The blog for books and movies

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself–and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Good Reads

Comments on: "The selection – Kiera Cass" (11)

  1. Ella B said:

    The first book of five in the Selection Series resembles the story of 19 year old America who hates everything royalty. she gets selected to race for Prince Maxton’s heart. She finds out that love isn’t all that bad, and instead of wanting to quit, she wants to win! I loved this book and I think that anyone in need for a good romance should definitely read THE SELECTION by KEIRA CASS.

    Like

  2. This a superb book about 35 girls vying to win Price Maxon’s heart, it is filled with romance, drama and confusion. Amongst them is America Singer and the thought of being selected is an ordeal, if selected she would have to leave behind her secret love and her gorgeous sister May who she love so dearly. This is a series with 5 books in total. The first book will leave you begging for more. I recommend this book to people 12 and up, I think even adults would find it entertaining.

    Like

  3. I loved this book because it was so romantic but at the same time exciting thrilling and funny. I love how it had a whole story in the background hidden. I enjoyed all the drama that occurred during the book because it was suspenseful. I love America is so out-going and is always herself around Maxon. My favourite part was probably the first time that America and Maxon meet because it is really awkward because she is crying and he is trying to console her but he doesn’t know how to, making it really funny to read. My favourite character is probably America I always find a liking to the main character in books. I like America because she is such a trooper she always troops through rough patches in her world and she always does well in the name of family. I can’t really relate to any of the characters, but I understand how excluded because that is how I felt when I moved to a new primary school and I didn’t know anyone. I didn’t like America and aspen, I don’t think they were meant to be for each other. Also I’d rather see America with Maxon. I hated Celeste because she was so annoying and I don’t understand how she even has any friends because she is always so mean and always judges everyone also she would do anything to get what she wants. If I could change the book, I would change the book so that America wins the selection straight away but then there wouldn’t be a book, so I would probably not change anything. I would recommend this book to anyone that loves a bit of suspense, romance and a little bit of action. It definitely ticked all of my boxes. I would recommend this book to anyone in for a fun, suspenseful romantic book, I would also recommend this book to anyone that likes books with a monarchy and royalty.

    Like

  4. I loved this book! It was a book that I couldn’t put down, and the characters were relatable. I read the first book and I just needed the rest. I first read this book in year 6, and I think it is appropriate for ages 12+. 10/10

    Like

  5. Grace said:

    IT WAS AMAZING!! I loved this book. I couldn’t put it down. You will fall in love with the characters and be sad to see them go. If you read this book you will love to read the rest of the series. If you haven’t read this book, READ IT! I love this book and the series. It sghows how unique is good and to be your self. Some people might think this book is romantic and yeah it is kind of like the bachelor, but if you read it you will find it is much ,much more.

    Like

  6. Ella A said:

    I L-O-V-E this book!!!!
    I thought this book was like a movie, every word was a film (like in old animation films) in my mind. The characters were clearly displayed, the explained the characters likes and dislikes as well as there personality……As you read the series you go to put the book down and a few seconds later you have read another chapter.
    The main character is America Singer. She is a 5 (The book will explain why they have a number) and life is just getting harder by the day. She has her heart set on a boy named Aspen. They have their future set out and all they want is to be together. All that changes when she puts her name in the lottery ( lottery is for the royals, you get given a chance to be their partner) in no hope that she will be chosen (in her which she is happy about not getting chosen but she is only doing it for her family).
    All of a sudden she has been drawn out to try and win the Prince Maxon’s heart.
    I am trying not to tell any more but if you want to know more…….
    READ IT!!!!!!

    Like

  7. Jasmin M said:

    I loved this book it was amazing. I could not put the book down I think I read a chapter each night it was that good. I gave it a 9 / 10 because it wasn’t as great as the book I’m reading at the moment. My favourite part was when she first talked to Maxon and she snapped at him when he called her ‘ My Darling’. Celeste is quite mean and rude but I visualised her as a beautiful woman. It was so romantic. This story line reminded me of the TV show, The Bachelorette.

    Like

  8. I read this series when I was in Year 7, great read for younger readers. It was one of the first series I read and a great way to be introduced to reading. The selection is the first book of 3 and is the best out of them all. It is about where for thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want.
    Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined. I would recommend this book to people who enjoy romance and drama. Rate 7/10.

    Like

  9. Abbey said:

    I loved this book so much i read the whole series in 2 days it was that good.
    The characters in the book were described clearly and when you read this book its like watching a movie.
    I loved the messages in the book it really connected to me and i loved that America wouldn’t change who she was for one person but she stayed true to herself and her beliefs.
    I think that America in the book is a great role model for real life experiences and that we should all try to be like her in tricky situations

    Like

  10. This is a really good book and you can really relate to it if you are really down to earth and not someone who wants to change for someone. I loved the character America because she didn’t want to change for anyone and even someone as powerful as Prince Maxton she didn’t care what he thought of her.I loved this book because this is what i think all girls should be like around guys because he/she doesn’t deserve you if you have to impress him. This is such a good book and any girl would love it! Recommend this to anyone who loves a good read! (I don’t think the other one posted)

    Like

  11. I loved this book because it was written so beautifully and the descriptions of the scenes and characters were perfect. America was definitely my favourite character, because she was so different and unique compared to the rest of the girls in The Selection. My favourite part of the book was when she first talked with Maxon and she snapped at him when he called her ‘my dear’. I found this scene really funny and when she told him her reason for hating the name, I laughed because it was quite true and hilarious. But if I could change one thing in the story, it would be getting rid of Celeste, because she was so mean and annoying. I would strongly recommend this book to anyone who likes romantic books or movies, but I also think that anyone else could still enjoy it, because I usually don’t like romantic stories, but I still loved this book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

