The blog for books and movies

Written in taut, poetic language, The longest memory is set on a Virginian plantation in the 19th century, and tells the tragic story of a rebellious, fiercely intelligent young slave who breaks all the rules: in learning to read and write, in falling in love with a white girl, the daughter of his owner, and, finally, in trying to escape and join her in the free North. For his attempt to flee, he is whipped to death in front of his family, and this brutal event is the pivot around which the story evolves.

Google Books

Good Reads

Comments on: "The longest memory – Fred D’Aguiar" (2)

  1. I read this book for literature and I found it really interesting. The story takes place on a Virginian plantation, in the period before the American Civil War. This book is unique in the way that it is told through multiple perspectives, each chapter is told through a different voice. It begins in first person, with Whitechapel, the oldest and most respected slave on the plantation, recounting the sorrows of his life. This is a short novel but intelligibly written. I found this book quite heavy in the themes discussed and it’s quite a deep and emotional read. Even though I had to read this book for literature I really enjoyed reading it. I rate it 8/10!

    Like

  2. I recommend the book, The Longest Memory is about a young black slave, who lives on a Plantation farm working for the white man. Chapel who is the slave goes through adversities and you follow his story of his short time alive. I liked the book, however I wouldn’t say it’s my favourite book ever. It is quite an easy book to read however the chapters are a bit jumbled up. My favourite part of the book was the love between Chapel and a female character. However my least favourite character would have to be Sanders Snr. because his morals are absolutely horrendous especially the things he does to innocent slaves. If I could I would change the chapter order in this book because it is a bit hard to understand but after a while you do understand exactly what goes where. I rate this book a 7/10 and would recommend it to people who have strong opinions and enjoy a book with little pages.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

