The blog for books and movies

From the moment Mary Poppins arrives at Number Seventeen Cherry-Tree Lane, everyday life at the Banks house is forever changed.

It all starts when Mary Poppins is blown by the east wind onto the doorstep of the Banks house. She becomes a most unusual nanny to Jane, Michael, and the twins. Who else but Mary Poppins can slide up banisters, pull an entire armchair out of an empty carpetbag, and make a dose of medicine taste like delicious lime-juice cordial? A day with Mary Poppins is a day of magic and make-believe come to life!

jimandellen.org

Comments on: "Mary Poppins – P.L. Travers" (6)

  1. The story of Mary Poppins is so creative and has a beautiful moral that goes with it. Mary, a magical nanny is sent to save the Banks family. At first Jane and Michael are cautious of her and what she will do, but soon they grow to love and adore her. Despite her stern and strict nature Mary is such a beautiful lady and puts the children before herself at all times. Mary certainly leaves a mark on the Banks family which they will remember forever. The children were so appreciative of her visit. I definitely recommend this childhood classic to all readers. Enjoy!

    Like

  2. This book is an amazing one.
    It has a great storyline and it is easy to follow. I love how there are lots of songs and dances involved in many scenes. This is now a musical which I am very excited to see.
    Once I started to read this, I couldn’t put the book down.
    This is not really a tense adventurous book, it is a very pleasant and musical book.
    The text is really easy to understand so I rate this 9/10.
    I recommend this to everyone who wants a good read!

    Like

  3. Tayla said:

    Mary Poppins I found was a great book. The stories it tells and the lessons you can learn from it are memorable. The character Mary Poppins is a magical nanny who definitely leaves a mark on the Banks family. Through all the fun, exciting and confusing adventures she takes Jane, Michael and the twins on makes them better people in the long run. I can understand why this book has been created into a movie and musical because it’s storyline is so original and intriguing. It’s a book that you pick up and simply can’t put down! I would recommend this book for children aged 10+ as the way it’s written could be a bit confusing for younger children. A great read! 9.5/10!

    Like

  4. Ingrid said:

    Mary Poppins is one of the best books I have ever read! It was such a laugh and full of childhood memories which I would relate to. My favourite character was Michael because he was so cheeky to Mary Poppins and so adorable! I love how he is so cheerful all the time and misbehaving but in the end he would always come around and do what Mary Poppins asked. My favourite part in the book was when Mary Poppins took them to see an old friend of hers and they all laughed so much that they floated up to the ceiling and couldn’t get back down so they all had tea up there. I loved how Mary Poppins, despite her stern appearance, did have a laugh with them and in the end she joined them. I’m so glad that I read this book after many years of procrastinating, because it brought me back to my childhood. I recommend this for people of all ages who have a sense of humour!

    Like

  5. This is a really good book for younger kids. I love all the adventure and all the stories and I just wanted to jump into the book with Jane and Michael and have amazing adventures with Mary Poppins. It is such a fun and exciting book I just couldn’t put it down!! I rate it 9/10!!

    Like

  6. Mary Poppins is such a great book for younger kids and i can still remember my mother reading it to me when i was 9. what an adventure i would love o jump into a picture and ride merry go round and eat toffee apples. i recommend this book to everyone and i rate it 10/10

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

