The blog for books and movies

It’s been so long since Auden slept at night. Ever since her parents’ divorce—or since the fighting started. Now she has the chance to spend a carefree summer with her dad and his new family in the charming beach town where they live.

A job in a clothes boutique introduces Auden to the world of girls: their talk, their friendship, their crushes. She missed out on all that, too busy being the perfect daughter to her demanding mother. Then she meets Eli, an intriguing loner and a fellow insomniac who becomes her guide to the nocturnal world of the town. Together they embark on parallel quests: for Auden, to experience the carefree teenage life she’s been denied; for Eli, to come to terms with the guilt he feels for the death of a friend.

Goodreads

bookablereads

Comments on: "Along for the ride – Sarah Dessen" (3)

  1. One of my all time favourite books. I actually cried because it was almost over. It is a really nice story about coming of age and finding the person beyond the facade. There are lots of very relatable aspects to this book and I really enjoy it every time I read it. Sarah Dessen has done a really great job and creating characters that people become attached to and writing a story that is a step away from the typical love story. Will reread forever. I would recommend to girls 14 to 17 and rate a 9/10

    Like

  2. I love Sarah Dessen’s books and always have been one of my favorite authors. So I picked up this book and decided to give it a try since everyone said its super good. To be honest, the whole thing was boring. It was dull and the characters need to be brought out more stronger. I didn’t even finish reading it, I only read three quarters because I convinced myself that something amazing is going to happen because of what everyone said. Instead I wasted my time and could of read something better. Maybe it’s because it wasn’t fitted to my style so if you are looking for a book with adventure then I don’t really recommend this book.. I rate this book a 4.5 out of 10. It was a drag, and it kept going on and on. This happened to be the only book I regret reading but to some people they loved it. So no hate LOL. ❤ Vi

    Like

  3. This book is one of my all time favourites…This book I find I will always need a box of tissues, but it always makes me smile whether it’s because of Auden’s lack of social knowledge or Auden’s clumsiness. This book is about a girl named Auden who is in the summer holidays before uni. She decides to spend her few weeks with her dad and step-mum Heidi and the new born Thisbe. Her dad she soon finds out, is selfish and doesn’t help Heidi with the baby. While Auden is staying with her dad, she meets a mysterious boy named Eli.
    An awesome read!!!! I recommend it to girls from the age of 12-14.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

