The blog for books and movies

“My name is India Opal Buloni, and last summer my daddy, the preacher, sent me to the store for a box of macaroni-and-cheese, some white rice, and two tomatoes and I came back with a dog.” With these words, ten-year-old Opal Buloni begins her account of the summer her life changed because of Winn-Dixie, a goofy stray dog she adopted. Opal and her father, whom she usually refers to as “the preacher,” have just moved to Naomi, Florida.
Her mother abandoned the family when Opal was three. Opal’s father is the preacher at the Open Arms Baptist Church of Naomi. Although they are living at the Friendly Corners Trailer Park, Opal does not have any friends yet. The move and her loneliness make Opal miss her fun loving mother more than ever. She wants to know more about her mother, but the preacher, who misses his wife very much, won’t answer her questions.
With the help of Winn-Dixie, Opal begins to meet a number of people in her community, some quite eccentric. As the summer progresses, Opal builds a number of friendships with people of all ages and types. She also convinces her father to tell her ten things about her mother, one for every year of Opal’s life. Opal’s story is both humorous and poignant as she learns about friendships, families, and moving on.

Children’s books
Fantastic Fiction

Comments on: "Because of Winn-Dixie – Kate Di Camillo" (8)

  1. sophie said:

    I love the book because of Winn-dixie because it is a very interesting and I could really paint a picture in my mind about the words I read. the book is about a girl named opal and her very cheeky dog named Winn-dixie they share so many thrilling adventures they are some what weird in there town but opal had a few friends here and there. I absolutely loved reading because of Winn-dixie because is showed me situations I’d never been in.

    9 – 10 and for all ages 11 and above

    Like

  2. It is a very cute book and feel good book as well it makes you know that if it seems everything is lost there is always someone by your side to help you be guided back on path I rate this book an 8/10 and recommend it anyone up for a warm and fuzzy read

    Like

  3. Charlotte said:

    This book “Because of Winn-Dixie” was a really intriguing and as soon as started to read it I couldn’t put the book down. I really like how the author describes the feelings of the characters and although I couldn’t relate to any of the characters I could understand how they were feeling. My favourite character was Winn-Dixie because she was awesome and a very loveable character and also very loyal to Opal. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is looking for a very good but also sad read! 10/10

    Like

  4. Francesca De Angelis said:

    The book, Because of Winn-Dixie is such a good book. I have wanted to read it for a while now and once I got the book I could not stop reading it. I love the story line and the characters in the book. My favorite part is the start when India is sent to go to a store for a box of macaroni-and-cheese, some white rice, and two tomatoes and she came back with a dog. My favorite character is India Opalis because of her personality. This book is a great book to read, I loved every single page of this story!

    Like

  5. I recently read this very touching book about a girl and the relationship she can have with an animal and in this case a dog named winn-dixie has this kind of relationship with his new found owner opal. I loved this book because even though opla has had her fair share of moves she still manages to make friends even though they seem to be the strangest kind of people, including “the witch” gloria dump, the librarian, and the dude in the pet shop whose name i think was otis. Each of the characters has their own very unique personality even the dog winn dixie.

    7.5 out of 10 and for ages 11 and up.

    Like

  6. This was the first book my literature circle i had read, so it is remembered that way, but also, because reading this book I could feel the emotion so well. It was pretty amazing how much I could relate to this character. She is so laid back, thankful and very considerate. She gave Winn-Dixie a home and made him feel good, no matter how dirty or naughty he looked at the time. The preacher was obviously upset at the time Winn-Dixie was brought home, but saw Opal fall in love with this pet, because it was the first time he had seen Opal love something so much (other than himself) after her mother left. It would’ve been hard not knowing anything about your mother, the person who gave birth to you. You’d feel like there are a million unanswered questions. My favourite part of Winn-Dixie is at the end, when she has the tea party. She invites everyone and they all get along. But then Winn-Dixie goes missing. I can totally relate to her emotions, because when she went looking Stevie and Dunlap came over, she just shoved them aside even though they wanted to help. It must have been hard to say it, but i would’ve said the same thing. I would’ve told them i am looking for my favourite pet in the whole world and he needs to be found. I would be not as calm as Opal though! I don’t like the part of the book when they are at the library and the librarian talks about the bear and gets scared when it’s only Winn-Dixie. It just seems so…weird! My favourite character is ‘the witch’ or Gloria Dump. She is a blind woman who has a big heart. She is all for putting people before herself. She doesn’t care what people think of her, and her tree full of mistakes doesn’t take away how i look at her character. I liked the book thoroughly, although I thought maybe a couple of things could’ve been changed to make the movie more eventful. Like when Opal was washing Winn-Dixie, there could’ve been more enthusiasm from her, because she’s got this new dog and she should be excited that he’s getting all clean, but there was no emotion in that part of the book. My least favourite characters are the Dewberry boys because they seem to be very rude and misleading. They judge straight away, when they shouldn’t. I can relate to Opal in many incidents. I just got a new dog today actually, and it was so exciting. She is so little and she just makes you want to smile. If I could change anything to Winn-Dixie, I’m not 100% percent sure what it would be, because it’s great and even with the boring bits, it is still very good, because everything had it’s reasons. I think there is a couple of morals to this story; 1. That you don’t have to have friends your age. They can be 50 years older if they wanted to be, if you are happy around them, they are valuable enough to call a friend.
    2. Don’t sit around waiting for people to bring happiness to you. You have to go and find it yourself, even if sometimes it’s easier said than done.
    3. The third moral is probably, that there are ways to get over tragedies, but then there are ways to celebrate them. Opal’s mother left her, when she was very young, and Opal started to dwell on questions she knew no one could answer except her mum, so instead Opal looked at the bright side and told herself to stop being such a wimp. She planted a wait-and-see tree and this was a good start to her new life she had already started.
    If I could ask the author one question, it would be ‘Why does Opal call her dad ‘the preacher’? My reason for asking this question would be because it makes Opal sound very formal, but by the looks of things, they weren’t. It also sounds like Opal doesn’t love her father heaps and heaps, and she looks at him in a different point of view than a daughter. I like this book a lot. I recommend it to anyone who has pets, or likes a very short novel to read over a couple of days. I rate it a 7/10. Olivia

    Like

  7. When I first read this book a few years ago I remember wanting to be just like Opal & having a beautiful dog that brought everyone together. I told all my friends to go read it even my Mum. I reread this book recently and discovered how much more I could understand of this book and how much that it was not written for young children. My favourite part of the book was the party when winn-dixie runs away. I have so many parts that I loved but I don’t want to ruin the story for anybody.

    Like

  8. i love winn-dixie the book because its a very friendly book to read i love the entertainment in it. i just cant put the book down i have to read at least the next chapter. i love the little girl in it because she has a great expression. when you read it it feels like it comes to life and you feel like you are in the book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

