The blog for books and movies

Magic is dangerous–but love is more dangerous still.

When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London’s Downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Only the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, keep order amidst the chaos.

Kidnapped by the mysterious Dark Sisters, members of a secret organization called The Pandemonium Club, Tessa soon learns that she herself is a Downworlder with a rare ability: the power to transform, at will, into another person. What’s more, the Magister, the shadowy figure who runs the Club, will stop at nothing to claim Tessa’s power for his own.

Friendless and hunted, Tessa takes refuge with the Shadowhunters of the London Institute, who swear to find her brother if she will use her power to help them. She soon finds herself fascinated by–and torn between–two best friends: James, whose fragile beauty hides a deadly secret, and blue-eyed Will, whose caustic wit and volatile moods keep everyone in his life at arm’s length…everyone, that is, but Tessa. As their search draws them deep into the heart of an arcane plot that threatens to destroy the Shadowhunters, Tessa realizes that she may need to choose between saving her brother and helping her new friends save the world…and that love may be the most dangerous magic of all.

Amazon

addicted2reading

Comments on: "Clockwork angel – Cassandra Clare" (11)

  1. Alyssa said:

    I opened this book expecting a pretty similar series to The Mortal Instruments, but when I started reading I realised it was so much more different. The characters in this book seem so much more thought out, in that their story-lines are a complex. However, I did see a few similarities in storyline with the Mortal Instruments, which to be honest, had me a bit annoyed. That aside, I loved the introduction of a triangle of friendship (possibly love) that wasn’t based on jealousy, but a pure love for one another. This made the book bearable, as I absolutely despise love triangle stories like Twilight.
    I really enjoyed reading about the diversity of Jem’s and Will’s personalities. On one hand Jem is the sweet, musical prodigy and on the other, Will is mysterious and sarcastic.
    It was so intriguing to follow Tessa Gray’s pursuit to find out exactly who she was, and every twist in the story drew me into the story more. Her power of shape shifting is so cool! Although the way she learnt her power was horrible, The Dark Sisters, whom are demonic warlocks, treated her awfully, before telling her she would be married to “The Magister”.
    I could totally relate to her love of literature, as well as Will’s love of poems.
    As a Shadowhunter Chronicles fan, the best thing about this book was seeing characters that appear in The Mortal Instruments early lives, such as Magnus Bane (One of my favourite characters) and Camille Belcourt.

    I would rate this book an 8.5 out of 10, for its thrilling mystery and complex storyline.

    Like

  2. ‘The Infernal Devices’ trilogy, the first book being Clockwork Angel, is probably one of my favourite series of all time. I enjoyed the original series, ‘The Mortal Instruments’ quite a lot, but this trilogy was, in my opinion, so much better than the original! We are able to pretty much jump straight back into the world of the Shadowhunters, following our lead protagonist, Tessa, as she joins the London Institute and meets Will and Jem. I loved the dynamics between these characters throughout the series, and the romance that followed. Will was definitely my favourite character out of the books and remains one of my all time favourite characters. Cassandra Clare’s books are really easy to understand and are so addictive! I would recommend this book to fans of her other works, fans of urban fantasy and romance. 5/5.

    Like

  3. I loved this book I would definitely call it one of my favourite books ever. It was thrilling, exciting action filled, and not to mention romantic. It pushed me to the edge of my chair and sometimes I felt like screaming in annoyance and happiness. It didn’t bore me and I couldn’t stop and I wanted to read all of it in one read. I was hesitant to read the book at first because I had not read a book set in the 1800’s but in the end I was really happy I had picked it up and read it. I also loved how they mixed demons, werewolves, faeries, vampires, and angels into the story exactly like the Mortal Instruments (also one of my favourite series). I don’t have a favourite part because I loved all of it! when I think about the parts in the book I can’t pick out my favourite because they are all so GOOD! I loved all the dramatic parts in the book and also when Tessa was saved by Will and Jem. If I keep going on about my favourite part I will probably spoil all of the book in one review. My favourite character was definitely Tessa, she is so strong-willed and stubborn. Even though she was thrust into a situation she didn’t partially like she managed to soldier on and that is what I like about her. She always tried to handle her powers as best as she could, and always tried to protect those she loved with her heart. I can’t really relate to any characters as I am not as bad-ass as all of them, but I wish I was. I don’t have a least favourite part in the book and if I do say it I will most definitely spoil the book, but I hated Jessamine from the minute she was introduced. She wasn’t tough and was most of the time whiny and annoying, and always judged everyone, but on her part she really wasn’t meant to be a shadow hunter, she never had the values. Also I did not like the love triangle because I didn’t know which one of the boys Tessa liked better and that annoyed me very much. I would maybe change some of the deaths and some of the negativities that occurred in the book and also maybe the love triangle because i did not enjoy it. But other than that I found I enjoyed the events of the book very much. I would recommend this book to anyone that loves a bit of suspense, thriller, demons, angels and olden day shenanigans. I would also recommend it to anyone that loved the mortal instruments and is into fantasy, romance thriller, and also anyone that likes books set in the olden days.

    Like

  4. Abbey said:

    I absolutely love this book. mainly because of how Cassandra Clare describes the characters especially Will Herondale. this book is so action packed it is impossible not to fall in love with the storyline and characters. this story follows Tessa Gray a normal girl until she goes to visit her brother in england where she is kidnapped and tortured untill she unlocks a power she never knew she had. She is saved by a group of Shadowhunters ad then faces all the ups and downs of living in the institute and trying to find her brother.
    This is such a great story and is a necessity to read before The Mortal Instruments series as it makes it make more sense and clears up the story a lot. 9/10

    Like

  5. I loved reading this book it was my favourite out of the whole series. It was such an addictive book I couldn’t put it down till I’d finished reading it. I would recommend this book to anyone that loves adventure, mystery and fantasy. Tessa Gray is an ordinary girl, at least she thinks she is until she is kidnapped and forced to unlock a power she never knew she had. My favourite character in this book would have to be Sophie as she is strong and able to do anything she thinks she can. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone.

    Like

  6. Emily said:

    I absolutely loved the infernal devices series!!!!!! It is such an amazing read and I absolutely love Cassandra Clare and any book she writes!!!!!!!! This is such an addictive book that you will never be able to put down!!!!!! This book is a massive page turner that you will have to read it in one sitting!!!!!!! This book is full of action and drama!!!!! It is one of my all time favourite book series!!!!! I recommend this to anyone who loves action, romance and drama!!!! If you liked the mortal instruments series you definitely should read this series!!!!!! I give it a 10/10 GO READ IT!!!!!!!!

    Like

  7. A seriously addictive book! The moment I picked it up, I couldn’t stop reading it until the very last page. Wow, what a book!

    After reading the mortal instrument series, I was wondering how Cassandra Clare was going to pull it off, in an older time, and I was also wondering how shadow hunters had progressed over the centuries. This was done very well and I enjoyed the ‘shadow hunters in the past’ a lot.

    One of the things that really got to me though, was Tessa. No matter how much I tried, I just couldn’t like her! She was a little too whinny and rude for my taste, I’d prefer a stronger female character. Will was a little like Jace, except maybe even a little more sarcastic, though I still found myself liking him. Jem was almost certainly my favourite. He treats everyone with respect and was just generally likeable.I found the love triangle a little annoying, but that’s just my opinion. I had a few favourite lines, there was hilarious witty comments (Will… most of the time) and the ending was very satisfying. I had to go get the next one on my kindle almost right after I finished it! I recommend this book for any fans of the mortal instrument series and for anyone who likes fantasy. I rate this 8/10!

    Like

  8. Clockwork angel is a book by Cassandra Clare. The book is about a girl named Tessa, Tessa come on a boat over from New York to London to meet her brother after her Aunt dies. She is then taken and is forced to unlock a power she has never known and gets saved by people who she never knew could exist. This book is a gripping tale that has so much action and suspense and a bit of a love triangle. This book will have you hooked and l would give a 8.5/10 for this book.

    Like

  9. This book is incredible! Such a page turning read, has you hooked! It is so amazing and I love it so so much! My favourite character would be Tessa because she holds so much potential, charm and love! If I say any more, I will give the book away! Recommended to anyone who loves a book that you cant put down! 10/10

    Like

  10. Clockwork Angel is one of my favourite books of all time, and Cassandra Clare is one of the best authors. Cassandra captures the 1800’s perfectly, as if you were living there yourself. It is based on a girl named Tessa Gray, who possesses a rare ability that could get her into trouble. It is filled with action and suspense, plus romance. My favourite character would have to be Will. He does things in the book that infuriated me beyond repair, but in the end I always forgave him. Not many characters have that effect, but Will Herondale definitely has it. I would definitely recommend this book those who are over the age of 13.

    Like

  11. I recommend the book Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare.
    Clockwork Angel is the first book in the Infernal Devices series. This series is a prequel series to The Mortal Instruments. It is a wonderful complimentary novel – meaning that you can read it before reading the Mortal Instruments, or after and nothing will be spoiled either way. You will love the links between the two sets of novels, if you’ve read the others.
    Clockwork Angel is a steam-punk/history/fantasy novel, set in the 1800s, England. The novel follows the story of Tessa Gray as she discovers who and what she is, and explores the world of Shadowhunters (those who have read Cassandra Clare’s other novels will be familiar with these characters) and the Pandemonium Club.
    I really loved this book, as I am a huge fan of Cassandra Clare and I enjoyed the use of history and steam-punk, while developing hilarious characters.
    I couldn’t possibly pick just one favourite part of the book, especially without ruining the plot, but one stand out moment for me was Jem and Will discussing cannibal ducks.
    My favourite character would have to be Jem, although the main character Tessa is also perfectly lovable, as is her love of literature.
    This novel kept me on the edge of my seat, quite literally, the whole time I was reading it. I just could not put it down for more than the shortest amount of time. Definitely an adventure of epic proportions as it took me on a wild ride of plot twists and turns as well as thoroughly entertaining me with its ever-present use of humour.
    I highly recommend Clockwork Angel to Cassandra Clare fans, Holly Black fans, Hunger Games fans, and lovers of low/modern fantasy. It is probably best suited to those over the age of 14.
    Enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

