The blog for books and movies

Welcome to the story of Despereaux Tilling, a mouse who is in love with music, stories, and a princess named Pea.

It is also the story of a rat called Roscuro, who lives in the darkness and covets a world filled with light.

And it is the story of Miggery Sow, a slow-witted serving girl who harbors a simple, impossible wish.

These three characters are about to embark on a journey that will lead them down into a horrible dungeon,

up into a glittering castle, and, ultimately, into each other’s lives.

katedicamillo

nehouse

Comments on: "The tale of Despereaux – Kate DiCamillo" (8)

  1. The Tale of Despereaux is a story about a mouse who is extremely small with extremely large ears. He lives in a castle with many other mice, Despereaux is different. He does not like a ‘normal’ mouse does. He enjoys the sound of music in his ears and loves reading books. The council of mice did not like this so he was thrown into a dungeon. Until he meets a princess, Princess Pea.

    The story The Tale of Despereaux is definitely one I need to read again. The writer, Kate DiCamillo, really tries to get the audience involved by asking questions throughout the book such as ‘What would you do?’ e.t.c. I really enjoyed reading this book. I think it is really different to something I have read before and I definitely recommened this book to anyone of any age who can read.

    Like

  2. I love the book The Tale of Despereaux written by Kate DiCamillo. I like this book because it is a bit on the quirky side which pulls me in even more. My favourite part in this book is when Despereaux realises that he is the only one that will be able to save the Princess. My favourite character is Despereaux because even though he is a mouse, he has a big heart and he has a longing for adventure. I can relate to Despereaux because he is the smallest of his family and I am the youngest of mine. Just like him, I also love an adventure. My least favourite part of this book is when Miggery Sow gets sucked in by the Rat and does everything he tells her to do, which is almost fatal to everyone. I recommend this books to others because it is not like any other book I have ever read. It is about a mouse who goes on an adventure to try and help the kingdom. The type of person that would like this book is a person who likes reading the different books and who loves a good adventure.

    Like

  3. Emily said:

    The book The Tale of Desperreaux is amazing.
    When I saw everyone in my class reading this book and talking about how good it was I thought that I should start reading it.
    The book is mainly about Despereaux learning about the true meaning of love.
    This book is written for older children between ages of 12+
    I would have to rate the book as 8/10

    Like

  4. Hannah said:

    Aha, i just love this book and there is a movie and you should watch that but i think you should read the book first and books always go into more detail in places anyway. This book is bond to make you laugh it is very funny, this book is adventures and very cheeky in bits. This book is more likely written for older kids between the ages 12 and up or ages 7 up for parents to read to them. this book rates a 8/10 🙂

    Like

  5. When I first got this book I didn’t know that it would as good as it is. The tale of Despereaux is a great book and if you enjoy it as much as I did then you will want to definitely want to read it at least 3 times. My favourite character is Despereaux’s brother Furlough, because he says some really funny things in the book and is very interesting! When you read the book you will find out why! My favourite part is when Despereaux hears the King playing his guitar to the Princess and he is enchanted by the music. In every section of the book Kate DiCamillo uses fantastic describing words which makes it very easy to picture all the characters in your head. I recommend this book for boys and girls of any age. Even adults can read this book and enjoy it!! Have fun reading about all the adventures Despereaux has!!

    Like

  6. The mice living in the walls of the castle say that Despereaux Tilling was born with his eyes open. They say Despereaux read books, instead of chewing them. Despereaux revealed himself to people while listening to the sweet sound of music. He thought the music sounded like honey. These may sound like myths but they are true, my friend. For showing himself to humans, Despereaux was sent to the dungeon where the evil rats dwell. Will Despereaux escape the dungeon or at least survive? Read The Tale of Despereaux; the story of a mouse, a princess, some soup, and a spool of thread to find out.
    To me, this novel was full of surprises. I loved reading this book over and over again. This book was different because there are four separate stories in this one book. One story is about Despereaux. The other stories are about a rat named Roscuro and a girl named Miggery Sow. The last part of the book connects them all together. My favorite character would have to be Despereaux because he is so adorable and unique. I think that he’s a very special mouse. My favorite part was when Despereaux came out of the dungeon covered in flour and the Mouse Council thought he was a ghost.

    I’d recommend this book to anyone who likes adventurous stories with unlikely heroes.

    Like

  7. really good book loved it so much and there is a movie and i would recommend watching the movie as well my favourite character would have to pea she is funny witty and just plain silly
    I recommend it to everyone it is a great book and film.

    Like

  8. The Tale of Desperreaux is the story of a mouse who is strangely small with abnrmall large ears. He lives in a castle with a community if other mice, but despereaux is different, he doesnt act like an ordinary mouse – he can hear music, and he enjoys it, he reads books in the castle library and dreams of knights fair maidens and honour, but then he is thrown into the dungeon, where there are rats. Here he uncovers an evil plan – to capture the princess ( with whom despereaux is in love with) and keep her in the dungeons forever. Depereaux learns the true meaning of courage friendship and of course love on his treacherous journey. I love the way this book is written – how the author tries to involve the reader, asking them ‘what would you do’ or ‘what do you think’. i think the story of depereaux is a very uplifting story with quite good illustrations. The Tale of Despereaux definitly deserves the John Newbery medal on its cover. I recommend this book for ages 7 up or even for parents to read to kids.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

