The blog for books and movies

When a mysterious young woman named Katie appears in the small North Carolina town of Southport, her sudden arrival raises questions about her past. Beautiful yet self-effacing, Katie seems determined to avoid forming personal ties until a series of events draws her into two reluctant relationships: one with Alex, a widowed store owner with a kind heart and two young children; and another with her plainspoken single neighbor, Jo. Despite her reservations, Katie slowly begins to let down her guard, putting down roots in the close-knit community and becoming increasingly attached to Alex and his family.

But even as Katie begins to fall in love, she struggles with the dark secret that still haunts and terrifies her . . . a past that set her on a fearful, shattering journey across the country, to the sheltered oasis of Southport. With Jo’s empathic and stubborn support, Katie eventually realizes that she must choose between a life of transient safety and one of riskier rewards . . . and that in the darkest hour, love is the only true safe haven.

Google Books

Nicholas Sparks

Comments on: "Safe haven – Nicholas Sparks" (4)

  1. Safe Haven is an incredibly touching story which is both a novel and film. After Katie leaves her abusing husband and heads to an unknown town she is inspired and we see her fall in love again. She is at first reluctant to engage with others in the town because of her troubled past. She then meets Alex and instantly has a connection, however some troubles from her past come and find her. This is an suspenseful story with twists and twins at every corner. I would give this novel/film an 8/10 and would recommend it for those 13+

    Like

  2. I would like to recommend the book “Safe Haven.” I think that this book is one of the best books that I have read in my entire life. It is just such a thrilling book, and it keeps you hooked until the very last page. The main characters are Katie (Erin), Alex, Kevin and Alex’s two children Josh and Kristien. The story line is based on Erin who is married to an abusive husband Kevin who one minute loves her and the next minute causes her serious pain by kicking and punching her. Erin is not allowed outside of the house and Kevin comes home and checks on her randomly at least once an hour. This is the story of Erin’s escape to the small town of Southport and experience of falling in love with the man of her dreams, Alex. However Kevin is a detective and she knows that he will find her, it is only a matter of time until they meet up. This is a great story line and just keeps you entertained with just so many emotions that flow through the various sections of the book. I would encourage people above 12+ to read this book, because it discusses very mature topics and themes. I would give this book a 10/10!

    Like

  3. I really enjoyed this book. It was probably one of the best that I have read in a long time. I liked it because it had a mixture of romance and mystery at the same time. My favourite character was Alex because he was so calm and I feel sorry for him for losing his wife. My least favourite character was Kevin (Katie’s husband). I dreaded reading parts in his point of view. My favourite part of the book was when Katie ran away from her husband because he deserved it. She was very smart in the way that the event. I hated the ending though. It seemed that Nicholas Sparks just couldn’t figure out how to piece it together. Although the only part of the ending I liked was the letter. If I could change anything it would be the conclusion. I would recommend this for preferably girls over the age of 12 because it can be a bit scary at times and I would rate it a 9½ / 10!

    Like

  4. Sarah said:

    I really enjoyed safe haven, the story line was really good. I liked how it was written in 3rd person so you could understand what all the characters were feeling. But what i didn’t like was how sometimes it was a bit over descriptive, at first it was really annoying but then i just stated to skim and block out all of the describing words. I absolutely loved the plot twist, i would never of seen it coming if one of my friends who’d seen the movie told me to watch out for Jo. ( I seriously hate when people do that). I really felt sorry for Kevin but he was a monster, it was interesting to see it through his eyes. But it was ridiculous how much Kevin drank the night everything happened, in real life he would’ve died or passed out at least. The book it’s self was rather nerve racking and gets your heart beating at the end, but it’s a great romance book that I would recommend for an older audience because the characters have already been married and older characters can be boring for some, but I liked it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

