The blog for books and movies

1372155After what happened to her face, Marina stopped talking. Completely. Even the people at the hospital couldn’t help her find her voice again. In an almost hopeless, last-ditch effort, Marina is shuffled to a boarding school–where she’s required to keep a journal. Ugh! Slowly, though, the secrets begin to pour from her spirit onto the paper. The more shape she can give to the nightmare, the more she is released from it. This is one of the most intelligent, realistic novels about post-traumatic stress ever written for young people. Marina’s transformation will inspire any teen who has ever struggled to find his or her voice.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Comments on: "So much to tell you – John Marsden" (20)

  1. I really enjoyed this book. It is about a girl, Marina and basically her life at a boarding school, it is all written in diary form. She was in an accident in which acid was thrown at her face, causing her to become emotionally damaged in which she doesn’t speak at all. I recommend this book to people in high school as it is based at that time period.

    Like

  2. I really like this book because it was a quick read and it was written is such a way that it was really easy to follow and understand. I liked how it was set up as a diary with all the entries. It makes you want to just keep on reading so that you can find out what happened to her, which you had to put some pieces together yourself. It is truly an emotional novel. Because of what Marina has experienced she feels she cannot open up or talk to anyone. She is at a boarding school and the novel goes through and takes you through the events that have lead up to her not talking. I would give this book a 7 out of 10

    Like

  3. Felicity said:

    So Much to tell you was a fantastic book. When I found out it was a true story I was really shocked. It is an amazing book and it makes you want too keep reading how they didn’t tell you what happened to her until the end of the book. Because It was written in the eyes of a young person you can really understand, the story. I felt so sorry for the girl when everyone made rude comments and stuff and when she was sad. But throughout the book I got really annoyed how it didn’t really explain things and you really had to concentrate to figure out what was happening/what had happened so I would not reccomend this book to people who are a bit slow or are not good at reading between the lines because they would not enjoy it. Other than that it was good.

    Like

  4. I loved this book. after reading it I love all of Morris Gleitsman’s books, he is now my favourite author. This book is a very emotional book. It made me feel as if I was the main character and that I felt alone, useless and depressed. It was a really sad read but one to remember. Before I started this book, I wasn’t really sure it was my type of read, but I was suprised to find that it sure was. i think anyone would like this book as long as they keep reading and don’t rush this book. My favourite part in this book is the last page-the last sentence even. this is because the whole story changes and it is so uplifting to finally read that she is talking, although it is rather annoying how the book ends and really leaves you hanging. After reading this book, i really wanted the author to create a 2nd one to continue the story. But then I realised that that is the real beauty of the story I would read this book again any day and I think if I read it again I would take in much more than the first time. I rate this book 9/10

    Like

  5. I read this book quite a while ago and I enjoyed it quite a lot. Marina feels as though she can’t talk or open up to anyone because of her ordeal. She is given a diary in English by her teacher and is told to write to it every night. She loves writing to her diary expressing all her feelings and opening up to the diary about everything and anything. I really enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone looking for a good read that isn’t hard to understand.
    I liked the ending!!

    Like

  6. I thought this book was really good! Its about a girl in yr.9 and her mum sends her to boarding school because she has chosen not to talk. I felt so sorry for her with the burnt face from the acid accident. The dad sounds like a total pyscho but the mum seems just as bad. I really enjoyed the end because she is happy again and finds her dad. I recommend this book to anyone who likes mystery!!

    Like

  7. i have read so much to tell you twice.i liked it both times. this book it a little different to some of the books i have read but it is still good. this book isn’t very long so it is a good quick read if anyone is looking for something like that.

    this book is about a teenage girl named marina who feel’s that she cannot open up to anyone because of something that has happened to her. so she doesn’t talk. she has just started at a boarding school and the english teacher gives out a diary and tell’s the class to write in it every night. marina loves her diary, she feels like it is a place that she can really open up to, whilst other girls don’t take it as seriously. i really like this book, and i think the ending is great. this is a must read, i highly recommend it.:)

    Like

  8. Recently I read a book called “So much to tell you” by John Marsden. It was the second time I had read it and I’m glad I decided to reread it. I recomend you read this twice too, because each time I saw it in a different light and understood different things. The book is about a girl who has recently started at a boarding school. That sounds unremarkable enough, but as the book unfolds I began to realise just what experiences this girl had had that made her so different. John Marsden uses a “show don’t tell” technique, and it’s an incredible moment when you discover what actually happened to her that made her refuse to talk, ever. With a father in prison and a mother who can’t stand her presence, the main character understandably has a hard time making friends with the girls in her dormitory, but gradually she begins to open up and trust them. This gives her the strength to face the demons of her past.
    This is a short book, but very powerful and touching. Although her muteness can be frustrating at times, I think it gives a good insight into what might go on in the minds of those people who rarely speak, and those people who have traumatic experiences in their past. this is one of my favourite books and I strongly recomend you read this.

    Like

  9. didn’t like it at all!!!!!! go get a job!!!!!:P

    Like

  10. it was hardcore
    because the whole class did it together

    Like

  11. So much to tell you was a good play!
    I really liked your story! It was fun reading it with my class…..:)xxx

    Like

  12. I think this play was great. Mainly because my whole class got involved and made it seem more real. It was great

    Like

  13. So Much To Tell You! Well I have a lot to tell you about So Much To Tell You.
    The book is based on a true story. So when my class did the play version of the book. The whole time we were readingg the book I could Believe that this has really happened.
    The Book is about a 15 year old girl called Marina. She hasn’t talk for 8 mounths after what has happen to her face. In engilsh there teacher gives each girl a dairy and Marina loves to write in her dairy. She wasn’t going to write in the book at first. But I think once Marina started to write it was like her way to talk. Everyone in her dorm gets really annoyed at Marina escapisy Sophie. Marina really just wants to find her dad. Because she has so much to tell you.

    Like

  14. i like so much to tell you because it s a play and in plays it makes it more interesting when the whole class reads it.

    Like

  15. i think you should consider reading so much to tell you because it makes you want tot read on. when you get to the end you feel like there should be another story

    Like

  16. ‘So much to tell you’ is fantastic it is intresting and has lots of different storys in the one story

    Like

  17. i love this book so much to tell you!!!!! we have just finnished reading it in school it is a fantastic play:) this plasy is about a yr. 9 girl who accadently got acid all over he face now she doesnt ever talk not even the doctors could get a word out of her!!! she was uot into a booarding school with a lot more girls they all think she is weird because she doesnt talk;( read this bbook you will love it!!!! thankyou ps. if you dont read it youll regret it!!!!! i promise

    Like

  18. I just read this book, and have recently also read the play in class. I is about a girl who lives in a boarding school and her Dad is in prision. Acid has burnt her face and she is afraid to speak up and talk about it. She has never talked since she has lived at the boarding school. Over the break a girl in her dorm (Sophie) was at the now and so was Marina (the girl). Sophie soon realises and is really mean to Marina. Marina writes in her Journal a lot because that s her way of speaking. in the end she runs away to see her dad in prision and ends up talking.

    Like

  19. Following the diary of a young girl, living in a boarding school, we immediately find that she is different. Known as the ‘mute girl’ we find that she has shy, and isolated from everyone else. Though she does not talk, she listens carefully to all those around her, and we find that she knows everyone very well.
    Very intriguing this book keeps you wondering about the girl and her dad, and the reason for her muteness, and facial scarring. This book is a great read, and good for those who like short stories.

    Like

  20. I really love the book “So much to tell you,” by John Marsden. It is only 100 pages long, so quite a short red. It is also very old, as I think it was written in the 80’s. My mum found it at a second-hand book store for one dollar.
    Despite the shortness of the book, it is very interesting. The story is about a girl living at a boarding school. It is her diary. She doesn’t talk because she’s so shy. She slowly reveals the events in her past that caused her muteness.
    A wonderful read. At some points a was even crying.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

