The blog for books and movies

Like many of his mates from the bush, Frank Ballantyne is keen to join the grand adventure and do his bit. Specially as a chest full of medals might impress the currently unimpressed parents of his childhood sweetheart. So Frank ups his age and volunteers with his horse Daisy … and his dad.

In the deserts of Egypt and Palestine he experiences all the adventure he ever wanted, and a few things he wasn’t expecting. Heartbreak, love and the chance to make the most important choice of his life.

Penguin

Comments on: "Loyal creatures – Morris Gleitzman" (3)

  1. I recommend the book Loyal Creatures by Morris Gleitzman. It is a moving story about an unbreakable bond between a horse and a boy. This book is such a great book and i just couldn’t put the it down. I loved this book and couldn’t stop crying at the end. I suggested this book to all my friends and they all read it and loved it too. I recommend this book to readers who love war books, sad books or books about horses. I bought this book because i have read lots of Morris Gleitzman stories and thoroughly enjoyed those too. He is an awesome Author and this book is one of my personal favourites. He wrote books like:Boy overboard, Girl Underground, Once, Then, After, Two Weeks With the Queen and many more. Loyal Creatures is a real tear jerker and i believe it has such an amazing story line. I cant resist to rate this book with a high mark because i absolutely loved it even though its not extremely long it is such an incredible book. I would give it a 9/10!

    Like

  2. Devon W said:

    LOYAL CREATURES by MORRIS GLEITZMAN.
    I recommend this book to people who enjoy a war themed story.The main characters will capture every piece of your heart the deeper you get into this book. Daisy [the MAIN horse] is the most loyal and BEAUTIFUL horse that a man/woman could EVER come across in a book or in real life. The book is beautifully described so YOU can imagine how they moved and talked EVERYTHING they do. It feels like your a ghost following the characters across their journey. Frank [Daisy’s owner] is the most trustworthy and hardworking human being that could ever live. Watch out for VERY,VERY sad moments towards the end so have some tissues with you 🙂 I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars ! The books story tells you that you have the power to save and create beautiful and maybe a few horrible things but if you fight for what you love it might just work. This book recognises not just the lives of hardworking woman and men but horses who do INCREDIBLE things no human could ever do at war so well. Hope you read this moving book. Thank you!

    Like

  3. I have just read Loyal Creatures by Morris Gleitzman. I found it very emotional and personal. This book is incredible and moving and I love how it recognises not only the men and women that went to war but the horses as well. I would probably recommend this book to Year 5,6 or 7 because it can be quite realistic at times. I almost cried at the end. This book is based on the horses who went to war and that they did not want to go but they are so loyal and trustworthy they kept pushing on. It really gives you an image in your head and makes you think about what the soldiers and their horses were going through. The characters in this book make you laugh, smile and cry. I was really upset when I finished it because it was SOO GOOD! I hope you consider this book. I rate this book 9 out of 10. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

