The blog for books and movies

Micah is a liar. That’s the one thing she won’t lie about. Over the years, she’s duped her classmates, her teachers, and even her parents. But when her boyfriend Zach dies under brutal circumstances, Micah sets out to tell the truth. At first the truth comes easily-because it is a lie. Other truths are so unbelievable, so outside the realm of normal, they must be a lie. And the honest truth is buried so deep in Micah’s mind even she doesn’t know if it’s real.

Amazon

justinelarbalestier

Comments on: "Liar – Justine Larbalestier" (2)

  1. Isabelle said:

    Liar is one of the most unanticipated, addictive, wonderful books I have ever encountered in my entire life! So many questions! So many lies! Who can i trust? Did that even happen? This book messed with my mind in so many twisted yet wonderful ways! The way that the shocks change your whole perception of the book, what it means, who the characters are, is like nothing i have ever read before! I love the way the book is divided into 3 parts. The sequence, storyline, language and concepts of the book is truly terrific. I highly recommend this book a million times over! I can promise that you will laugh, cringe and gasp at it’s many unprecedented events.

    Like

  2. When I began reading this book I was already searching for answers. Although I found the story line to be quite strange at times, I did enjoy the book because it was really mysterious and you never knew when the narrator was telling the truth or not. The narrator of this story is Micah Wilkins, who is a compulsive liar and no matter how many times she swears she is telling the truth, you can never be too sure. She is 17 years old living in New York with her parents and the beginning of the novel explains that her boyfriend Zachary has been found dead, after being missing for a long period of time. She promises to tell the whole truth at the beginning of the story, but as the story unfolds we find out all the things she has been lying about, and what parts are true. My least favourite part of the book is something I can’t say without giving the story away, but I do recommend it to somebody who loves a mystery. You’ll be seeking answers the whole time you are reading it, and it was really difficult to put it down. I recommend it to ages 14+. I really enjoyed this book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

