The blog for books and movies

Nine of us came here. We look like you. We talk like you. We live among you. But we are not you. We can do things you dream of doing. We have powers you dream of having. We are stronger and faster than anything you have ever seen. We are the superheroes you worship in movies and comic books—but we are real.

Our plan was to grow, and train, and become strong, and become one, and fight them. But they found us and started hunting us first. Now all of us are running. Spending our lives in shadows, in places where no one would look, blending in. we have lived among you without you knowing.

But they know.

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They killed them all.

I am Number Four.

I am next.

Good Reads

Chamberfour.com

Comments on: "I am number 4 – Pittacus Lore" (23)

  1. A friend of mine gave me this book to read because I told her I wanted to watch the movie! I couldn’t be more thankful as it’s such a good book. All of the constant moving, the setting and plot changes and the continuous secret telling keeps the readers so captivated! I enjoyed this book so much and I believe that it is so worth reading the book first and then watching the movie after as it keeps you so much more intrigued and makes the book so much more worth it! I’d recommend this book to any girl at Sacred Heart as it is such a great book!

    Like

  2. This book was absolutely amazing. The characters in the series and the setting and plot were amazing and so imaginative. A friend of mine recommended this book to me and I’m so glad she did because I could not put this book down. The movie is really bad though, so don’t bother watching it. I rate this book eight and a half out of ten.

    Like

  3. I thought that I Am Number Four was a great read and was amazing. It was a great sci-fi novel, which had a lot of alien invasion and other planets, and it always kept you on your toes, turning the next page. My favourite character was Sarah, because in this whole universe with aliens, she is human and tries to help out with what she has. She is very courageous for going through all of this, being a normal girl from a small town who is interested in photography. I think I relate the most to Sarah, she is still finding her way in the world and then John arrives and helps to flip her work upside down whilst finding her way. My favourite part of the book is when Sarah and John go on the Tractor Ride at their local Halloween Fete. This is because we get to see how much both of them care for one another. I loved this novel and all the little intricate details that Pittacus Lore puts into the books, this is why I would not change anything, because it is amazing already. I would recommend this book to people who like science fiction because majority of the book is based in that area, but it also has bit of young love in there too. I rate this book 4.5/5.

    Like

  4. This sci-fi novel was amazing, I’m not usually into aliens or space invasion type books but this one was great it always kept you on your toes and turning the next page. Im kind of jealous of their supernatural abilities like invisibility or lumen. My favourite part of this book is definitely when John figures out that Bernie Kosar isn’t really a dog, but a chimera. This book is so good and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys books with superpowers and a bit of mystery… I rate it 8/10

    Like

  5. Freya said:

    I thought that I am Number Four would not be my type of book and that I won’t really like it but after reading the first chapter I decided that the book would really be a good book. I am really jealous of the Garde from Lorien and because they have really cool powers like becoming invisible and controlling the weather and talking to animals. I think that everything that happened during the book was really exciting and interesting and there was a heap of suspense and tenseness throughout the book which made the book more interesting.
    I think that John Smiths life would be really hard and scary and I think that I would be tense for my whole life.
    I felt really sorry for Sarah because she had to be left behind and I am really hoping that John goes back in the last book to find her and I really like Sam so I hope he doesn’t get killed.
    I think that anyone over 10 should read this book because it is really amazing.

    Like

  6. I thought this book had an interesting idea behind it, which is obviously why I picked it up in the first place. Aliens, awesome powers, super important war coming. And of course that tiny fact that these kids can only die in order of their number. It all sounded like a pretty decent formula. There were a few parts that did let the book down for me slightly. Firstly the protagonist, John Smith (although it is the most generic name in existence don’t worry, there is a reason. Kind of.) never seems to listen to reason. Whenever someone (mostly his mentor, Henri) tries to suggest an idea which he doesn’t like, he will end either ignoring it or (at least on one occasion?) actually making others go along with his plans, which usually ends in disaster or at least failure. I also found his love interest Sarah to be more of a distraction then an actually interesting character. This could of course have been because of my preference for the scenes where ‘John Smith’ either learns something about his enemies or actually develops his powers, since these were what I found to be the most enjoyable parts of the book and what actually drew me to it in the first place. In the end I would say, although not the most amazing form of literature I have ever read I would not tell anybody to pass it by. In fact, if you are looking for something that has adventure, awesome powers and pretty bad odds stacked against the main character (which is always enjoyable- possibly next to die, soon-to-be war, sweet!) I would say, as long as you can stand or actually enjoy a bit of romance, go for it.

    Like

  7. Olivia G said:

    I am Number Four is an amazing book to read! I usually wouldn’t read sci-fi books and I’m not a big fan of them but I got sucked into this book as soon as I read the first page. I love how its got an incredible mix of adventure and romance. That’s what I think really bought this book to life. The storyline of this book is about a planet called Lorien that gets attacked. Nine Garde (children with inhumane powers) and 9 Cepan (protectors of the Garde) escape to Earth, but before they went they were each given a number and the elders of Lorien cast a charm on them that means they must be killed in that order. They caught one in Malaysia, two in England and three in Kenya. John is number four and he knows he’s next.
    9/10.

    Like

  8. Lincoln R said:

    “I am number four” was written by Pittacus Lore and I loved this book!
    To me “I am number four” really brought sci-fi to life with lots of action, adventure and romance.
    I enjoyed this book because it described how other aliens out there might be living and one day they might take refuge here on our planet, Earth.
    My favourite part in “I am number four” would have to be the battle scene at the high school in Ohio.
    I would recommend this book to everyone looking for a good adventure book to read.
    I would rate this book 9/10.

    Like

  9. This was not the best book i have ever read but i couldn’t put it down which is kinda confusing but true
    this was such a griping series and have read ‘ I am the power of 6’ which is very confusing because its story is between to people. Overall i really enjoyed reading the story and found that it was really interesting as to how this had ended. 7/10

    Like

  10. Coco B said:

    This is such a great book! I don’t usually read sci-fi type books, and am not a big fan of them, but I really loved ‘I Am Number Four’.
    This book has a mix of action, sci-fi and romance, which surprisingly complement each other quite well! The main gist of the story is that far from here is a life-sustaining planet, not unlike Earth, named Lorien. When it was attacked, nine young Garde children (people with inhumane powers of strength, mind control and so on) and nine Cepan (protectors of the Garde) escaped Lorien in a rocket and landed on Earth. But before they left, they were each given a number, and the Lorien elders cast a charm on the nine children; they must be killed in order of their numbers. Three are dead, and John is Number Four.
    It was such a good book, but my only objection is towards the simple way it was written.
    It was an experience to read and I will definitely be reading the next book in the series! 7/10

    Like

  11. I am number 4 is a fantastic book and movie. It describes all the characters with lots of detail.This book has a lot of fighting scenes in it. The best part was when four,six and Henri were against the Mogadorians in the High school. I can really relate to number six because of the situations she has been put through and that is also why she is my favourite character in the book.I found that the worst part was when Henri died trying to save four that was really sad, it was weird how when people from there planet die they just turn into dust and disappear. If I wrote the book that would be the part I would change.I would definitely recommend this book and the movie I am number 4 to others, especially to people who like science fiction books and extra terrestrial books. I would rate this book an 8/10 because after reading this book I think there is still some unfinished business that need to be dealt with.

    Like

  12. it was an interesting book! i didn’t really like Pittacus Lore’s writing style so i haven’t read the rest of the series. it was an ok book. Action, adventure and romance, my favourite genre but they way it was put together in the story wasn’t the best!

    Like

  13. Makayla said:

    I Am Number Four has to be one of my all time favourite novels. The creativity and thought that went into the novel was completely worth it because I do not think I put it down after I started reading it, I’ll admit it starts off a bit slow and if you are not into science fictions then it is a hard book to wrap your head around. However, once the concept of the novel is explained it’s very hard to not become addicted to it. My favourite character had to be Sam. Sam is just a loveable character, someone who you can not really find a fault in and become easily attached to. The fact that Lore wrote it so that Four and Sam were teamed up in an action packed thriller made it all the more interesting. If you’re looking for adventure with a hint of romance and mystery, I Am Number Four is the perfect book for you – for any age.

    Like

  14. I found this book to be really action packed but it still held it’s fair share of humour and small jokes. Henri was quite amusing in his passive aggressive ways when it came to him getting what he wanted. He tended to display this “quality” of his when it came to trying to calm down his Garde, 4 (or John the majority of the time in this book.) Altogether I would recommend this to teens and adults as, although the book has amazing action scenes and funny jokes, kids may not understand the majority of the book.

    Like

  15. I recently read this book and absolutely loved it! I loved the way it was mysterious and thrilling at the same time as well as incorporating some romance. My favourite part of the book is when John meets Sarah because he has been running and hiding and thinking about being killed so much that he hasn’t had a real chance at life and when he meets Sarah she gives him that chance. I think my favourite character would have to be Sam because of the fact that he is a nerd obsessed with aliens and he becomes friends with an alien and tries to find his Dad. My least favourite part of the movie is when Henri dies because I think he could have helped John in his journey in the future although I did like the way the author described his death. I wouldn’t change anything about this book because it is really well written and interesting. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a book which keeps them on the edge of their seat and to anyone who likes science fiction or alien books. I would rate this book a 10/10

    Like

  16. I loved this book and movie so much!!! It was so exciting, funny and mysterious that I could never put it down. It is action packed with love and drama and I loved every minute of it. I loved all of the characters included in this books because they were all so different but connected in the same way. I would recommend this book/movie to anyone who loves lots of action, with a bit of romance. I would have to say that it might be a bit scary for some people who are seeing it for the first time. I would rate this book/movie 10/10!!

    Like

  17. I am reading I am number 4 by Pittacus Lore. I really am enjoying this book a lot, it is an action packed book full of adventure and romance. It is about a teen boy named John who is number 4, who came from an outer space world named Lorien, escaping from the Mongorians who are trying to kill him, but they have to be killed in order…… three are dead, John is number 4. I am finding this book really enjoyable and I am always left on the very edge of my seat wondering what would happen next. Some pages are really scary, which made the book even more interesting. I can’t wait to see the movie! I reccommend this to any gender over 10, as some parts are a bit graphic. I rate this book 9/10, and I would highly recommend it!

    Like

  18. sarah coutin said:

    I love this book it the second one to the series of i am number 4 its a mix of romance,adventure and science fiction. John(number 4), number 6 and Sam are on the search for the rest of the people who came from Lorien so they can team up together and become powerful enough to beat the Mongorians who are trying to kill them. They are also searching for Sam’s father which they suspect may have been abducted by the Mongorians. John was forced to leave Sarah behind and was starting to have thought on whether or not she was the right one for him. At the end of the book john and six split up and six discovers that there was a second ship that escaped from Lorien. The book leaves you on a cliff hanger so there has to be a third book. i really enjoyed this book and strongly recommend it.

    Like

  19. I just finished reading I am Number 4 and I absolutely loved it. My favourite character would have to be Sarah because she is smart and really kind. I can’t really relate to any of the characters because I am not an alien and I am not dating an alien and my dad was not abducted by aliens. I do not want to change anything in this book because it all works well together. At the start of the book it says that the author is an alien who fell upon the story of number 4, I personally don’t really believe this but it is your opinion. Normally I don’t read science fiction stories but this book changes all of that. I can’t wait to read the sequel and watch the movie.

    Like

  20. Olivia said:

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!
    I waited about 3 weeks for this book to come available at the library. I had seen the movie with my cousins and wanted to read the book to see if it were the same as the movie 🙂 I would probably say read the book before you watch the movie. Some parts are different and some parts don’t even exist. I loved I am number 4 so much that I got my Mum to order The Power Of Six (the sequel) for me. If your interested in aliens and all the spooky stuff watch I AM NUMBER 4! You will absolutely LOVEEE it!!

    I rate this book 9 / 10
    :):):):):):):):):):):):):)

    Like

  21. Brittany said:

    I would definitely recommend this book to everyone who is into aliens and things like that. Basically there are 9 children, with special powers who fled their home planet from the Mogadorians. I thought the movie was absolutely amazing, If you like Glee, Diana Agron stars as Sarah, John’s love interest. Three of the nine children are dead, and Number Four, John, is next to die. I am usually not into the alien type books, but since my cousin forced me to watch the movie i loved it. Someone put a spell on the children, the spell was that they must be killed in order. For example if they kill number 6 before number 4 the curse would rebound on the Mogodorians. It also has adventure, action and romance all wrapped up in one so if you like those type of genres or love alien books. I am number four is definitely for you.

    Like

  22. At the moment i am reading i am number four by Pittacus Lore. I have only read five chapters so far and can already tell that it is going to be a great book. If you love reading about adventures and drama, i am number four would be a great book for you.

    Like

  23. I recommend the book (soon to be) series I am Number Four.
    It is being turned into a film in Feb 2011 starring Alex Pettyfer (Wild Child) and Dianna Argon (Glee)
    Blurb:
    Nine teenagers and their guardians are hiding on Earth … protected by a charm that means they can only be killed in numeric order, three are already dead. John Smith is Number Four. And his mortal enemies, the Mogadorians, are hunting him down.

    The only way to keep off their radar is to keep moving, never staying in one place for long. Now in the firing line, all he can do is adopt the guise of a student and pray his unusual gifts, his legacies, stay hidden long enough for him to settle into this new community.

    But others seem to sense his otherness and when small-town life sucks him into its intrigues, it’s only a matter of time before his true nature is revealed. And that means there’s no space for love, friendship or a future if it means protecting not only himself, but the other five as well…
    It is a awesome book sad, happy and exciting

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

