The blog for books and movies

sun_375wJude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

Good Reads

jandynelson.com

Comments on: "I’ll give you the sun – Jandy Nelson" (3)

  1. I’ll Give You The Sun would have to be one of the best books I’ve ever read. It’s a story of the relationship between Noah and Jude who are twins and are very close. They’ve always been best friends and have been able to share everything with each other. But tragedy manages to pull their strong bond apart and soon after they barely know each other. Jandy Nelson has written this radiant novel in a very cleaver way where you hear the story in the point of view of both Noah and Jude. You learn to love both characters throughout the novel and see their stories intertwine as they try to mend their broken relationship. My favourite character would have to be Noah as I found his process of thought to be quite relatable. I rate “I’ll Give You The Sun” a 9/10 as it can be quite sad at times however I struggled to put the book down. This novel surrounding themes of romance and family is a beautiful, easy read that I recommend to people of all ages, I hope you love it as much as I did.

    Like

  2. Okay. The book was perfection. Absolutely perfection. It was one of those books where when you finish it, you have to stare at the wall for half an hour, wanting to be right back in the book with those characters.

    The premise of this book was very unique, like having the two narrators come from two different times, one from when Noah is 13, then when Jude is 16. The twins are such intriguing characters, I was swept away at how realistic their emotions and thoughts were, they actually felt like real people to me. It was interesting to see their relationship develop throughout the course of the book, as well as watching them have romantic relationships with other amazing characters. I absolutely love Noah and Brian together (there was a lot of fangirling about this…)

    The prose was incredible. It was written almost like poetry, sometimes I had to go back over to re-read to try and look for different meanings, etc. I have so many favourite lines from it, and I’ve never read a teen fiction book with so much depth and insight into life. Both characters struggle with grief, insecurity, finding a first love, accepting the past and many other complex issues that a lot of teenagers can relate to.

    Throughout the book, I was never bored. There was always something interesting happening, and the plot was intricate and well thought out. I’d recommend this book for ages 14+ and I’d give it a fantastic 10/10!

    Like

  3. I would like to recommend three AMAZING books;
    1. I’ll give you the sun by Jandy Nelson
    2. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
    3. Theodore Boone by John Grisham

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

