games, it is packed with adventure and is a great read!

    Like

  32. I really enjoyed the book and movie of the maze runner. Its was so exiting and captivating. When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers , boys whose memories are also gone. Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out and no one’s ever made it through alive. Everything is going to change.Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying. Remember. Survive. Run. The book is invigorating and i recommended it to people who enjoy action and adventure. Rate 8/10.

    Like

  33. Melina. said:

    I recently had the pleasure of reading this, and goodness me it was wonderful. A storyline that thrusts you straight into the action, where you know no more of what is happening in the mysterious Glade than the protagonist, Thomas. An intricately woven story that kept me guessing until the very end, and itching to read the second instalment in this series. A solid 9.5//10 this time (I was extremely close to giving it a 10).

    Like

  34. I really loved reading the Maze Runner and I literally couldn’t put it down. I loved the way the book was set and how it was planned out. This book is such an adventure book as it is about a group of teenagers who get sent to a place called the Glade. When these teenagers get sent to the Glade they have no memory of their previous life. The main character of the book is a courageous boy called Thomas who believes that he can figure a way out of the maze. This book is packed full of adventures and is a book that keeps you half off your seat. This is an amazing book and I would recommend this book for people 13+.

    Like

  35. I really enjoyed the book The Maze Runner, I thought it was a really interesting concept, something I had never heard of before, it wasn’t similar to any other movies so I really liked that. My favourite parts in the book is when he is exploring the maze because each time he gets closer to how they are going to get out and it’s really exciting. My favourite character is Chuck, he is really cute and I like how he and Thomas become really good friends. I like how much mystery is in the book, and you are constantly wondering what is going to happen. It was a bit scary at times but that’s what made it exciting. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys reading sci-fi sort of novels, I give it a 9/10!

    Like

  36. The Maze Runner is about a boy called Thomas who wakes up in a Glade surrounded by strangers and can only remember his name. All of the other boys have forgotten everything but their names as well. He is a very curious character who all he wants is to get out. Beyond the Glade is an ever changing maze with creatures inside called Grievers. The boys try to tell Thomas what is out there and that he should definitely not go in because no one ever survives a night in the maze but the only way he can find out is by going in. Everything changes when a girl wakes up in the lift thing a remembers Thomas. I found this book impossible to ever put down and I couldn’t wait till the movie came out and when it did I loved just as much as I loved the book. So if you think the movie is good, wait until you read the book. I definitely rate this book a 10/10!!!

    Like

  37. Georgia said:

    I have just finished reading this book, and I throughly enjoyed every moment of it! It is about a group of boys who live in a glade surrounded by an enormous maze, filled with terrifying creatures. Until a girl arrives with a very interesting message. My favourite characters are Thomas and Newt. Both are so intriguing and deep characters. This book is full of action, suspense and is impossible to put down! I recommend this book to everyone and I rate it a 9/10 🙂

    Like

  38. rylee said:

    The maze runner is a action packed book that has entertained many around the globe. This book that will make your heart pound in many ways. The maze runner is about a boy called Thomas and he wakes up in a box that opens up into the glade tat is surrounded by a maze but this isn’t just any old maze, this maze moves at night.

    Like

  39. The Maze Runner is one of my all time favourite books. The plot line is so interesting and the characters are all quite interesting. I quite like how they all have their own special characteristic that really defines them. I thought it was quite creative how James Dashner (author) named all the characters after famous scientists. I thought that was quite exceptional. My favourite character is Newt because he is quite an outstanding character. He is assertive yet stubborn, and I think that really defines him as a leader in the glade. I love all the other characters too but Newt really stood out to me. I love this novel and I’d rate it a 9/10!

    Like

  40. I really enjoyed this book I think it has an amazing story line and is written beautifully. This book did take me a while to get into it but i perservered and it ended up dragging me in and making not want to put the book down. I would highly recommend this book to anyone year 7 or 8 and I would give it a 10/10

    Like

  41. Grace said:

    This book was so engaging and quite much more detailed than the movie. It can be a little confusing at times, but it’s always filled with action and adventure. It is beautifully written by James Dashner. It is thrilling, exciting, intriguing and nerve racking at times, but overall it’s an incredible storyline. I would rate it an 8/10.

    Like

  42. I loveddddddd this book, I really enjoyed it however at times it took me awhile to get into it. I really give credit to the director for the creative storyline, it’s truly different and unique to any other film I have watched! I am now reading the second book because I found it so interesting! I highly recommend the book 10/10 and I recommend this book to ages 10+

    Like

  43. I really enjoyed this book because it has and amazing storyline filled with action and adventure. I loved how beautifully James Dashner has written this book. I am currently reading the the second book in the series and it is absolutely amazing. Overall I would give this book a 10/10.

    Like

  44. Lauren Saunders said:

    This book is an adventurous story. The author has really outdone himself. This book is about a boy named Thomas who has been sent into a thing called the glade where there is many boys. The glade is surrounded by a giant maze in which the boys from the glade go into to find a way out. Every night the doors to the maze close and Thomas and the other boys are stuck in the glade. No one has ever survived a night in the maze. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves action and drama stories.

    Like

  45. I would recommend this book to everyone! It was very engaging and i didn’t want to put it down, it’s a great thriller. The movie makes more sense than the book so I would recommend to watch the movie first then read the book. It’s very exciting and once you start you won’t want to stop!

    Like

  46. Siobhan said:

    The book the Maze runner was a good read but I struggled to get into it at times. It could also be a little confusing at times with certain characters and situations. I watched the movie before I read the book but I would probably recommend doing it in the reverse order that way the movie would make more sense. The book really had a hunger games type feeling about it which some may like though I wasn’t quite a complete fan of this. This is a adventure sci-fi type book and I would rate it 6/10

    Like

  47. charli said:

    The maze runner is a great book! Many people think that it’s not worth reading the book because they have already seen the movie but thats not the case. I enjoyed both the book and the movie so much but I recommend reading this book if you haven’t already. This is an amazing novel because of how it is written, I just couldn’t put this book down, I was in suspense the whole ooh and on the edge of my seat waiting to read the next page. My favourite character was thomas because of the courage he showed throughout the whole novel, but I also liked chuck because he cared about everyone and helped Thomas out a lot. I rate this book a 9/10 because of how deep and entertaining it was!

    Like

  48. Alyssa said:

    The Maze Runner was an amazing book! The author writes in such a way that you are in suspense for the whole novel. The fact that all the characters are trapped in a mysterious maze, filled with dangerous creatures, made the book so exciting and compelling. As the story goes on, you learn new theories as to how to escape the maze. This again, adds to the adventure and suspense.
    Although, at first I was a little confused with the way the gladers spoke, but I became used to it soon enough.
    My favourite character would have to be Thomas. He is so brave and intelligent, and is a courages character. I recommend this book to readers aged 12+, who like adventure and mystery novels.
    I rate this book a 10/10, as the mystery surrounding how to escape the maze makes the reader not want to put the book down.

    Like

  49. WHAT A GREAT BOOK!
    I enjoyed it so much that I could not stop reading!
    Its a story about boys who get sent into this place called the glade where each month they get fresh supplies and a newbie. That month it was Tomas. But as soon as Tomas arrived everything started to change.
    My favourite character would have to be Tomas. He is so positive that there is a way out and is really loyal to everyone especially because he had saved so many people.
    This one of my favourite books of all time!
    I would recommend this book for anyone over the age of 12 as it contains mature scenes and violence.
    I ratye this a 10/10!!!!

    Like

  50. Isabella said:

    I absolutely loved the maze runner it was exciting and had so much tension, when it finished I wanted to know more and more. I found that this movie made me intrigued and nervous at the same time. It didn’t take me long to relies that I have started to like a new genre….SCI-FI. I do not have a favourite part of the movie I just love it all. My favourite character is Teresa, she is kind and caring, but I also love Tomas as he is outgoing and responsible. I would recommend this book to readers over the age of 14 because it is very grown-up novel but yet I would rate this book a definite 10/10.

    Like

  51. Olivia said:

    I LOVE THE MAZE RUNNER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I love this book so much I literally did not know what to do with my life any more when I had finished it. I love how all there memory’s are gone so it’s like instead of you learning about there past life as you go on through the book, you are finding out everything at the same time as he is so it gives the feeling like you are the character when your reading this book. I have two favourite characters because they are kind of like a pair and they are awesome because they can communicate telepathically and after I found this out in the book I was trying to communicate telepathically with my friends unfortunately it didn’t work but any way my favourite characters are Tom and Teresa. James Dashner is officially my favourite author and considering how many books I’ve read that is really high praise. My friends get so annoyed when I go on about how they should read it and it’s the best thing ever because it’s like the only thing I talk about. I would recommend this to people that Love adventure, divergent and are 11 or older because it is a bit violent. I rate this 10/10!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  52. Laila said:

    I absolutely loved the maze runner it was thrilling and Exciting. I found that James Dashner had me excited, intrigued and nervous at the same time. It didn’t take much time for me to realise that i had Been attached with the world of the maze. My favourite part of this book was when Teresa comes in and all of the boys are shocked. My favourite character is Teresa, she is Kind and different everything i want to be. If i could change anything in this book it wouldn’t be anything! I would recommend this book to readers over the age of 12 because it is a mature novel but i would rate this book a definite 10/10.

    Like

  53. I recommend the book ‘Maze Runner’ by James Dashner. This novel was closely related to the movie which was released not that long ago. I really enjoyed reading Maze Runner because it was one of those books where it was impossible to put down, and you could read it for hours. It’s about Thomas who arrives in a place known as the Glade, left with no memories except his name. He meets other teenage boys called Gladers who have created a community surrounded by a gigantic maze. The only way out is through the maze, but in the maze there are creatures with the intention to kill anyone in their path. The novel is about determination, and the will to survive. I really loved the novel and rate it 10/10, it is truly a great story, and I recommend it to everyone to read, because it has a bit of everything: Adventure, romance and self determination.

    Like

  54. Adriana.ks said:

    I would recommend this book to anyone 12+ as it doesn’t matter how old you are the book will drag you in from the first page. It’s full of action, mystery and even a bit of romance. The Maze runner will keep you guessing every page. If you enjoyed reading “The Hunger Games” Series or even the “Divergent” series you will love “The Maze runner” Book and series. Even the ending surprised me so much I cried a bit and almost threw the book across the room! If it’s possible I would give it a 11/10. Happy Reading!

    Like

  55. I LOVE THIS MOVIE! What a great director and what a great author! I have watched this movie 5 times now and almost know every line, this movie is adventurous, creepy and nail biting! The storyline of this movie is a bunch of young kids who are transported to a maze they can’t remember anything only their name and they have to try and find a way out of this humungous maze. As I sad this movie is nail biting and will keep you on the edge of your seat!!!!! So what are you waiting for GO WATCH IT!!!! I rate this movie a 10/10

    Like

  56. Marisa said:

    The Maze Runner is a great book. If you like The Hunger Games, you will definitely LOVE this book. It’s characters are wonderful and the plot is one of the most thought out plots of a book I’ve ever read. There is action, adventure and romance. I also recommend watching the movie for it, as it is pretty accurate. I would rate this book 9/10.

    Like

  57. Claire said:

    The maze runner! This book reminded me of the hunger games because you have to survive and test your survival skills which i love to read about. This book had a twist to it that made it even better.They have to complete a maze to be set free…but it is not that easy as it seems, there are creatures in the maze that could kill you and the maze changes over night…but i can’t tell you more you have to read it to find out! i also recommend watching the movie, after reading the book.

    Like

  58. I really enjoyed the book and movie of the maze runner. Its was so exiting and captivating. My favourite character was Chuck because he was funny or Thomas because he was always taking risks. I would recommend this to people who like adventure. I rate this a 8/10

    Like

  59. Emily said:

    I enjoyed this book soooo much!!!!!!!!! This book was full of action, suspense and drama!!!! I absolutely loved this series. It is full of thrills and unexpected turns. It is beautifully written as you can really see what the main character Thomas is feeling!!!!! i suggest you read this book it is amazing!!!!!!!!!!! I give it a 9/10 READ READ READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  60. I reccomend The Maze Runner by James Dashner. This book is packed with a mixture of romance and thrill. When I was reading it I couldn’t put it down. If you liked reading “The Hunger Games” or “Divergent” i highly suggest you read this book. You really can understand how the main character Thomas is feeling. This book is full of twist and turns. READ THIS BOOK! You won’t be dissapointed.

    Like

  61. Gemma said:

    The Maze Runner is an awesome book!! It’s a very engaging book and i didn’t want to put it down. Its full of thriller and adventure. Tomas, the main character is fearless and wants to be a runner. Can anything stop him?? Read it to find out! i rate it a huge 10!!

    Like

  62. The maze runner
    wow, thats one word that just about sums up the whole book! but theres more, thrilling amazing exciting scary phenomenal stunning terrifying exhilarating! i just couldn’t stop, this book kept me up for several nights in a row, even after i was finished i just lay in bed thinking about it! my favourite part was at the end of each chapter when you had a phrase that left you thinking and sucked you into the next chapter! my favourite characters was Newt and Thomas! they where both fearless and thats what i loved about them, from the moment your eyes read the first sentence you will immediately fall in love with not only the book but the characters and everything in between! i would definitely recommend this book to anyone who loved twilight, harry potter, hunger games those types of books where you cant pick out a bad part of it! so definitely a 10/10
    READ IT!

    Like

  63. Paris said:

    This by far is my favourite book and will be forever more. It is about a boy called Thomas who has been sent to live in a Maze by WICKED which stands for World In Catastrophe Killzone Experiment Department. They send young boys into a place called the glade to study their brain patterns to save the world from a deadly virus that attacks the brain called The Flare. The boys + one girl must find a way out of this place. I would give this a 100/10!!! James did a great, wait, AMAZING job with this series and if anyone else loves it as much as I do then I would by far recommend the whole series. There is a second book called The Scorch Trials, a third book called the Death Cure and a fourth book which is called the prequel, called The Kill Order. BUT WAIT, THERE IS MORE. I am estatic that James is currently writing a second prequel of the gladers called The Fever Code which will be released in late 2016. My favourite characters are Teresa and Newt. I really like how James Dashner (the author) related this book to our near future which is most likely for this to happen soon. I can’t wait for more. oh, and one other thing, NEWT IS MINE :-0 ❤❤❤

    Like

  64. Alexandra C said:

    The maze runner! This book reminded me of the hunger games because you have to survive and test your survival skills which i love to read about. This book had a twist to it that made it even better.They have to complete a maze to be set free…but it is not that easy as it seems, there are creatures in the maze that could kill you and the maze changes over night…but i can’t tell you more you HAVE to read it to find out! i also recommend watching the movie.

    Like

  65. Many people may consider not reading this book as they have already seen the movie. I love the movie the maze runner… But I must stress that the book is COMPLETELY DIFFERENT to the movie. These changes into include order and occurring of events, characters and just most of the story line was changed. Anyway…. This is an AMAZING book. It isn’t a terribly hard read and is definitely page turning. I was so hooked that I read over 150 pages in one night!!!! The author was very smart by dropping a twist the very last sentence of a chapter, which just makes you want to read even more!!! The story line revolves around 50 boys being put into the centre of a maze, where they are trapped and cannot remember anything about there personal lives before they entered the maze. They all have a common goal, to escape the maze. Thomas becomes a runner, people who run and solve the maze. I will not tell you any more as I do not want to spoil the story. I would recommend the book to people 13+. Great read and I really think you will love it!

    Like

  66. This is such an awesome and fantastic movie and book. This is a story of a boy named Thomas who wakes up in Glade. (The Glade is a big square where roughly 50 boys live (called Gladers) and it is the center of a huge Maze.) Thomas wants to become a runner ( a person who runs through the maze and maps it so that the other Gladers are able to find a way out) Thomas goes through many challenges while he is in the Maze. The novel is the story of how Thomas and the other Gladers make their way out of the maze and reach the outside world. This was such a captivating book that was really hard to put down.The Maze Runner is part of a series so you can read about Thomas and his journey all you want. This is a must read book and defiantly a must see movie! I rate this book 10 stars and recommend it to all people who love a good action packed movie.

    Like

  67. The Maze Runner is a fantastic book. The basic story is of a boy named Thomas who wakes up in an elevator/cage that is hurtling towards the celling. When Thomas reaches the top he enters the Glade. The Glade is a big square where roughly 50 boys live (called Gladers) and it is the center of a huge Maze. Thomas wants to become a runner who is someone that runs the maze and maps it so that the other Gladers are able to find a way out. Thomas goes through many challenges while he is in the Maze. but one big upset is that a girl arrives in the Glade which has never happened before and a note that says “She’s the last one”. The novel is the story of how Thomas and the other Gladers make their way out of the maze and reach the outside world. Many of you may have seen the movie and don’t want to bother reading the book but I would highly recommend reading it because it builds up the character’s stories so much more than in the movie and you build stronger relationships with the characters. I read this book in 2 days because I was so captivated and I couldn’t put it down. This novel is one of my favourites.If you were left hanging at the end of the movie when they said “Now we begin phase two”, luckily The Maze Runner is part of a series so you can read about Thomas and his journey all you want.

    Like

  68. I loved the “Maze Runner” it was a great book with lots of action packed moments. This book had me glued I didn’t want to put it down. My favourite character was defiantly “Chuck” though I felt sorry for him being one of the youngest to enter the maze he almost always seemed happy and bubbly. I can’t really relate to Chuck as in the hard situations Chuck is pretty optimistic where as I am the one screaming “we are all going to die”. My favourite part is when “Thomas” runs into maze and I would tell you the next part but I don’t want to spoil the book for you. This book is a very action packed adventure type of book, it is very intense and thrilling. It can be a little scary at times but it’s defiantly a great read. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a good mystery or action over the age of 11.

    Like

  69. I really enjoyed this book because it has some adventure, thriller and romance in it. It’s set in the future after a plague is killing of everyone on earth, so they must learn to survive while trapped in the Glade. My favourite part of the book is when Thomas, the main character, becomes a runner, and goes into the huge maze with destructive creatures that lurk in the maze. It’s a very exciting book and you get to know all the characters in it. My favourite character is probably Chuck, the young boy who is also trapped in the Glade, because he is the funniest and has a bit of attitude. He helps Thomas a lot in the Glade and brings a bit of happiness to the place where it seems hopeless at times. I can relate a bit to Chuck also, because he’s funny and tries to make the best of the situation. I am also a bit like Thomas because I also want some adventure and would have probably wanted to become a runner and I also would do anything for the people close to me. My least favourite part of the book might be when they are just waiting around in the maze discussing their plans to go in the maze, because it’s not as exciting as when they are running through the maze trying to escape and killing the Grievers (monsters in the maze). I wouldn’t change anything in the book because I love the characters, the setting and the storyline is very interesting. I would definitely recommend this book to others because it’s really interesting with great characters and will keep you interested throughout the whole book. It has huge twists and you won’t be able to put it down until you’ve read it all. I would recommend it to people who like books like “The Hunger Games” and “Divergent”; futuristic dystopian novels. Probably for 14+ people.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

