The blog for books and movies

Olive Corbett is not crazy. Not anymore. 

She obediently takes her meds and stays under the radar at school. After “the incident,” Olive just wants to avoid any more trouble, so she knows the smartest thing is to stay clear of the new girl who is rumored to have quite the creepy past.
But there’s no avoiding Miranda Vaile. As mousy Miranda edges her way into the popular group, right up to the side of queen bee Katie – and pushes the others right out – only Olive seems to notice that something strange is going on. Something almost . . . parasitic. Either Olive is losing her grip on reality, or Miranda Vaile is stealing Katie’s life.

But who would ever believe crazy Olive, the girl who has a habit of letting her imagination run away with her? And what if Olive is the next target?

Google Books

Marjk.edublogs.org

Comments on: "Shift – Em Bailey" (32)

  1. I really enjoyed the book shift by Em Bailey. I read it in year 8 lit circles. It is about a girl named Olive, who is recovering from what she only refers to as the Incident. It has left her medicated and loaded with guilt over the resultant disintegration of her family unit. Her father has left. Her little brother Toby wakes up screaming. Her Mum seems to only just be holding it together. Yet Shift is not an oppressive read. Olive is, in fact, a vivacious protagonist who addresses life with the wit and bravadery of someone who has survived. At her high school she has morphed from popular-girl-and-Chief-Assistant to Katie (the Queen Bee of the school) to regular-Olive, who doesn’t give a damn what she looks like or whom she offends by being herself. I would definitely recommend Shift as it relates heavily to teenagers and the difficulties that are the reality of most high school students.

    Like

  2. WOW! I can’t believe what an incredible book this was! Shift was definitely one of the most thrilling, jaw dropping books I have ever read, and it was full of unexpected twists. Whenever I started reading Shift, I found it so hard to put down, as I was dying to know what other devious plans Miranda would come up with next! Although Olive was quite a strong character, I did see her starting to be sucked in by Miranda every now and then. Overall, Shift would be one of the best books I have ever read before, and it’s great for those who don’t thoroughly enjoy reading, because I guarantee you will LOVE it! I would clearly rate this mysterious book a 10/10!!!

    Like

  3. Shift, was full of twist and turns and jaw dropping moments that left you hanging on the edge of your seat and parts where you were really wanted to know what was going to happen and you didn’t know what was around the next corner, when I first started to read this book yeah it was boring at the start but the rest of it was amazing. shift is just a book that you can’t explain because you just have to read it so that you understand. i recommend this book for people 8+

    Like

  4. Shift is a very unusual book. When reading it, I was a bit on and off. I think this book is okay and I built up the ending to much because then I was a bit disappointed with the ending. I also think the characters don’t stay in the book enough, I feel like when something has happen and then the drama has finished we forget about the person. But I think that there are a few parts that are really good because they are a bit scary. I think if you have read this book and are looking for another one you should read the book Choker. I think they are two very similar books. I I’ve this book a 6/10

    Like

  5. Shift by Em Bailey was an absolutely incredible but freaky book to read! This book has drama, sci-fi, mystery and even a little bit of romance. It has you on the edge of your seat from the very start and it keeps you guessing the next move every step of the way. Every page you turned was never what you were expecting, the ending to me was a real shock. Lachlan was by far my favourite character. He was such a sweet, caring boy and was always there looking out for Olive and everyone he cared about. I was so happy that he and Olive finally ended up together, they are so cute together. I loved how he was like Olive’s guardian angel and always looked out for her and helped her overcome her fears.I liked how the book wasn’t just about romance but covered more serious issues like depression, anxiety, multiple personality disorder and bullying. Reading this book made me more aware of people that have a difficult life. I learnt more about different disorders and how it can effect how people think and feel. Reading about Olives troubles and disorders it makes me wonder how many other people are going through similar problems.Shift was definitely a very scary book to read, it had a little bit mystery, romance and dealt with serious issues as well. There was always another mystery around the corner making it hard to stop reading. Shift was a great book to read.

    Like

  6. Georgia said:

    Shift was a very good yet mysterious book. I could’t put this book down knowing there was something interesting on the next page. I could relate to this book because they are around the same age and I could feel the emotions Olive was feeling. I really don’t regret reading this book as I Learnt so much from it. I would always feel like yelling at the characters telling them what to do and what to believe and this made me want to read it even more! Something that I really enjoyed about this book, was the suspense. It would leave me wondering and in my spare time I would actually try to solve things out and it made me need to read more! I knew Olive was falling for a trick and I would try to stop it, I like how romance was semi included throughout the book and it gave a different perspective. I would recommend this book to 13 years and older as it can be a bit confusing and dull. I rate this a 7/10

    Like

  7. Shift is my favourite book I have read in my whole entire life! I really liked how there was so many mysteries going on and how Olive and Ami had no clue on what is happening with Miranda but they were still trying to figure it out. I sort of thought that Ami could have been a bit dangerous because she was pressuring Olive to do lots of things. This book is so creepy it makes shivers run down my spine! I knew that what happened with Katie and Miranda, would eventually happen with Olive and Miranda because when Olive let Miranda borrow one of her skirts for her date, I just knew it would start all over again. I am not a big reader but when it comes to scary but also interesting books like ‘Shift’ I always love them no matter what. I just think that Em Bailey could have made a more mind twisting and scary ending because I feel like it just ended so fast. Overall, I would recommend this book to ages 10 and up and give it an 8/10.

    Like

  8. Paris said:

    The book ‘Shift’ by Em Bailey is such a great book for people who love being kept on the edge of their seat and enjoy a heartfelt happy novel. It is about a girl called Miranda who is new to the main character, Olive’s school. Miranda is a very dark and mysterious person who is rumoured to have killed her own parents. The other characters like Katie, Ami and Lachlan all are such great and lively characters. I won’t give anything away 🙂 but I would definitely recommend you to read the book. I would love love LOVE for Shift to become a movie because I feel all the characters would look and act so much better with some character and personality. I rate this book a definite 10 out of 10.

    Like

  9. This book Shift is a good book because it has so many things happen in it that you are not expecting, but on the other hand there are also many things that happen that you can clearly see coming even though it is supposed to be a mystery.
    I think this book would have been better if it had have given some kind on warning of some of the content that it contains because it may be a bit harsh for some people to read as it contains suicide stuff.
    I found this book a bit boring at the start but towards the middle it begun to get a bit better.
    This book could have been much better than it was but I can’t say that I hated it. I think if the author had worked on making things a bit more of a mystery then it would have been much better.
    I recommend this book for teenagers, but don’t read it if you are easily triggered.
    I rate this book a 6/10.

    Like

  10. The book ‘Shift” was an amazing book and I don’t say this very often because I don’t read as much books. This book is about a new girl comes to their school and her name is Miranda, Miranda is a very dark character at the start but then she makes her first target…… Katie. Olive and Katie used to be best friends but then something happened between them about Olives dad. I really want Shift to be a movie because I want to see what all of the characters look like even Lachlan. From the very start of the book I never liked Miranda because I always knew there was something bad about her. I can’t believe that Katie died and Olive tried helping her but Miranda got away with it. I knew from the very start that Olive would end up with Lachlan because of way he looked at her was so romantic.
    I rate this book a 9 and a half.

    Like

  11. A book that I read and enjoyed recently was ‘Shift”. This book is about a girl who used to be popular until her life starting falling apart. She stopped being friends with the popular girls and eventually she just hung out on her own, more or less. Then, a new girl comes to her school. This girl is so little and has almost no distinctive features about her. She is like a shadow. The new girl immediately takes a strange liking to one of the main character’s previous popular friends. As the new girl slowly becomes friends with the popular girl, she starts to take on some of her physical traits. The main character realises something isn’t right and she has to stop the new girl before something terrible happens. I rate this book a 9 and a half out of 10. I would recommend it to probably girls aged 12 – 14.

    Like

  12. Shift- By Em Bailey

    This book caught me by surprise … a lot. There wasn’t one time that you knew what was going on or would be able to predict what was happening next and be accurate. Even if you claim you did something would happen that would make you stop and re evaluate this entire book. This may come across as not a good thing but I can assure you it is; because of these twists and turns in the book it just makes it so much more exciting and the last couple of chapters excited me more than anything else ever has and I couldn’t have been sitting any further on the edge of my seat without falling off! I am usually not a big reader and don’t enjoy reading because I usually find myself being distracted and zoning out but this book is not like the others. I found myself continuing to read and not get distracted every time I picked up the book, i skipped dinner once just because I was so interested in the book which is probably not the healthiest thing to do but I did it anyway. Em Bailey was able to write a book of romance, suspense, death and so much more and have it all work and fit together perfectly like a puzzle. Most authors wouldn’t be able to do this and it would end up being messy and confusing but there was not one part I didn’t understand. If there was it was later explained in the book anyway. This book is the reasons I love reading and i have only just realised this now. Weather its the way Em Bailey talked about the characters or the events there is just something about this book that makes you physically unable to put it down. I have never loved a book as much as this one and that is saying a lot since I don’t like to read much. Em Bailey is a wonderful author and i found this boo flawless everything about it added up and made sense. Its an easy 10/10!

    Like

  13. This week we finished the book, at the end the book was so good. I loved that the writer didn’t tell most of the interesting stuff and that you wouldn’t expect in a book like shift. I really recommend the book shift because its not that interesting at the start but then things start to get interesting and really intense. I think that people should start reading this book at about 14+. My favourite is when Olive gets to go to the band with Miranda, I know that its not that exciting but I just love it because its like someone that you really love and then you get to meet that person. My favourite character is Olive and Lachlan because I think that they can only trust each other and knows what going on about Miranda. Shift is one of the best stories that I have read because there is so much stuff you wouldn’t expect in a book like Shift. I can’t believe that I have finally finished Shift and I would even more if she wrote more novels like this and I would give this book a rating of 8/10.

    Miranda- She was a really good character, I think that she was the one that keeps the book gripping because she makes it great and at one point I didn’t know whether she was being nice to Olive because they went shopping together and had a great time but then she became a bit rude at Miranda’s party.

    Olive- I really like Olive because she tells some shocking surprises that I didn’t know was happening.

    Lachlan- Lachlan is very nice because he is caring for everyone like for example he cares about his brother dallas and about Olive which is really sweet of him to care for Olive when she did a bit rude stuff to Lachlan.

    The Last person that I am going to write about is Toby- I think that Toby is worried ( but I am not sure) about Olive because she said to Toby that Miranda was something different and then one day he sees Olive and Miranda hanging out together at Olives house.

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!

    Like

  14. stephanie said:

    This book was Amazing! Throughout the book the writing was consistently great and well done. I love the mix of style the author has put in there was just enough of everything romance, drama, action and thriller.The only down fall for the book for me was the build up at the end I expected there to be more drama and action, unfortunately this was not the case I got the vibe that the author just had enough of writing and gave up with the good old happy ending. I EXPECTED MORE!

    Olive has changed so much from the start from the end, I feel as though she has found the real Olive, she is strong and sure of who she is. Going through hard times, finding herself having a real people around her. Lachlan. She has built up her self confidence having a support network I felt as though she learnt you had to trust people.

    The question still plays in my mind is ‘Is Miranda a shapeshifter? I hope so to me it sounds like the only logical explanation for her awful behaviour. Are shape shifters real? Did she kill Oona? I guess I would never know I truly wish there was a second book I still have so many question,I need the answer.

    Like

  15. Shift is an amazing book and I would recommend it for anyone who likes a bit of a mind twister. It has some really interesting parts in it and really make you wanting to read more. I really loved Miranda the most because really just made the book. She keeps you wanting to keep reading and also makes you want a second book. I kept thinking that i didn’t want her in the book because she has hurt so many people but without her, the book would be nothing! When she told Olive she was a shapeshifter I had no idea what Olive was going to think. Obviously what I thought was going to happen in the end did not and this completely twisted my mind.
    I loved this book so much and I could recommend it to anybody who likes or even doesn’t like reading, because I don’t like reading but I really enjoyed this book and never found it hard to pick up and read. For anyone who loves a mind twister story this is perfect for you.

    Like

  16. What can I say! This book was fantastic. I enjoyed almost everything about it. Almost. Although the ending was a bit rushed and under energetic, the rest of the book seemed well worth it. This book was full of twists and turns, almost like a roller coaster. Before you could trust someone they would turn into something terrible. You will love Olive-The main character. She is so down to earth. Although she has her ‘issues’, Olive is someone you can really connect with. I think that this book is for 12 years and up as it does have the occasional swear words and a few adult themes in it. Overall this book was very exhilarating and truly shouldn’t be judged by its cover. I will encourage lovers of a little mystery and thriller to read this über amazing book!

    Like

  17. The book Shift by Em Bailey is a very interesting book, leaving you on the edge of your chair at every chapter. The main character is Olive. She is now home from the hospital. She was put in the hospital because she attempted to commit suicide. So she is at home doing the normal things she has to do like going to school, taking her meds and eating meals. When one day she hears a new student Miranda is coming to the school. “There were two things everyone knew about Miranda Vaile before she’d even started at our school. The first was that she had no parents – they were dead. And the second was that they were dead because Miranda had killed them,”. Page 1. After reading this opening I was so curious as to how they died why? Miranda was moving schools? And who was Miranda Vaile? I would highly recommend this book for people that like to get lost in books and like a little fear in what they read.

    Like

  18. Shift is an incredible book, with lots of twist and turns along the way. I have loved this book from very the beginning. From looking at the front cover of this book I didn’t know what to expect but after reading Shift it all came together and made sense.There are lots of intense moments in this book. My favourite part was when Miranda threatens Olive, so she will come to her party. I didn’t like how rude Miranda was but I found that this part of the book, really pulled me in and made me want to read more and more.My favourite character was Miranda she is very mysterious and unique. Olive believed she was a shape sifter, but is she?.Olive has a brother how is very shy and doesn’t like meeting Olive’s friends when they come over.I also have a younger brother that is like that. When I read this in the book I could picture Toby doing everything my brother would do, not talk and run back to his room. My least favourite part of this book was when Olive found out that the lead singer of Luxe (Dallas) was Lachlan’s step brother, I don’t think it was explain very well in the book.This book is interesting and intriguing I wouldn’t change a bit. I would recommend this book to anyone who is 10 or older and likes mysteries,adventures and using there imagination. (P.S Ami isn’t real, which is devastating). I would rate this book a 9 out of ten.

    Like

  19. Georgia G said:

    This book is amazing so far even though I have only read 7 chapters once I started reading it I could not put the book down with the amazing romance with Lachlan and Olive not knowing if she likes him and miranda and those eyes and Katie becoming less like Katie it is creepy but thrilling and I cant wait to read the rest of the book.
    My favourite part of the book so far would be when Lachlan sees Olive dancing at the Mercury because I found it funny and romantic
    My least favourite part was when Olive found her teacher in the woods because I found that part a little bit confusing
    But Last of all I cant wait to read the next 20 or so chapters So far I rate this book 11 out of 10

    Like

  20. Summer said:

    I read this book for Lit circles earlier this year. At first I thought it was pretty boring but once I got into the book I started to really enjoy it. Every character was different and had a different story behind them. The book has so many twists and turns. I would recommend this book to anyone that l enjoys thriller and romantic. The age group that would be good for this book would be years 7 to 10. My favourite part would have to be when Lachie finally kissed Olive because throughout the whole book something had been going on between them and then when they finally kissed it kind of finished off the book really well.

    Like

  21. Emily said:

    I read this book earlier this year and loved it 100%. I think that its a great book for anyone and I love the way that it keeps you wanting to read. It has very interesting twists all through it. The book keeps you wanting to read more and when I was reading it, even though I was really tired, during the night I found myself wanting to keep reading instead of sleeping. I give this book a 10/10 and would recommend it for people of all ages.

    Like

  22. Karla HERIC said:

    I read this book in year 8 and still remember it now, 2 years later. This book was so interesting and I couldn’t stop reading it. It had me questioning every character and their motives, and I never knew what would happen next. My favourite character was Miranda, because she was very unique and mysterious, and not knowing about who she was really made me want to figure out who she really was. The only thing I disliked about this book was the ending. I was really frustrated as I hoped the ending would explain everything, thought he book ended open-endedly so all the questions you were dying to have answered, weren’t answered. I still give this book a 9/10 as I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommend it to anyone who likes a more fantasy/mysterious kind of book!

    Like

  23. Claire said:

    This book had me reading continuously and I finished it in two and a half hours! I found it really interesting with the idea of shape shifting. But I did find some parts needed a bit more and less. With the romance, it was there in the background for most of the time and popping up rarely. I found it really annoying. I was also really annoyed when Olive was falling for a trick she was aware and even tried to stop it. I was thinking don’t do it. I had one question for the end, what happened to Miranda? As I read she was left at the pool and that’s all we knew. I found it weird how the rumour of Miranda as the murderer really didn’t come out as much as I would have liked, it was brought up suddenly then forgotten. By the end of SHIFT my favorite character was Miranda as she was always really interesting and you could never guess what she was about to do.

    Like

  24. I really loved this book and didn’t want it to end but at the same time I wanted to know what happened in the finish. My favorite character was Lachie because he was always so understanding towards Olive and all of her imperfections. I know you shouldn’t like the villeins but I thought that deep down Miranda was just confused about what she was and how to make everything right again. The biggest surprise in the book was when you found out about how Olive tried to kill herself and when you found out for sure that Miranda was a shapeshifter. My absolute favorite part in the book was when Lachie finally kissed Olive because throughout the whole book they couldn’t get their stuff together but when they did it was really cute and I almost cried a little bit. This book kept me on edge and I would recommend this book to anybody 12+. 9.5/10

    Like

  25. SHIFT is absolutely amazing there are so many ups and downs and twists and turns.
    During the last 4 weeks of reading SHIFT my brain as been all muddled up with so much confusion and wonders to what would happen next.

    When I first found out that I was reading SHIFT I was so excited and couldn’t wait to start. As I was reading the first couple of chapters I found my self getting lost in the book and never wanting to put it down. Further into the book my head was ready to explode, I was very confused as lots of mysterious was evident throughout the chapters I read. Getting to finally read the end of the book I couldn’t wait but when I finally got to the last page I found my self sad that the book ended but I was also a little let down as the ending wasn’t what I expected. By the end of SHIFT my favorite character was Miranda as she was always really interesting and you could never guess what she was about to do.

    SHIFT is an amazing book and I would love if a movie was made.

    Like

  26. Shift is amazing it has so many twist and turns you just cannot put the book down after you start reading. At first it is a bit confusing but when you get in the book a bit more you find so many more things about the charters and how they are feeling and who they really are. My favourite charter would have to be Miranda. She is such a mysteriy that gives nothing away. Miranda deffantly make you angry then confused sometimes you just don’t know what you think of her. This book is so intersesting mysterious and amazing. At the end of the book you find out everything about the charters and who they were. I would have to admit the ending kinda let me down a bit but it is defiantly opened ended to put you imagination to work. I recommend this book for 12+ and I give this book a 8 out of 10!

    Like

  27. I thoroughly enjoyed this book!
    It sounded like something I might like, tried it, and was going, wow. It’s a great book, filled with twists and turns surprises, and real oddities! The certain thing you discover around the middle made me go, whata? It was a totally crazy book, but made a strange sort of sense. My favourite character had to be Olive. I was always so curious about her whenever she mentioned her ‘incident.’ Also, she was quite interesting, not stupid, but sometimes I felt like screaming out, “How obvious is that?” That was one thing I didn’t like. She seemed to just loose her mind near the end, and not think properly. I also disliked the ending. I was expecting something a bit more, ‘Bam!” Not something obvious like it was. Nether the less, it was still interesting to read. Also, I was really creeped out by Miranda!
    I recommend this book for 12+ and rate it 7/10! 😀

    Like

  28. I picked up this book out of sheer judging a book by it’s cover, only I was lucky that this book that I had picked up was beyond amazing! The twists and turns in this story cannot be predicted and just make Shift even more interesting. I felt like I had to re read chapters just to make sense of all the madness that went on throughout the book. Even from the turn of the first page I loved the secrecy of it and how you just had to keep reading to find out what was happening next. This factor of the book kept me constantly interested in what was happening next. This book never stopped surprising with all that went on with Miranda and the mysteries of Olive and those around her. I wish this book never ended because I would have kept reading it forever if I could. 10000000000000001/10!!!

    Like

  29. Charlie said:

    Shift was the first thriller book I have read so far. This book was amazing. Even though it looks really thick you will enjoy it. Its full with mysteries, romance and more. When you read this book beware the book will twist your brain and confuse you weather you should trust the characters in the book or not. This book just doesn’t get boring as it is breath taking. There is so many interesting parts in this book I couldn’t stop reading it and I hope you will find it the same. This book is about a girl named Olive who goes to a normal high school. One day a new girl comes named Miranda. Miranda is an interesting character and she is a strange girl. A lot of schemes happen to do with this girl Miranda and Olives enemy Katie gets sucked into Miranda’s evil plans. I feel that this book had an extraordinary story line and there is no other words to explain it. I give this book a 10/10 🙂

    Like

  30. Shift is surely one of my favourite books so far. This book looks quite thick but is a really enjoyable, easy read. I have never read a book like this before. It was a bit scary but weird enough for me to not put down. What I liked most about this book was that the storyline was very unique to any other books i’ve read. Em Bailey has a wonderful imagination. Even the front cover of the book was a bit creepy and matched the title very well. The description of the characters and setting was very interesting. It provided a clear picture in my mind about what was happening. Some parts were quite confusing and it felt like there was always something missing in the story. This book also contained many different types of genres. Mystery, thriller and a bit of romance too. I loved how the characters lives felt so realistic, especially Olive’s. What really annoyed me was what happened to Miranda. I was itching to know what happened after she was left by the poolside. It was very confusing when the story jumped from Miranda being left at the pool to the next scene.
    This was a creepy read that made my skin jump and shiver at some chapters.
    I really enjoyed this book and it always left me wanting to read on.
    I would rate this book 8/10. I recommend this book for mostly teenagers.

    Like

  31. Ariane said:

    This book had me reading continuously and I finished it in two and a half hours! I found it really interesting with the idea of shape shifting. But I did find some parts needed a bit more and less. With the romance, it was there in the background for most of the time and popping up rarely. I found it really annoying. I was also really annoyed when Olive was falling for a trick she was aware and even tried to stop it. I was thinking don’t do it. I had one question for the end, what happened to Miranda? As I read she was left at the pool and that’s all we knew. I found it weird how the rumour of Miranda as the murderer really didn’t come out as much as I would have liked, it was brought up suddenly then forgotten. Besides all that I really enjoyed the book and would have liked to read more of it. When I found out what was really going on between Katie and Olive, I felt sorry for them because they went apart because of a small misunderstanding. I thought that if Katie had listen to Olive, they would have had a spark for friendship again but it was to late. I would recommend it year 7/8 and above and I would rate this book 7.5 out of 10.

    Like

  32. I have enjoyed this book immensely so far! It’s my first time reading a phycological thriller and I must admit I do enjoy it! When I first found this book was a phycological thriller I was a bit unsure whether I would enjoy it or not, I always used to think of phycological thrillers
    as the types of book who make you so confused and they were the types of books that were about people who were locked up into mental institutions. Well after reading this book I must say that my prediction was some what true. I feel this book robbed me of reading it as I was told maybe you shouldn’t trust Olive, maybe she’s made everything up. But I’d like to choose to believe that this book is true because after spending hours of constant reading I’ve just fallen in love with it. Olive is such a confusing character! One chapter she’s scheming ways to stop Miranda from shifting into the Katie, the next she is slowly but surly falling for Miranda’s evil plan, it’s so far frustrating how blind Olive had become! From 1 page this book was so spine tingling and body shivering that I from day one, but I feel the only its only negative attribute is it’s ending, I feel that the author had rushed this book ending and it had all ended in one big bang, which keeps me hanging at a thread just wondering should I believe Olive or shouldn’t I?

    If this book is an option for your Literature circle, please do yourself a favour and read it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

