The blog for books and movies

Thomas and the rest of the group’s escape from the Maze and the horrifying creatures called Grievers has proven to be short-lived because WICKED, the group behind it all, has another trial in store for them. Sun flares have destroyed most of the Earth, and a virus called the Flare has ravaged its population. Infected people turn into zombies called Cranks that attack and eat one other. The kids are told that they have the Flare but if they succeed in surviving the second trial, they will be cured. With few supplies, they must travel across 100 miles of hot and scorched land within two weeks to reach a safe house to receive the cure. When Teresa, Thomas’s best friend and the only girl in the group, disappears, and he loses the ability to communicate telepathically with her, he and the other guys determine to find her. As they trek across the barren desert encountering crazed Cranks, the teens’ loyalty to one another and the group is tested.
Amazon

Comments on: "The scorch trials (Maze Runner) – James Dashner" (24)

  1. Stephanie said:

    ‘The Scorch Trials’ is an action packed sequel to ‘The Maze Runner’. I literally could not put it down. I wanted to finish the book as quickly as possible, to find out what would happen at the end. The book takes you on a rollercoaster journey, and has so many twists and turns that you never no what is going to happen next. The characters in this book are amazing and the author makes you feel as though you are right there next to them the entire time.I would recommend this to anyone over the age of 13 who wants some action, romance, drama and more. I give ‘The Scorch Trials’ a 10/10!

    Like

  2. I very much enjoyed this book, because it was a thriller and we got to see and learn more about the characters and their backstory as they start to remember their past. Throughout the book there was many great parts, mine especially was when they call one of the officials (Janson) Rat Man, because of his uncanny looks like a rat. In this particular book my favourite character is Teresa, this is because she sacrifices everything and takes risks to make sure that all of the group survives through the Scorch. My least favourite part in this book comes towards the end when they think they have survived, but WICKED has something else planned. This is the worst part because, you empathise with the charters because they were so close, and now they have to prepare for the final task. I wouldn’t change anything in this book because each intricate detail is there for a reason, James Dashner takes these seriously and addresses them further into the series. I would definitely recommend this book to others, because many love the movies and these books bring the movies alive, and also because they are a great series that many people would love. The people who would like this would be YA or people who love the Divergent and The Hunger Games series.

    Like

  3. The maze runner scorch trials is an amazing book that I really enjoyed reading. This book is the second in the series and is definitely just as good, if not better the first. Like the first book, this book is filled with a lot of adventure, action and thrill and is a real roller coaster ride. The maze runner scorch trials is also narrated by Thomas who has now escaped the maze with a few other boys and is finding out that life outside of the maze is not much different than inside. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time and you will not want to put the book down once you start reading. I would recommend this book to anyone as it is an amazing book. I would rate this book a 10/10.

    Like

  4. Paris said:

    The Scorch Trials is definitely my favourite book ever (not an exaggeration) and I have recommended it to so many people to read. As the second book in the Maze Runner Series, this book continues the journey of Thomas & the gladers through WICKEDs trials and move into Phase 2: The Scorch. The group must travel through tireless days in a scorch with minimal supplies and worst of all, Cranks. The rest, you can see for yourself by reading. I absolutely loved this book because it is a mix of tension, action, and extreme levels of sass. My favourite part of the book is when the Gladers meet Jorge and Brenda, because they are both such great characters and an awesome addition to the team. My favourite character is Newt..as usual!! I didn’t have a least favourite part and I wouldn’t change any part of the book, it is so amazing! I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the series and has read the first book, or enjoys an out-of-this-world and action-packed read.

    Like

  5. This is the sequel to The Maze Runner and it just keeps getting better, I enjoyed this series so much and I think everyone should read it (and watch the movies!!). I read this book in under a week and I took it with me everywhere!!! I was reading it in the car, at night and in the morning and everywhere I possibly could. Anyone who wants to read a terrifically developed book with detailed and gorgeous characters and a thrilling plot should definitely get started on this series.

    Like

  6. Kelsea said:

    The Scorch Trials is definitely one of my favourite books. There is so much suspense, drama, and action in this book that anyone would love to read. I would recommend this book to all those people that like cliffhangers and action. The book is so exciting and full of surprises. The Gladers finally get out of the maze and think that they will go back into the peaceful, happy world and live a normal life, but then they soon find out that they have to do one more test/trial, called ‘The Scorch.’ The Scorch is a boiling hot and terrifying place to be. The whole scorch is filled with these zombie looking creatures called Cranks. The cranks are infected by the horrible disease called the flare. The scorch trials are extremely dangerous and action packed. This book is so amazing, I can’t wait to read the next sequel, hopefully it comes out soon because I can’t wait any longer. Please read this wonderful book, I’m telling you, you won’t regret it.

    Like

  7. Emily. said:

    The Scorch Trials depicts a government agency killing off teens. Thomas (the main character) and his friends were sure to escape from the Maze however it did not mean freedom. WICKED isn’t done yet.
    The novel shows a group of boys alongside one girl named Teresa where they travel around 100 miles across a scorch of land to complete their trials and be cured of a deadly disease called The Flare.
    Note: This novel contains violence.
    I would recommend this novel to 15 year olds.

    Like

  8. The Scorch Trials is the sequel to the book The Maze Runner (also a fantastic book and film). The Scorch Trials is a wonderful book to read. The book had me hooked on it for ages, I wasn’t able to put the book down. The way the author, James Dashner wrote it was amazing. Reading The Scorch Trials made me love the characters even more, I was able to connect with each character again and see why I fell in love with the book. The way James Dashner described everything, made me feel like there was actually a thing called the Flare among us. Overall I truly believe everyone should read The Scorch Trials. I got my 11 year old cousin hooked on it and he loves it! So from hearing his reaction to the book, I would recommend it to anyone who loves some action here and there. I would rate this book a 9/10 for sure.

    Like

  9. Gabby said:

    The Scorch Trials is my favourite book of the four in the series. The group of boys doing anything to be cured by the deadly disease, endure a 100ºC temperature but fight against cranks with basically nothing. Also there are two groups which means less numbers to fight. It’s really nerve racking watching this movie because all you want them to do it reach the ‘safe haven’. This is why the action is my favourite part of the book, because the whole time you are feeling anticipation. My least favourite part isn’t really a part to be honest. It’s just I personally don’t like how confusing it can be at times if you don’t really concentrate. If I changed anything I would make it more imaginative for the audience. I love this book, I rate it a 10/10 for the whole series. The idea is clever and anyone would love this book because of the anticipation and overwhelming emotion of all different feelings. I haven’t recommended it to anyone yet, but I might now thinking about how good it was again.

    Like

  10. Wow, The Scorch Trials was definitely a bizarre mind trip, and after everything that was revealed and unfolded, I can’t wait to see how this series ends. James Dashner is a creative genius. I can’t tell you how amazed I am with his ability to come up with the most bizarre of elements that keep me, the reader, constantly wondering where he intends to take the story and what other crazy twists he can come up with. This story felt like a perfect blend between dystopic and scifi, which have recently become a favorite genre of mine.

    Like

  11. Maddy said:

    The Scorch Trials is an amazing book and it is the 2nd book in a 3 book series. It follows a young boy by the name of Thomas and his friend who have just recently escaped the maze in the first book and they now have to face yet another trial. To walk 100 miles to the safe haven. They meet plenty of new people along the way and some are good and some are bad. This book is directed at the YA group and it has a little bit of violence and because of this I think that this book would be suited for 12+. I would give this book a 9/10

    Like

  12. This book the Scorch trials is a very interesting book as we are left hanging off our seats at the end of the Maze Runner. This book is where Thomas and the surviving Gladers fight for survival through the heat in the desert and the cranks in the destroyed towns. Thomas and the Gladers travel an unforgettable journey through the dessert where they met Cranks who have the flare (which is a virus that is eating away your brain). Will Thomas and the other Gladers find “the save heaven” where they find a cure or will they run into trouble.

    Like

  13. Karla said:

    This is the second book in the maze runner series, and continues the story once the gladers have escaped from the maze. Once they do so, they are faced with many challenges, and realise that the outside world has been severely affected by the flare. The book tells the story of their mission to find the cure of the flare and the things they encountered along the way, which include many cranks (those infected with the flare), and the tough decisions they have to make to ensure they survive. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and recommend it to everyone, especially those who read the first one!

    Like

  14. Scarlett said:

    I recently watched the movie Scorch Trials which is the next movie and book to The Maze Runner. It is an exciting and action packed movie. It is set in the future with a bunch of kids running away from an organisation. The movie is scary at times but full of adventure. i rate it an 8/20 and definatly recommend it for 11+

    Like

  15. This is the second book of the maze runnner it is a really good book because it is like other bit of the maze runner, I would rate this a 8/10 and I would recommend this book for 14+

    Like

  16. Marisa said:

    The Scorch Trials is the sequel to the Maze Runner. I really loved this book because of the characters, and mainly the massive plot twists. The Flare is rampaging around the world and they need a cure. The ending was a plot twist and I couldn’t believe it. I really enjoyed this book and the author’s (James Dashner) writing skills are amazing. I would rate this book 9/10 and I would recommend it to anybody who has read the first book or seen the first movie. The best thing is that in September this year the movie is coming out. So exciting!

    Like

  17. Paris said:

    The Scorch Trials is the second of four books in the Maze Runner series. It is about a group of boys travelling 100 miles across a scorch of land to complete their trials and be cured of a deadly disease called The Flare. Not only is it a 100ºC area, they must fight against brain-thirsty cranks, the small amount of supplies they have, and the disadvantage of being split up into two groups. They must reach what is called the ‘Safe Haven’ within two weeks of their arrival in the Scorch to be cured of the Flare. The author of this book (James Dashner) has also written 3 other books that belong to this series and is currently writing a 4th book to add to this series. The best news is that on September 18th, 2015 the movie to this book will be released which adds to the excitement. I instantly fell in love with this book and would rate it a 10/10 without a doubt. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves an edge of your seat action book with tonnes of all sadness, suspense and sass 🙂

    Like

  18. i love this book it is a great second book to the maze runner. i love how it introduces new characters but also keeps the old ones. There are new twists in this book and I think that its pretty intense at some parts of the book. its also a bit scarier but it still a great book. i give it 8 out 10!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  19. probably the best book series EVER!
    couldn’t stop reading! The flare rotting away at their body they will do everything they can to find a cure. WICKED still testing there minds, a twist around every single corner, can not believe the ENDING! I definitely recommend.

    Like

  20. Alyssa said:

    The Scorch Trials is the thrilling sequel to The Maze Runner. Throughout reading the entire book, I was faced with un-expected plot twists. The new environment the gladers were thrown in challenged them greatly, and caused me as a reader to not want to put the book down.
    Some of the themes in the book were confronting though, such as the extreme effects the flare disease has on the people who are infected.
    This particular trial the gladers faced introduced new characters to the story, which created an interesting storyline.
    I enjoyed this book, and would recommend it to anyone who likes suspense, adventure and mystery.

    Like

  21. probably the best book series EVER!
    couldn’t stop reading! The flare rotting away at their body they will do everything they can to find a cure. WICKED still testing there minds, a twist around every single corner, can not believe the ENDING! I definitely recommend.

    Like

  22. Adriana.ks said:

    The Scorch Trials is the sequel to the book The Maze Runner. After reading the maze runner I screamed because I was left in a situation that I had to guess in my mind what was going to happen next and this book was nothing close to what I guessed. Like the maze runner I would say this book is for everyone over the age of 12. They thought that the maze was the end but once again the whole group is tested as they need to face yet again another trail.

    Like

  23. Madeline said:

    The Scorch Trials is the second book in the maze runner trilogy, it is thrilling, intense and I would highly recommend it to ages 10 to 20. The scorch Trials is about Thomas (the main character) and the other gladers who thought they would be going back to there old lives after the maze but that is not the case. They must go through yet another trial, this time they must travel 100 miles across the scorch within 2 weeks. They meet new people along the way such as Brenda and George who help them get through the city. This book is a bit violent and it would be recommended to the young adult age group. I hope this review will encourage you to read this book.

    Like

  24. The Scorch Trials is the sequel to the book The Maze Runner. At the end of the Maze Runner we are left hanging and in very extreme circumstances, Thomas along with the other gladers had just escaped the maze when they are shifted into what they think is a nice, happy, healthy world again. But that is not the case. The Earth had been polluted by a disease called the Flare and there were crazy, infected people all outside of the building they were in called Cranks. Thomas and the Gladers are sent through the Flat Trans into what people call the Scorch. It is an extremely hot section of land that lies between the Tropic of Cancer and the Tropic of Capricorn. They were told that their mission is for within two weeks the need to travel hundreds of miles across the Scorch to find the cure to the Flare. Thomas comes across many other people who some are friends and some not. This book is very thrilling and I highly recommend it. It can be confusing at points but when you get to the end of the novel you will understand it all. I think the Scorch Trials is a wonderful sequel to The Maze Runner and I can’t wait to see the movie of it that they are producing now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

