The blog for books and movies

519755021ad58London is poised on the brink of World War II. Timid, scrawny Willie Beech – the abused child of a single mother – is evacuated to the English countryside. At first, he is terrified of everything, of the country sounds and sights, even of Mr. Tom, the gruff, kindly old man who has taken him in. But gradually Willie forgets the hate and despair of his past. He learns to love a world he never knew existed, a world of friendship and affection in which harsh words and daily beatings have no place. Then a telegram comes. Willie must return to his mother in London. When weeks pass by with no word from Willie, Mr. Tom sets out for London to look for the young boy he has come to love as a son.

Comments on: "Goodnight Mister Tom – Michelle Magorian" (12)

  1. Goodnight Mister Tom is an emotional novel about a young boy who has lost one of the most important things in this world, family. It is not intill he gets this back that Tom is truly happy, although in a twist of events, he realises that it is not our blood that binds us together, it is our kindness and love that does. This novel is a heart wrenching and touching story of love and kindness, and the importance of having people who mean a lot to us.

    Like

  2. Eleanor said:

    Goodnight Mr Tom is a great read it’s about a young boy called Willy who lived in London but was sent to the country side because of WW2 he goes to a man in a small village called Tom and his sheep dog Tom and his wife her expecting a child but in birth the mother and son died ever since that day Tom hasn’t had much experience with children but that all has to change when Willy comes. At first Tom isn’t to happy with Willy being there but over time they have a very strong bond and throughout the story you will feel what a great message it gives.

    I would recommend this book to ages around 12-16 and give it a 10/10 (:

    Like

  3. Lucy c said:

    Goodnight mister Tom issn amazing and brilliant piece of writing that is about a little boy called Willy who moves to the country side because there is a war on in England where he lives. When he gets there he finds himself scheduled to stay with an old man called mister Tom. Willy and mister tom grow very fond of each other and also share lots in common.
    I thought this was an amazing book and i would rate it ten out of ten. I think that this book has
    some violence in it and that only people twelve and over should read it.

    Like

  4. Monique said:

    I thought this book was very good! Its a very well written story and it proves difficult to put down. It is a very sad story but at times it also makes you smile and laugh. William is a very cute character and i love how mr tom is stern with him but you can tell deep down he really cares about him. Although this book is fiction you do learn quite a bit about the war as well! I really enjoyed reading this book and i would certainly recommend it to anyone! I would rate this book a 9/10!

    Like

  5. Mikali said:

    Yes I loved this book, I found it was impossible to put down and that it was very cute. I love the part where Mr Tom buys the paint for William because I feel like Mr Tom is finally opening up and has found how to love again. My favourite character was Will because he was so innocent and cute, and I just felt so sorry for him. I couldn’t relate to Will by personal experience but I felt as if I was right there with him along the journey and as if I could relate to how he was feeling at times. My hated the torture parts of the book, it was horrible for poor Will and was hard to read. If I could change something in the book would be the hard times Mr Tom and Will faced but I suppose those arduous times are what made the book. I would recommend this book but it is a bit of a sad book that not everyone would like.

    Like

  6. Eibhlis said:

    I read this book last year in grade 6. I thought it was a brilliant book. I got it from one of those book catalogues from school because my dad said that i should expand my reading genres rather then chick lits. I must admit that I wasn’t very keen at first but when I started to read it my opinion immediately changed. From the very start it was so intriguing. This book is about a little boy called Willie from London who is sent away out into the country side during world war 2. He is sent to an old man house. his name is Mr Tom. I won’t say anymore because i don’t want to give anything away to any future readers of the book. I thought this book was funny at times, sad and some things left me gobsmacked. My favourite part throughout the whole book on which I found so entertaining is the relationship between Mr Tom and little Willie. This book also is great because it teaches you about the war and what it was really like for children from the youngest age of 3. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who needs a change in what they like to read. This book sure opened me up to many different books that I never knew I would enjoy.

    Like

  7. I read this book when I was in Grade Five. I found myself laughing and crying and almost throwing the book back in my book-bag at each torture that was laid upon poor little Willie. But I loved it all the same. 🙂

    Like

  8. i remember reading this book a few years ago it was really good i enjoyed it id rate it seven out of ten. This book is about a young boy called will/willie who is taken in by Mr tom after Willie is evacuated from London during the Air Raid. Mr tom is shocked when he finds out that will is covered in bruises. This book is pretty sad in some parts, i wont say what happened but you will find out if you read this well written book. I hope you enjoy this book just as much as i did 🙂

    Like

  9. Goodnight mister tom
    Goodnight mister tom is an emotional tale about a little boy called willy and his newly found guardian, mister tom. I love this book because it consists all the elements of a good book. Its quite a thick read, and if you read for an hour a day it will take you about 1-1 and a half! I rate this 5 stars!

    Like

  10. Good night mister tom was a beautifully written tale about a little boy with a tainted past. When William turned up on Mister toms door step during the war, Tom didn’t know what to say. Out of the goodness of his heart, he took the pale, boney, shaken child into his home. Will was so poorly looked after he’d never learned to read or write and wet the bed most nights. You could see almost every bone poking through his pasty white skin and dark circles hung under his eyes. But when William and Mister Tom spend more and more time together, they become the best of friends. But when the War takes it’s toll on ones Will grows to love, and things seem to be going not so well for him and Tom, will they give up? This is a story of love and hope, and overall extreme examples of friendship throughout all ages.

    Like

  11. Goodnight Mister Tom is an emotional novel that brought me to tears. I really loved this book and how it explained all the terrors and unfairness brought upon William. The book was amazing and so easy to get into. From all the Challenges faced upon Tom and Will , they still seem to stay hopeful. Its a great book that reminds you to never give up you faith , even when things seem hopeless.

    Like

  12. I would like to recommend ‘Goodnight Mister Tom’.

    I really enjoyed this book because it gives me the courage to stand up for what I believe in.
    I really like the Character Mister Tom, this is because of his heart. He makes me believe that even if someone doesn’t like you it gives you no reason to give up and not care.

    I recommend this book to people around the ages of 12-14 and I would rate it 9/10!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

