The blog for books and movies

love-lies-and-lemon-piesSixteen-year-old Lottie is on a mission to protect her biggest secret, and it’ll take every lie and every baking trick she can muster. Since her dad died, life hasn’t been the same for Lottie.

When the school suggests she joins Bake Club to get her back on track, Lottie reluctantly agrees. The alternative – the school paying her mum a home visit – is not an option. But Lottie’s uncertainty about Bake Club melts away as she rekindles her love of baking and gets caught up with Mac, school rebel and another unwilling Bake Club member.

As the end-of-year Bake Off approaches, the tension rises. Can Lottie keep up the facade of her perfect life? And can her bubbling romance with Mac survive the pressure?

Booktopia

Comments on: "Love, Lies and Lemon Pies – Katy Cannon" (11)

  1. Love, Lies and Lemon Pies was an amazing book, I had to keep reading it until the end and could not put it down. I love that there is a recipe at the start of each chapter, usual a recipe that the bake club were cooking that session. I loved Lottie because I could imagine everything she was doing so clearly and although I did not support some of the decisions she made throughout the book I still found her my favourite character. This book is filled with Romance, Comedy and Drama. It is a book for anyone who loves an easy read and a good book.

    Like

  2. Phoebe M said:

    I absolutely adore this book! The characters are all so different and unique. This book definitely gave me book grief and I just wanted to stay in that world forever. This book had it all, drama, suspense, romance I could go on and on. Overall this book was just amazing and I would recommend it to everyone! I give it a 5/5.

    Like

  3. Grace said:

    This book follows the exciting and sometimes sad life of Lottie! Lottie is a 16year old girl and she loves baking!! Like really loves baking, but since her Dad passed away things have changed a lot in life for her. Her Mum isn’t coping well with her Dad’s passing, and now has started to collect everything, clogging up the kitchen, meaning Lottie can’t bake anymore! But that is only a minor problem Lottie has to face. Lottie joins the school bake club and meets a boy, and thats when things get real complicated for her. She tries to hide all of her problems at home, making life very hard for her and her friends and her boyfriend. Through the book you will meet some amazing characters and fall in love with some of their personalities! The book is full of drama and romance, that makes the book really fun. The book is a delightful read, and if you pick up the book, you won’t be able to put it down until you are finished! One of the best things about the books, is that at the start of each chapter there is a recipe, so you can get baking yourself. I personally recommend the brownies, they are so yum!!! Anyone 11+ should totally read the book!! You are sure to love it!!

    Like

  4. Georgia said:

    OMG I LOVE THIS BOOK SOOOOO MUCH! I saw it in Lit circles last year and I thought I should read it one day. I got the ebook 5 days ago and I am already half way through it. I love the character Lottie and I think she is very brave for copping with her Dad passing away. I also love Mac and I think him and Lottie would make the perfect couple!! If you love romance, baking and a little bit of drama then this is the book for you! I also love how they have recipes for you at the start of each chapter!!! You should definitely read this book. I 100% recommend you read this book you will love it!

    Like

  5. Love, Lies and Lemon Pies was definitely one of my favourite books ever. I loved reading about all the drama, secrets, plot twists and Romance. When Lottie’s grades start slipping, and her positive attitude towards school begins to fade, the principle tells Lottie to join a club to help her get back into the school spirit. She chose to join bake club and ends up getting put with the school delinquent, Mac who was forced to join as the bake club a punishment. Follow Lottie through her tough times, bad boy problems and the competitiveness between her and her peers. It was so interesting to read and follow along on Lottie’s journey on how she goes from a insecure girl to a more confident and brave one. My favourite character was definitely Mac! There were some incredible characters and each and everyone of them had something unique and wonderful about them. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone! I loved it so much and no matter how many times I read it, I still love the whole story.

    Like

  6. Hannah said:

    Love, Lies and Lemon Pies is an amazing and engaging story about a teenage girl, whose life has never been the same since her father died. Her grades started slipping, and her attitude towards school decreased. The principle told Lottie to join a club to help her get back into the school spirit. She chose to join bake club with the school delinquent, Mac was forced to join as a punishment. I followed Lottie through her tough times, bad boy problems and competitiveness. All secrets of the book with be revealed in the book and keep you waiting on the edge of your chair for answers. I thought this book was a great read and I recommend it for ages 11+. I rate this book with a 9/10. It was a great and engaging read and I could barely put the book down.

    Like

  7. Abbey said:

    Love lies and lemon pies is a story about a girl in her teens (Lottie) and how she lives with struggles between her dad passing away, school, baking and boys. She doesn’t fit in at school very well after her dad passed away and she is forced to join bake club at the school and takes in a new hobby which she enjoys a lot more than she thought she would especially after meeting the bad boy of the school. I enjoyed this book and it was really relatable for anyone. this books genre was most definitely romance, chic lit, drama and even suspense! i love how much i could relate to the book and i would definitely recommend it to anyone.

    Like

  8. Phoebe M said:

    Love, Lies and Lemon Pies is such an amazing book. I love all the secrets, drama, plot twists and romance. It follows the story of Lottie, a 16 year old girl that has had some tough times. It was really amazing to watch as Lottie went from an insecure teen to a confident young women. I would give this a 9/10 and recommend it to anyone 8+

    Like

  9. Charlotte Morgan said:

    Love, Lies and Lemon Pies is a wonderful book. There are so many secrets, twists, drama and so much romance. Lottie is a wonderful girl and she is very damaged at the start of the book. It is great to see her grow in to a confident girl. I give this book a 8/10 because it has a amazing story line and is a very romantic book.

    Like

  10. Holly said:

    This book was really great and I just loved it! Love Lies and Lemon pies is an enjoyable book because there are so many little things that happen that you just love to read like all of their little secrets.
    This book is about a girl named Lottie who lost her Dad the year before, which sent her Mum into craziness and started to collect things that she really didn’t need. Lottie lost all of her friends, dropped out of all of her after school activities and her grades dropped as well. Lottie shut out her social life and the principle wanted to get her back out there. Lottie didn’t want whatever her principle had install for her, so Lottie told him that she was joining bake club. He thought it was a great idea. When Lottie went for the first time, someone else was new, his name was Mac. The bad boy of the school, because the principle thought that Lottie’s idea was great, he thought that it would be a great punishment for Mac. Throughout the book you learn secrets from everyone and it makes it so much fun to read!
    I give this a 10/10 because it is just so enjoyable to read and it was so entertaining! I recommend this book to anyone and everyone it’s that good!

    Like

  11. Isabelle G said:

    Love lies and lemon pies is an incredible story about a 16 year old girl named Lottie. Lottie has had some pretty tough times in her life so far and doesn’t seem herself. This story just made me want to read more no matter if I had finished the book or not! There were some amazing characters in this book and each and everyone of them had something unique and wonderful about them. This book has everything romance, suspense, drama and so much ore it is unbelieveable!!! This book has you wanting more from the minute you start and it makes you sit on the edge of your seat throughout the whole book!! I would definitely recommend this book and I would rate it a 4 out of 5!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

