The blog for books and movies

Comments on: "Rabbit proof fence (movie)" (19)

  1. Rabbit Proof fence is a fantastic movie for anyone over 14 to watch. Not only is it a great movie but also very educational as it includes life lessons as well as information on Australia’s history. I love all of the actresses/ actors and their roles in the movie, all of the personalities are perfect for the movie. The fact tat it was a true story makes it so intriguing and interesting to find out what happened on the 3 girls journey. I rate it an 8.5 / 10 and would highly recommend watching it.

    Like

  2. The Rabbit-Proof Fence by Doris Pilkington is a true story of the escape of three young girls from a settlement school, (which was a school for half-caste Aboriginal children) they were forced to attend in Australia, over one thousands miles away from their families and homes. Trying to find their way back home, brought tears to my eyes and helped me become more aware of the cruelty towards humankind how it is still occurring to this day! I highly recommend this movie to ages 12+.

    Like

  3. Rabbit Proof Fence is a truly inspiring movie that I believe everyone should watch. It is a true story about Australia’s past of the stolen generation and shows what some people had to deal with at the time this was happening. It follows 3 girls, Molly, Daisy and Grace and shows how they walked across Western Australia after escaping from an institution where they had been put after taken away from their mothers. This book makes you really think about the diversity that Australia had and shows the policies that separated white Australians from Aboriginals. I think that this book shows the willingness of 3 young girls and as a true story, it is extra inspiring. I would recommend this to everyone above the ages of 12.

    Like

  4. Rabbit Proof fence is such a good movie. It gives you an insight into the courage and spiritual connection the indigenous have to their land and each other. Although some scenes are confronting the rest of the movie is amazing. Molly the main character gets taken away from her mother along with her little sister and cousin. They are taken away from Jigalong and brought to Moore River. Molly escapes the Moore river with her sister and cousin. They walk all the way back to Jigalong following the Rabbit Proof fence. I highly recommend this movie to anyone wanting an insight in the stolen generation. I recommend this for +11.

    Like

  5. Emma A said:

    The Rabbit-Proof Fence by Doris Pilkington is a true story of the escape of three young girls from a settlement school, (which was a school for half-caste Aboriginal children) they were forced to attend in Australia, over one thousand miles away from their families and homes. Watching the young girls being taken away from their families and homes and as they try find their way back home, brought tears to my eyes and taught me that in life, cruel situations like these are still occurring all around the world today. I highly recommend this movie to 12+.

    Like

  6. I really liked the movie because it showed you things that happened in the past generation in our own country. It was very emotional when the authorities came to each town and snatched the Aboriginal children from their own mothers. I also like the way the story was told about three little girls who ran away from the police so they wouldn’t get captured. And how they survived until the end by following the Rabbit Proof Fence.
    My favorite part of the movie was when the girls found each other after they got split up by the police because it felt great to see the sisters reunite.
    The three girls were my favorite characters in the whole movie because you got to see how they survived harsh conditions and how they cared and looked after each other. My least favorite character was the English officers that took the children away.
    I would recommend this book because it is very interesting and its apart of our Australian history and how much its changed in time. This movie is for all ages and to people who are interested in the Stolen Generation.

    Like

  7. Tylah said:

    This movie was really interesting and I loved it to bits. The three girls molly, gracie and daisy were so adorable. I enjoyed learning about the aboriginal culture from this film and the way they could just read the land so very easily and find there way home safe and sound. After watching this movie I also felt very ashamed of what the whites had done to all the poor children it was really sad watching the three girls getting taken from the home. My favourite character was of course molly at such a young age she was so very intelligent, brave and protective which are really good qualities to have. I absolutely cannot believe that this is a true story it is so amazing. this film is a MUST see. I rate it a 9.5/10!

    Like

  8. Rabbit proof fence is such a great movie. It is a little sad but it shows you how much Australian has changed from1905. It is so sad when they get taken away from their family but at least it ends up to be a happy ending. Molly shows so much courage and determination to get back to Moore river. She shows how smart she is with all the clever moves she does so she doesn’t get caught. My favourite character is defiantly Molly because she shows how important family is to her. I think this movie would be most suited for 13 year old kids to any age upwards. I rate this movie 9 out of 10 but I would like it to have a little bit better ending.

    Like

  9. I did enjoy this film, however, it is not one of my favourites. I enjoyed the storyline and was quite surprised and shocked when I found out it was based on a true story. I was happy at the end of the film that they finally got back home, although it was really emotional. I felt this way because I was glad that after all the hard times Molly and Daisy had gone through they finally made it back home. It was upsetting when Molly was hugging her mum and she said ‘I lost one, Ma’. The character that I liked the most was Molly because she was determined and knew that what the white people were doing was not right and needed to be changed. The character I like the least was probably Moodoo, A.O. Neville and Constable Riggs because they were all portrayed as bad people. I don’t understand why Moodoo was working with them as he was an aboriginal and his child was in the camp. My favourite scene was probably when Molly and Daisy saw the bird up in the sky. It showed them that they were not far from home. This was a really significant part of the film. I learnt that the Chief Protector made the children line up and he would call them one by one up to the front to check their skin colour to see if they were ‘light’ enough to be released from Moore River. The film was shown in the perspective of which the white people were the bad ones and the aboriginals were innocent.

    Like

  10. We watched this movie in class and to completely understand it, it is necessary that you understand the back story behind it. The story of Daisy, Molly and Gracie is one of determination and loss of innocence. Molly leaves the childhood environment she had been raised in, and takes on the mammoth task of protecting her family. Molly’s courage and determination is admirable, and gives the viewer a more developed insight in to the lives and struggles faced by half and quarter caste children. My favourite part of the movie is when Molly’s mother is looking down the fence at Jigalong, while Molly is walking home looking down the fence. It reminds us distance is irrelevant, and family and love can withstand any obstacles. I would definitely recommend this movie to everyone, provided they are aware of the historical Australian even that is the driving force behind this film.

    Like

  11. This Movie is so sad, seeing what people our age had to go though, only because they had different skin:-( It Blowed me away seeing the fight and determination to just stay with their parents. Its so sad:-( But i did love watching to get a clear idea what the stolen generation was about. The Director- Phillip Noyce Did a wonderful job filming and producing this sad film. I would rate it 10/10- Because of there dramatic role everyone took! Recommend this for ages 10- and over only because it was hard to understand! Another movie like this is Dancing in the dust- and thats a must see too! So enjoy finding out what people acted out to get a clear idea what the stolen generation:-)

    Like

  12. My favourite part of the movie was when Molly and Daisy make it back home because it shows that you can achieve anything you put your mind to. I would definitely recommend this movie to others because it is informative + moving at the same time, and you immediately fall for the three young girls and want them to find their way back home.

    Like

  13. Maddison T said:

    Rabbit Proof Fence clearly illustrates to his audience the time of which was the Stolen Generation.The sheer determination of the three girls carried them through the 9 week journey helps us remember how much family means to us. The fact that it’s based on a true story is amazing to think that what the three girls had to go through is tremendous. I think that choose thing for year 9 english was a great thing to do. Not only was it an interesting film but it teachers us that the capture of the half-caste aboriginal children was a sad part of Australian history. I would rate this movie an 8 out of 10 🙂

    Like

  14. I loved Rabbit Proof Fence. This movie did not only blow me away, but also taught me a lot of things about a major event in the Australian history. The director did an amazing job in making this movie and leaving a great message to everyone who watches. My favourite part of the movie was when Molly and Daisy came back home. This part of the story made me believe that if you persist, you can achieve anything. My favourite character would have to be Molly because she persisted and overcame her situation to achieve what she put forth to do, to be back with her family. My least favourite part of the movie was the capture scene. It made me realise how hard it would be for the family losing the 3 children. I would recommend this movie to everyone who wants to know about the Stolen Generation or interested about it. I would also recommend this movie to 12+ as I think younger people won’t get the true message about the movie. I rate this movie a 9/10 🙂

    Like

  15. I really enjoyed this movie. I really liked the way how the director has included many historical references so that we can get a good insight into history and what has happened in the past. My favourite part of the film would have to be when the three girls are running away. I love all of their individual personalities and how they all are so different but they all play a dramatic role in impacting on how the film concludes. I love all of the landscape footage and how beautiful all of the Australian landscape is. My favourite character would have to be Molly because i admire her tenacity and her motivation to get home. I would highly recommend this film and would give it an 8/10.

    Like

  16. I really really enjoyed watching this movie in Year 9 for our assessment, I was quite surprised that I liked it because normally the movies at school aren’t that good but I was really happy with this one. I think it was such a good movie to be made because it shows kids and adults who are not aboriginal and weren’t born in that time what it was really like and how tough that time was for those families and it really made you feel for them and it made me feel really bad because it was our ancestors who went along with it. I loved how the girls persisted through the desert and they never gave up and I think that was really inspirational and because it was a true story that made it even more touching. My favourite character was Molly because she was just so courageous and strong to look after the other 2 girls and to support them and will them to keep going, I think she was just an amazing kid to be able to do that. I thought it was really sad how the white people treated them in the camp and how they treated the women who worked in the houses I thought it was just disgusting and makes me feel really mad how they just had no respect for them and just treated them like rubbish. I would recommend this to others but maybe not kids under 10 because I don’t think they would be able to understand the movie and you really need to understand it to be able to enjoy it. It was an absolutely beautiful movie.

    Like

  17. Sophie said:

    I enjoyed the movie Rabbit-Proof Fence more than I thought I would. I liked it because it gave alternative perspectives of the story and also taught me about a major event in Australian History. My favourite part of the movie was when two of the girls that were taken were reunited with their mother, grandmother and country, because the whole film had been building up to that moment and it was very touching. My favourite character was Molly, because she was so courageous, determined, loving and a good leader. My least favourite part of the movie was when Gracie was found and taken back to the settlement for the second time, because it was obvious that she would never be reunited with her family. If I could change something about the movie, it would be to have a bit more talking and some more explanation in certain parts that were a bit confusing. I would definitely recommend this movie to others because it is moving and informative at the same time, and you immediately fall for the three young girls and want them to find their way back home. Someone who is empathetic and wants to learn more about the Stolen Generation would enjoy this movie.

    Like

  18. Chiara said:

    When I was told that the movie Rabbit Proof Fence was on the list for our Year 9 English assessments, I was quite excited because I had always wanted to watch the movie. I really liked Rabbit Proof Fence because it shows that if you persist and keep on going, you will always find your way.

    My favourite part of the movie was when Molly and Daisy made it back home. This is because it shows that you can achieve anything you put your mind to.

    My favourite character would have to be Daisy because she tried her best in every situation she was in and she never gave up. Also, because she knew that she had her big sister Molly to look up to and to follow her example.

    I don’t think I can relate to Molly, Gracie or Daisy because they were part of a generation where discrimination of skin colour was allowed. Today, it is not allowed to bully others or discriminate them because of their skin colour, so I can not really relate to them – all I can do is think of what it would have been like.

    My least favourite part of the movie would have to be when A. O. Neville had been planning how to capture the three girls. This is because he had tried to corner them and find any way to bring them back to the Moore River Settlement.

    I don’t think I would change anything about this movie because it is showing us how the Aboriginals were treated and that they were discriminated against, because of their colour skin.

    I would recommend this movie to anyone who would like to learn about our Australian history and why things had happened, especially the Stolen Generation part of history. I would also recommend this movie to year 6 students and up, because I think that anyone younger, might get a little confused with what is happening and the message behind it. Overall, Rabbit Proof Fence was a great movie and I will definitely watch it again!

    Like

  19. I watched this movie for year 8 english and what can I say, I absolutely loved it. When I first heard about it I didn’t think I would enjoy it but as the movie progressed I got more and more into it. The fact that it is based on a true story and has cold hard facts behind it makes it so much more meaningful. When I saw this movie I literarily put myself in there shoes and felt what they were feeling, even though it seems hard to relate to this movie because times have changed I still could relate to what they were doing. This movie is well put together and has a very interesting story board. I would rate it 9 out of ten, A must watch for anyone wether they enjoy aboriginal history or not!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

