The blog for books and movies

Hey, buster! Normal life is a total yawn. So break out of boredom with multi-million-copy bestselling author Lauren Child, and meet your new favourite heroine… Ruby Redfort: detective, secret agent, thirteen-year-old kid.

Everyone’s favourite kid detective is back for a second mind-blowing instalment, packed with all the off-the-wall humour, action and friendship of the first book. This time, though, it’s an adventure on the wide open ocean, and Ruby is all at sea…

Can she crack the case of the Twinford pirates while evading the clutches of a vile sea monster as well as the evil Count von Viscount?

Well, you wouldn’t want to bet against her…

Amazon

Comments on: "Take your last breath (Ruby Redfort) – Lauren Child" (7)

  1. Aliana said:

    This book is one of my favorites. It’s about a teenaged girl named Ruby Redfort her and her best friend Clancy Crew solve mysteries together. It is that kind of book that keeps you wondering. They are quite thick books and it took me 3 weeks to read it, but it is definitely worth it. There is a whole series of books to read when you’ve finished this one! I really loved it and I love how creative and mysterious it is. It was a really great read and I would definitely recommend it.I really hope that they make movies of this book series one day!

    Like

  2. Maddie said:

    I really enjoyed this book! It had lots of action and was the type of book you didn’t want to put down. The main character Ruby is really interesting and unique making the book different to others and something I wasn’t used to reading. The book was an easy read yet the story was still very age appropriate.
    My favourite part of the book was defiantly the last quarter. This is when the rest of the story was all unfolding and revealing all the answers to mysteries along the way. This part of the book was gripping and was all I could think about until the book was finished.
    My favourite character was Hitch. He was so loyal, down to earth and always seemed to show up just in time.
    My least favourite part of the book was the start. The author took a while to start the main events in the story making it slightly boring reading the first few chapters.
    I defiantly recommend this book to others. Overall it is really enjoyable and captivating.

    Like

  3. Ruby Redfort, an outrageous, funny 13 year old willing to push the boundaries.
    This book is full of mystery and I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a bit of action and adventure. This book, I just couldn’t put down! Lauren child does a fabulous job at writing books with a story line anyone would love. Her stories are packed full of mystery, drama, adventure and much more.
    Ruby is such a brave character and she definitely isn’t afraid of pushing the boundaries, even if it will get her into a lot of trouble. Ruby is every smart kids, smart kid and as she works for the undercover secret agency Spectrum, she is pushed to her limits and her boundaries are definitely tested.
    I would recommend this book for anyone who likes mystery and adventure!

    Like

  4. I think that the Ruby Redfort series is amazing and so relatable because just like myself and other 13 year olds, Ruby is curious and willing to push the boundaries. I think that this book is one of the best ones because it is constantly leaving you on the edge of your seat and lets you discover or unravel the mystery step by step like Ruby. I think that the range of characters and their personalities lets you relate once again, because most books have the stereotypical characters, but Ruby Redfort books have personalities that are more realistic. It is a really well-written book and I think that the author has done a really good job at getting the characters across. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who likes mysteries and agent work stories, or just a bit of adventure, because the book is full of it and also humour! I give it a 9/10.

    Like

  5. Georgia said:

    One word: WOW! Take Your Last Breath is a gripping tale of sea monsters, villains and one crazy spy-kid, Ruby Redfort. With the help of her best friend, Clancy Crew, who knows what will happen? They could end up floating out at sea in a plastic container or face to face with one of Spectrums worst enemies. My favourite character in this book and throughout the series would have to Ruby. She is quirky, funny and fearless. I love that she calls people ‘bozos’. It’s such an addictive book! I would give it a 10/10 because it is such a well-written book. I would recommend it to girls 9+ because there is monsters, attacks and villains in the book. I wouldn’t change anything about the book and, after writing this review, I want to go and read the book all over again!

    Like

  6. Grace said:

    This book is so adventurous and thrill-seeking ! I would recommend this to anyone who likes adventurous, mysterious and thrilling books. Lauren Child always writes incredible books with intriguing story lines. I love how at the beginning it always pulls you into reading more, and I couldn’t put the book down for 2 days until I had finished it. I like it how blacker always has the ‘jelly’ donuts and everyones different personalities at spectrum. My favourite character would have to be LB because of her mysteriousness and there always being more and more to learn about her. I would rate this book a 9/10.

    Like

  7. I recommend Ruby Redford, Take Your Last Breath written by Lauren Child. I really enjoyed this book because it started out really descriptive and had lots of parts where you really were wanting to read on and see what happens next. My favourite part was probably when her and her best friend Clancy saw the evil guys that Ruby had come across in the book before. My favourite character was Ruby because she was so brave and always searching for an adventure. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes adventure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

