The blog for books and movies

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

Good Reads

Comments on: "Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell" (5)

  1. I found this book really enjoyable to read, because it was a coming of age novel, that as sweet and innocent about the things in the world and is also very relatable. My favourite character is Cath because she is a fan-fiction writer who beginning college, and her best friend is her twin sister Wren, and she is a big nerd just like me, she’s doesn’t really have social skills, but can interact well with people online over books. My favourite part of this book is when Cath meets Levi for the first time, because she is very awkward and shy, but he finds it cute and they start to hang out more. The only thing I didn’t like about the book, sometimes I felt there wasn’t an actually story, but then something would happen and I would forget all about that. I wouldn’t change anything in this book I love it all, I especially like that Rainbow Rowell has a loose story like Harry Potter with Simon Snow. I would recommend this book to others who like contemporary novels and books about the awkward introverted protagonist. I give this book a 4.5/5.

    Like

  2. I found this book to be one that was really sweet and entertaining. I for one, do not normally reach for contemporary novels, but to me, this book had a very relatable premise, dealing with the introverted fangirl, Cath, a fanfiction writer who begins college. I really related to this character as I for one can tend to live in fictional worlds like Cath, and I love writing like her. I think Rainbow Rowell’s novels have a lot of charm, and this one was no exception, presenting the classic tale of girl meets boy and turning it into a refreshing and engaging story. I would recommend this book to anyone who is a ‘fangirl’ in one way or another, let it be a book, movie or tv show, or for someone who enjoys cute romances with a bit more substance. 4/5.

    Like

  3. Abbey said:

    This is a great book to read while going through high school to me I can really relate to the charters and the book is really entertaining. As twin sisters they were extremely close but the grew closer without their mother their to support them, going to college was what Cath was excited for and sharing a room with her twin sister was her dream but then they are put in separate rooms which means that Cath has to look up from her Simon Snow fan fiction and create new friends. Wren (her twin sister) causes a lot of problems that Cath has to fix. To me this inspires me to be the best person i can be so I don’t have to rely on someone to look out for me. This book is well written so I rate it an 8/10!!

    Like

  4. Isabelle F said:

    I am reading this book right now and I love it so far I especially love how after every chapter there is a page about Simon and Baz that Cath writes on carry on. So far my favourite character is Levi he just seems so bubbly and excited when things aren’t even really exciting, and I live how Levi calls Cath Cather it just seems so funny and at first Cath was annoyed but she knew that he would never get it right so she just lets him call her Cather. I recommend this book for teenagers or older. I love this book and I haven’t even finished, Rainbow Rowell has done a fantastic job and I would love to pass on this book.

    Like

  5. For any girl going through high school, Fangirl is an extremely relatable book that really anyone could relate to. The main protagonist, Cath, is an internet sensation however no one knows her true identity as she is hidden behind her computer screen. Cath has a twin sister who she is incredibly attached to and is really her only link to the outside world. Growing up without a mother her twin and her have been very close up until college, where Cath begins to see her twin wants to grow. At college they decide not to share rooms which brings up challenges for Cath as her sense of comfort is gone as she deals with the troubles of the real world. This book is incredibly entertaining and well written, I would give it an 8/10!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

