The blog for books and movies

outsidersNo one ever said life was easy. But Ponyboy is pretty sure that he’s got things figured out. He knows that he can count on his brothers, Darry and Sodapop. And he knows that he can count on his friends, true friends who would do anything for him, like Johnny and Two-Bit. And when it comes to the Socsa, a vicious gang of rich kids who enjoy beating up on “greasers” like him and his friends he knows that he can count on them for trouble. But one night someone takes things too far, and Ponyboy’s world is turned upside down…

Booktopia

Comments on: "THE OUTSIDERS – S. E. HINTON" (1)

  1. I found this book so intriguing as it is set in the 1960’s. It is set in an era different to the one I live in, and people’s way of living then was so different. This book told from Ponyboy’s perspective, a 16 year old boy living in a town where people are divided by either being a soc- a socialite or a greaser- an outsider, Ponyboy is a greaser. This way of life is all Ponyboy knows as he has never been outside his home-town.

    I loved how this book uncovered many themes and explored both the greaser and soc perspectives on life and the hardships each face, although they are different. I had seen the film based on the book before but now that I have read the book, it doesn’t come quite as close. I found that the novel was so much more rich in detail and I was able to find out new aspects in the book that I didn’t in the film, so I recommend to read the book before watching the film.

    My favourite characters in the book would have to be Ponyboy and Sodapop. I love how Sodapop always has a good outlook on life even though he and his brothers live a hard life. And i love how Ponyboy is such a deep thinker and sees beyond what most others see.

    I recommend this book for any teenager and even though it is set in the 1960’s, I found I was able to relate the themes in the book. This is probably because it is written by a teenager too! I rate this book 8/10.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

