The blog for books and movies

sknifeLost in a new world, Lyra finds Will – a boy on the run, a murderer – a worthy and welcome ally. For this is a world where soul-eating Specters stalk the streets and witches share the skies with troops of angels.
Each is searching – Lyra for the meaning of Dark Matter, Will for his missing father—but what they find instead is a deadly secret, a knife of untold power. And neither Lyra nor Will suspects how tightly their lives, their loves, their destinies are bound together . . . until they are split apart.

Good Reads

wikimedia

Comments on: "The subtle knife (His Dark Materials) – Philip Pullman" (1)

  1. This book is set immediately after Northern Lights, where Lyra runs into a boy named Will, who surprise, surprise becomes the next protagonist, and without spoiling too much of the first book, they are hurtled into an parallel universe, where they are forced to work together to achieve a somewhat similar goal. Before I say anything else, not only will this be a ‘freshly finished book rant’ but a ‘rage rant’.
    The first book was good. I liked it. It had a decent plot, developed characters and an amazing concept behind it. The second book? I only finished it because I am not one to quit reading something. This book felt as if Pullman was forced to write it with a gun put to his head. Dialogue; is unnatural and lacking. Descriptions; lengthy and unnecessary. Plot; lame and slow moving. Everything that I somewhat enjoyed in the first book was completely ripped to shreds.
    I can live with a lacking plot and lengthy descriptions, but I will not tolerate unnatural dialogue. Throughout the book it went a little like this.
    Character 1: “How are you? How was the weather in London? Did you buy any apples?”
    Character 2: “I am great. I looked to the sky at about 4:oo pm and I saw clouds, but it did not rain. I bought six big, round, red apples. How about you? How was the weather in New York? Did you buy any bananas?… ” ect.
    Now I can understand that this may have been a ‘replication’ of formal 19th century speak, but if anything made me frustrated and left me skimming over decent sections of speech – one character might speak uninterrupted for a good full two pages (sigh).
    Now without spoiling the ending I just want to say how disappointing and empty it was for the (minimal) development of characters and plot. I give this book 1/5, would not recommend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

